We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We will stay somewhere else next time”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Artemide

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Artemide
Ranked #8 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“We will stay somewhere else next time”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

With all due respect to other reviewers, our stay at Hotel Artemide was honestly disappointing. Our room smelled like strong cheap cologne and we asked to be moved but the hotel was full. In addition, we did not experience the warm hospitality mentioned in previous reviews. With the exception of our room attendant, the staff could have been much friendlier. We had to greet the front desk to actually be greeted in return. In addition, there is almost always someone standing right outside the hotel door trying to sell you something. We couldn't leave or enter the hotel without being asked to buy a cheaply made umbrella or scarf. I'm sure the hotel can't do anything about that, but it will most likely be part of your experience if you stay here. Sadly, this was far from an oasis for us. We wanted to like it but, for the previous reasons, we couldn't wait to leave.

As a side note, I have noticed that the hotel manager writes lengthy replies to any critical reviews and actually argues why the reviewer is at fault for their bad stay. I am sure the manager will write a reply explaining why my bad stay was somehow my fault. It's great to see a hotel staff reply, but rather than debate the customer online, it would be much more effective to see the manager apologize, explain how they are saddened by a customer's disappointment and offer their sincerest effort to make it up to the disappointed customer on their next visit.

For potential customers, if you stay here, I hope it turns out differently for you. We will definitely be staying somewhere else next time. Best of luck!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank CFA2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomeGR, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Artemide, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear Guest,

We hope that you are enjoying your holiday season! It was a great disappointment to read your review and see such a low rating for your experience with us.

We remember the episode well as it is very rare that one hears complains about the room stinking of perfume. As you had arrived late that evening, we were unfortunately unable to do anything about changing your room right there and then. However, you had discussed the problem with the Receptionist on staff and she had said she would see what they could do that evening and to then stop by at breakfast time the next morning to see if a solution had been found. In the meantime, we sent one of our maintenance team upstairs to see if we could alleviate the perfume, and he sprayed a neutralizer.

Then the next morning, we had found an alternative room for you, also an upgrade. However, that morning we did not have you stop by the desk, and as the room was full yet again, we had to reason that the room no longer smelled of cheap perfume and you had decided not to change after all. Now, thanks to this review we know that this was not the case, however as we did not hear anything else from you, we thought the matter was closed. We are sorry that your room continued to disturb you with this cologne.

As we do not spray the rooms with fragrances, we are rather confused what it could be. The only thing that comes to mind is that the previous guest had a certain perfume that he applied too profusely and it somehow clung to the room. We are sorry that our neutralizer did not work to effect.

As in nearly every single review our staff has been praised as being super attentive and friendly, we are sorry that you did not experience this. When other guests are interacting with the front desk, they oftentimes do not take a time out to greet all guests going in and out of the hotel. We are sorry that even the breakfast, restaurant or other staff lived up to your expectations.

As for the street vendors, we have had continued discussions with them to sell their wares elsewhere. However irritating this may be, unfortunately the hotel does not own the sidewalk. When they are at our front entrance, we can ask them to move on. But if they are outside and try to sell to people they see walking along the sidewalk, we cannot lawfully tell them to move up a block. Or rather we could, but they are not forced to carry out our suggestions by any means. We are sorry that this external aspect effected how you think of our hotel as a whole.

We understand your criticism of our responses. We are sorry if sometimes we come across as too defensive. However, the staff in charge of responses just tries to succinctly explain misunderstandings about the hotel. We do not deny anyone’s experiences, but we do try to explain perhaps how things went, as often with reviews one only sees one side of the questions, but by seeing both accounts, one can get an idea of the entire picture. We do not have one staff member dedicated entirely to responding to Trip Advisor, otherwise we would happily respond to all the many excellent reviews we have received personally. As it is, we must just reply to the negative comments that we receive, though only after thoroughly investigating what had happened.

We are sure that guests will read your review and see what input you had about your stay with us. Though they should also not ignore the many thousands of positive reviews we also have on our Trip Advisor page. It also depends what kind of experience you really wish to have during your time in Rome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,459 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,211
    1,069
    139
    23
    17
See reviews for
1,518
3,711
137
200
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,016)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
new rochelle
Level Contributor
399 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

Perfect in every way. The staff is wonderful and attentive. The hotel is beautiful, and is located centrally--close to Termini, and walking distance to most of the sights as well as great restaurants. The hotel itself is fabulous. Be sure to go to the rooftop lounge/restaurant. Take a look off to the side to see the Vatican. The breakfast is outstanding--lots to choose from: meats, eggs, fresh fruits.
I'm sure we'll be returning here next time we're in Rome

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crosscreek7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
115 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

Stayed here for few days on our honeymoon around 2nd week of December 2013. Upon check in, Byron helped us with our luggage and he was very friendly and gave us some tips where to find a good and affordable Italian restaurant, we also found a nice card from the GM and some champagne in the room which was very nice gesture and truly made you feel very welcome. Upon check in the FD agent, provided 2 free drinks to the rooftop bar but we were so busy we didn't get the chance to check it out. Breakfast was very good, before arriving in Rome, we also stayed in London and Paris for few days and did not enjoyed the breakfast there but really like the one in Artemide Hotel, I guest because the service was very good, Pasqualle was very friendly and all the servers was nice, there was this girl who was in charge when Pasqualle was off, I think she is Filipina and she actually remember us and acknowledge us when we came back the next day. They were very attentive and very friendly. It truly does make a difference. The room was filled with free drinks and treats. One thing I have noticed was the smell coming from the bathroom on the 2nd day of our stay was terrible, smell like sewer, you can also smell it on the water while you are brushing your teeth. But overall, it was a nice stay. I will defintely come back but will ask for a different room for sure. Great job to the general manager for managing such a nice a friendly hotel. Customer service is what makes all the difference.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EllafromtheIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

We stayed in the Hotel Artemide during our first visit to Rome in December 2013. The hotel is centrally located about five minutes from the main train station (Termini) and a 15-20 minute walk from the Colosseum , Pantheon and other highlights.
We felt welcome, as soon as we stepped through the door: the staff on the desk took a few minutes to explain the amenities and oriented us on map, and the free drink vouchers were are nice touch.

Our room was on the fourth floor overlooking the Via Nazionalle. While the room itself was somewhat on the small side, but it had all the mod-cons including aircon, free Wi-Fi, a safe, TV, tea & coffee facilities and best of all a FREE mini-bar. The only thing missing was ironing facilities or a trouser press. The bathroom was spacious and we had access to a small balcony. The road is quite busy, and I imagine that traffic noise may be problem for very light sleepers, but then again what do you expect from a city centre location.

As vegetarians, the buffet breakfast exceeded our expectations: they served a wide variety of pastries, breads, salads, juices, cheeses, cereals and fruits. We had lunch and dinner only once in the rooftop restaurant. The food was good, if somewhat pricey.

The friendly service and small touches made it a very pleasant stay indeed. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Lower floors facing the Via Nazionale may be noisy. There is also an Irish pub on the one corner (fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OdysseusDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

We stumbled across this hotel when looking through Rome hotel reviews. We like this particular area of Rome so the good reviews for Artemide interested us. What a great find it has been!

The magic of this hotel is apparent from the first step into the lobby. The staff on the reception desk are first class, speak good english and are keen to make your stay one to remember.

Prior to arriving we had emailed asking them to make some restaurant reservations for us, which they did. One of these was for the hotel's own restaurant. You should, no must, try it! fantastic food and fantastic service. The magic goes on!

One of the things that sets this hotel apart from many others is the attention to detail. Nothing is too much trouble. Every member of staff is friendly and helpful. There are many freebies including minibar, newspapers and room snacks.

We go to Rome every year at this time and have stayed in several other hotels, all nice, but now we have found the place that's worth returning to.

We'll be back!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

Excellent hotel - charming building and lobby - rich woods, warm interior. This contrasts with the modern, sleek hotel room that is very spacious for European standards. The front desk was exeptionally helpful - thank you Sebastien!

Nice location, great roof top bar and wonderful breakfast. You can tell that there is a genuine emphasis on customer service from the housekeeper to the front desk and hostess at breakfast. I would highly recommend this hotel - honestly cannot say enough good things!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzyG10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed for five days and loved everyone
The staff is polite, kind, knowlegeable and very helpfull
Breakfast was ruch and tasty, every morning a difdrent treat was served, fresh ricota chese or a tipical cake
Coffe was very good
The minibar is free and replanished every day

Helpful?
1 Thank soniaJerusalem
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#23 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,978 reviews
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,291 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#10 of 1,291 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barocco Hotel
#17 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,801 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#29 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Artemide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Artemide

Property: Hotel Artemide
Address: Via Nazionale, 22, 98043 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rome
#2 Spa Hotel in Rome
#2 Business Hotel in Rome
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#5 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Artemide 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Artemide, your 4-star hotel in downtown Rome! Just a stone's throw away from the Trevi Fountain, the Colosseum or the Spanish Steps, Artemide is right in the heart of Via Nazionale, a lively and bright street, with plenty of shops to choose from. Within walking distance of Termini Train Station and with the metro station Repubblica at just 100 metres, the Artemide Hotel is the perfect starting point for discovering the Eternal City. Free mini-bar and wi-fi connection in every room, and a fully-equipped gym are just some of the perks we offer our guests. Also, make sure not to miss the Artemís Spa to dedicate a moment for your well-being and enjoy individual or couples massages. And to complete the experience, don't miss the Ambrosia Rooftop Restaurant & Bar, on the 7th floor of the hotel, with its magnificent view over the Rome' skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Artemide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Artemide Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing