We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel with superb staff and an amazing breakfast”
Review of Hotel Artemide

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Artemide
Ranked #9 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Kent, UK
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A great hotel with superb staff and an amazing breakfast”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

The Hotel Artemide is on Via Nazionale which seems to be one of the few main straight roads in Rome, so we found it easily enough arriving late evening and walking down from the bus station (about 15 mins) for our 4 night stay in late October / early November. This was an excellent time of year to visit, with the weather still in the low to mid 20s (celcius), making the ice cream parlour which is immediately next door to the Hotel Artemide a bonus facility that compliments the hotel (albeit an unrelated business). Stepping off the buzzing street, we were immediately impressed by how peaceful the hotel foyer was and despite being around 11pm we were immediately checked in. All of the staff that we met at the hotel were really first rate. Our room with a window onto the central attrium was a modest size, but perfectly adequate, tastefully decorated and with all of the facilities you would expect. The free mini-bar was stocked with non-alcoholic drinks (see photo) and accompanied by other free snacks alongside the tea & coffee making facilities. This was replenished daily (sometimes twice) and we found we didn't need to buy any drinks to carry around with us during the sightseeing. Other reviews noted that the rooms were quiet and apart from the one night when the fire alarm went off accidentally (for about an hour when the staff seemed unable to turn it off) we had similarly uninterrupted night's sleep. That said, this must be a function of the room / bathroom configurations because one afternoon we very clearly heard someone in an adjacent room, presumably in the bathroom, telling their spouse the safe code in their room! There were plenty of nice touches, and the complimentary chocolates that appeared in our room one evening were welcome.
The breakfast was fantastic, with absolutely everything you could think of available, from half a dozen juices, through pastries, yoghurts, cereals, cooked breakfast, salads, pancakes, cakes, cheeses, cooked meats, fresh fruit, bread and rolls. The waiters were plentiful and provided coffee (the advice on ordering a double espresso and hot water from an earlier review was useful), tea etc, and kept pace with the turnover of guests clearing and re-setting tables promptly, so we never had to wait even at the peak time.
We were also given a complimentary drink voucher for the rooftop bar/restaurant and used it on our final day in the mid-afternoon - it wasn't too busy. This is a great way to see across the city and we also has a light meal whilst up there which was very good.
The location of the hotel was ideal for exploring the city, which we mainly did on foot. We booked the hotel as a combined flight and hotel through Lastminute, and whilst not what we would class excellent value compared to other cities in Europe, when you consider all of the plus points and read other reviews around Rome, it appeared to be good value for money.
4 stars because of the fire alarm incident, and a few areas where the room decorations are showing their age, but a close call for 5 stars.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vodnici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,675 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,404
    1,091
    140
    23
    17
See reviews for
1,567
3,829
144
209
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,045)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Artemide for 6 nights just prior to a cruise (in a classic room) and for one night just after the cruise (in a "no frills" room). The rooms were immaculately clean and quiet; the complementary mini-bars were well stocked and the beds were both roomy and comfortable.

The staff members are the stars of the hotel. Valentina and the entire front desk team, housekeeping, porters, bartender...Everyone treated us like royalty. They were kind, professional, knowledgeable, personable, helpful...TRULY guest-oriented!

The location is great; central to many area attractions, shopping and restaurants and not far from Termini Station. The #64 bus, one of many that stops near the hotel, goes to both the Vatican and to Termini Station, where we accessed other local and regional public transportation that took us absolutely everywhere in the Lazio and Campania regions we wanted to go.

We highly recommend the Hotel Artemide and plan to stay there again when next we travel to Rome.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yinofsedona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We stayed at the Artemide Hotel over Christmas 2013. It was a great hotel and is about a 15-20 walking distance to everything. Friendly staff with clean modern rooms. The free wifi and free mini bar in the room was a nice bonus. Also, the rooftop restaurant was great. The chef made a point to chat up each guest. Just beware of the 3 euro per person per day bill you get after staying in any hotel in Rome.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dtownjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We stayed here for 4 days for our honeymoon and it was amazing from start to finish. We got a glass of bubbly on arrival upgraded to the honeymoon suite, chocolates, wine and free mini bar. The staff were brilliant had the best time ever. The hotel is situated in a great place with walking distance to the trevi fountain and Spanish steps and 7mins on the metro to the Vatican.. We will be back for sure

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SMCrosby21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We stayed at Hotel Artemide for 1 night at the beginning of December and absolutely loved it! We were sad we only had 1 night there but it was a great one! From the very start the hotel staff was EXTREMELY helpful! When we first arrived in Rome our debt cards weren't letting us withdraw cash so we were beginning to panic a bit. When we arrived at the hotel they directed us to an ATM that usually works for most travelers and also exchanged our US money so we could pay the shuttle driver. They then called our bank for us (since our cellphones would have cost us an arm and a leg to use)! All of this before we even checked in! After we got that all straightened out they held our bags for us while we went sight-seeing all day. When we returned to check-in they had upgraded us to a suite with a balcony! And gave us an EXCELLENT dinner recommendation that was one of our favorite dinners during our entire 9 day trip through Italy! The room was spacious and comfortable and the stocked mini-bar and complimentary drink on arrival were extra nice touches! They also helped us with directions to the Vatican and how to take the train to Florence. The hotel is located within walking distance to both the tram system and train station as well as all the major sites (except the Vatican which we took the tram too). It was a perfect stay in Rome and we can't thank Hotel Artemide enough!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex Fells, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Very helpful and pleasant staff.Whenever I had a problem , no matter how small, they were always available to help and satisfactorily got the job done Comfortable junior suite facing the Via Nazionale with a small porch area.Great amenities,in particular the free mini bar { first free one I' ve ever seen}.Wonderful location,near to attractions and subway,not to mention some good shopping.Even the restaurant was very good; all you could ask for.

Room Tip: Junior suites worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

The staff is friendly, with good recommendations for local spots for dinner. Breakfast is very good, though the coffee/caffè service never returned with refills so make the first order count. Our particular room, 323, was very noisy with the window open, though with good soundproofing was quiet (if too warm) closed. Close to many attractions (Colosseum and Trevi Fountain) and convenient via the subway to others (Vatican City) - a good spot to stay if you're in the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cardinalash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,258 in Rome
4,141 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#10 of 1,258 in Rome
3,522 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,258 in Rome
2,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,258 in Rome
706 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#34 of 1,258 in Rome
1,295 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Martis Palace
Hotel Martis Palace
#7 of 1,258 in Rome
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Artemide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Artemide

Property: Hotel Artemide
Address: Via Nazionale, 22, 98043 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rome
#2 Business Hotel in Rome
#2 Spa Hotel in Rome
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#6 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Artemide 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Artemide, your 4-star hotel in downtown Rome! Just a stone's throw away from the Trevi Fountain, the Colosseum or the Spanish Steps, Artemide is right in the heart of Via Nazionale, a lively and bright street, with plenty of shops to choose from. Within walking distance of Termini Train Station and with the metro station Repubblica at just 100 metres, the Artemide Hotel is the perfect starting point for discovering the Eternal City. Free mini-bar and wi-fi connection in every room, and a fully-equipped gym are just some of the perks we offer our guests. Also, make sure not to miss the Artemís Spa to dedicate a moment for your well-being and enjoy individual or couples massages. And to complete the experience, don't miss the Ambrosia Rooftop Restaurant & Bar, on the 7th floor of the hotel, with its magnificent view over the Rome' skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Artemide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Artemide Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing