We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience”
Review of Hotel Artemide

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Artemide
Ranked #8 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Louisiana
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Great hotel. The staff was knowledgeable and friendly, and the hotel was located in a good location near many of the historical sites as well as the main train station. Hotel offered an excellent breakfast buffet in the morning, and offered complimentary items in the mini fridge.

Would not hesitate to stay there again and to recommend to others.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank toocynical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,736 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,461
    1,095
    140
    23
    17
See reviews for
1,583
3,865
145
211
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,058)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

All that has been said previously is true and correct. In the room we had there was a very odd smell in the bathroom - over powering in room if bathroom door not kept closed. Great that you have in room control of heating and cooling and can open window. All staff very helpful, breakfast very good, rooms very clean, bath towels starting to wear a little thin. Easy walking distance to key sights.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lodgen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomeGR, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Artemide, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Guests,

By checking our system we have noticed that you are still here at the hotel. We have therefore tried to contact you but at the moment with no success. We hope that when back at the hotel you will read our note and will come and talk to us.

In the meantime we have checked your room for the smell you have mentioned. While housekeeping was making your room, the bathroom was checked and at the moment no smell seems to come from the pipes. Just in case we have treated the drain with a special liquid and hopefully the smell will not come back.

As for the towels, we are sorry that you found some to be worn down. As per our standards we have made up your room and changed the towels every day; we are therefore sorry that you found some not up to our standards. However, we are afraid that the towels we provide are all the same when it comes to thickness. The towels we leave in the rooms are either sponge or linen, therefore they might be thinner than what some Guests might be used to. Unfortunately being these our standard ones, at the moment we cannot find a solution to this matter; however, we will take it into consideration your note and pass it on to our management.

Once more, we are sorry that you have decided to write directly on Tripadvisor before coming to us since you are still one of our Guests. We do hope that we will be able to talk to you before your departure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Hotel Artemide did not disappoint. We were looking for somewhere well located, secure, not too expensive and comfortable for the last days of our two month European holiday. Hotel Artemide was the perfect choice. It's walking distance to just about every historic and archeological site you'll want to see in central Rome and the subway is a block away. The staff know service quality-nothing was too much trouble and there was an answer to every question. The rooms were very comfortable, minibar was free and the wifi was good. (I had some problems with the firewall not letting me use my email). I would definitely stay here again - and use tripadvisor everyday because the most recent reviews let you know what to expect on a daily basis. Fabulous hotel, fabulous city!

Room Tip: We had a room at the back and it was very quiet - the street could potentially be noisy as its quite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dianne329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville, California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

This is not a super modern hotel, but it is in a great location, is clean and the staff cannot do enough for you!
The rooms are big, the bathrooms are a good size and breakfast is included as well as a welcome drink!
Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aliandluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morris, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Everything about this hotel is fine but it isn't memorable in any way. If you don't get to Rome often you'll probably want something less tourist oriented; if you're a repeat visitor then Artemide is fine: comparable to a fairly nice (American) Marriott.
Clean rooms of average European size. Nicely appointed bathrooms (no robes). Large bath towels provided but only 2.Clean, comfortable albeit hard beds. Room is tidied nicely every day. Hair dryer provided but shuts off automatically after 2 minutes. Hot water ok except during peak midmornings....then it is scant. Breakfast buffet is probably one of the more extensive I've seen in Italy ; it's Americanized with cereals, yogurt, eggs+sausage, etc. Nice friendly staff all around. Tv in room has rental movies available. Free wifi works well. Nice. Lounge/bar on 7th floor (including outdoor seating )for predinner cocktail. Elevator is on slow side so if you get a lower floor you'll have the option of stairs. In-room safe is tiny and there is virtually no
drawer space for clothes...there are narrow closets on both sides of bed with a couple of shelves. Good temperature control in took and windows do open for fresh air.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RMH1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomeGR, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Artemide, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Guests,

First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time in writing such a detailed overview of our Hotel. It seems to us that unfortunately your expectations were not totally met, especially when it comes to the room and bathrooms facilities although, overall, you have left quite a positive score.

We are sorry that you did not come to us directly while at the hotel to let us know about your needs, most issues could have been solved immediately and might have made your stay more enjoyable.

Said this we would like to take the chance to give our future customers some further insight into your comments so that they may make up their own mind regarding our hotel and services offered.

Artemide is not part of any international chain and the services offered are all part of our managers and property belief that a Guest should have the possibility to feel welcome and at home while staying with us. Therefore, we do not have company policies that standardize each part of our service or even room décor as probably international chains, such as the above mentioned Marriott, have. We are sorry that you have felt that our hotel was “tourist oriented”; however we do not really understand what you meant. Most hotels tend to be catered for tourist since hotels are used by them and not locals. In case you where referring to the interior decoration, we can confirm that we have chose one that went along with the style of the 20th century Deco building in which we are located. Moreover, it seems that comparing us to a 5 star luxury hotel chain is not very reasonable and nowhere on our selling website have we affirmed anything different than being an independent 4 star hotel.

Furthermore, our website is extremely precise when it comes to room features and amenities, therefore we are sorry that you have thought our rooms to be of average size and that our bathroom equipment was not up to the standards you are used to. Since we checked our system we can confirm that the room you had booked was a Classic Double Room, which features a king size bed (180x195) and measure roughly 15m². Also, pictures of the room equipment can be seen; we highly value our Guests business and we want them to understand exactly how the rooms look and what they feature so that they will know what to find, including the storage space. Also the room which was assigned to you had a bathtub and not only a shower as it might sometimes be the case with this kind of rooms. As for the bathrobes, these are normally typical of 5 star accommodations therefore extremely rare to be found in lower category hotels; however we do provide them in superior room categories such as the Junior Suites (in this case they are also part of the room amenities described). As for the bath towels, we normally provide a set per person. This is normally composed by two sponge bath towels, four sponge smaller towels for the basin and bidet and one linen towel always for the basin, per room per couple. However, in case more are needed, Guests just need to ask reception staff or the housekeeping maids and it would be our care to leave more at their disposal. Moreover, and in order to make our Guests aware of this possibility, a small note is left in the bathroom underling the fact that in case more bathroom toiletries or towels are needed, to not hesitate to contact us. Furthermore, all towels are changed on a daily bases when the room is cleaned both in the morning and during the turndown service in the afternoon.

As for the towels, we can also supply for other Guests’ needs, such as for a softer mattress. On the first day of arrival our maids leave a note around the pillow clearly explaining that in case there is the need for a different type of pillow or a softer mattress, to contact us and we will be more than happy to solve the matter immediately. We are sorry that although we provided this information you did not feel like coming to us for a solution.

As for the hairdryer, we are sorry that you found the ones provided difficult to use. Most Italian hotels tend to use these devices which are attached to the wall and a have a security switch that stops the hot air when a high temperature is reached. Most Guests do not seem to have problems with this system; however, we understand that especially ladies with long hair might find it a bit annoying; therefore we always keep normal hairdryers at our Guests disposal. Having known about your distress we would have sent one immediately to your room. Also the safes that we currently have are of normal standard size to keep a tablet inside and are of common measurements.

As for the hot water in the morning, we have to admit our surprise to your note since no other Guest has reported on this matter during your stay and no record is shown on our maintenance log. However, we are sorry that you had this experience. In the meantime we would like to reassure our Guests that at the moment our system is working perfectly well.
Regarding the elevator, we can confirm that the one you have used is a normal sized elevator which can carry up to four people. Being the hotel located in an historical building we could not place huge machineries which would have compromised the structure of the building; however we can confirm that its speed is absolutely normal for an elevator of these measurements and for the need of a seven floors hotel.

Conclusively, we are sorry that you did not find your stay with us to be sufficiently memorable. We hope that next time you will be able to try a hotel which matches more your standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We had a wonderful 2 night stay here for my husband's 50th birthday. The staff were very warm and helpful, when I sent a card for my husband to the hotel in advance of our visit they duly had it displayed in our room along with a lovely bottle of wine. The rooftop restaurant was a great place to eat especially after a day of wandering Rome, we had an excellent meal, and the small touches of being given tasters of liquor and amuse-bouche added to the experience. For breakfast there was a wide choice from fruit salad to egg and bacon etc., plenty for everyone.
The location was excellent, although it wasn't until we were being driven back to the hotel on the last day that we discovered just how excellent! My advise would be to take your travel guides with a dash of salt (we bought 2 with us!) and ask the hotel staff the best way to get to the sights, we wish we had. Having said that in one day we did manage to cover the Colosseum, Forum, Palatine Hills, Pantheon, Piazza Navona and St Peter's Basilica with an hour's queue to get in. All this on foot and I am definitely not athletic! (We did get a taxi back, worth haggling with the driver and agreeing a price, we were initially offered a taxi at 27eu, we haggled down to 20eu which we paid but the meter showed 16eu, this was one of the licensed taxis from a rank outside St. Peter's.
Whilst the Via Nazionale is a very busy shopping street from the moment we entered the lobby we heard no external noise, it truly was an oasis of calm and I wouldn't hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sallybo44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

It's easy to join the choir of praise for this hotel. That's why I chose it for this weekend trip - thank you fellow tripadivsor-members!!
If you're accustomed to four stars in central Europe you will not be disappointed in this venue. Rome has a pricy level for accommodation. Interesting, since Italy is one of the really severed states in the economical EU-crisis. Anyhow, Artemides delivers. The feeling of four stars is apparent; rather elegant, fine and clean rooms, any amendments you wish for, free (and restocked) mini-bar, free wifi, extensive breakfast, excellent restaurant (reviewed separately) and very kind and serviceable staff.
What else could you wish for?
Don't stay here if you want the "romantic" Rome (small narrow streets with "charm"). Stay here if you want excellent location for excursions to the major attractions of this great city: the historic Rome, the Forum, the Colloseum, the Vatican (bus or Metro a few stations) etc. Near to communications for going to wherever you want to go - this hotel is 10 min from the Termini station. Near the Caracalla thermes on the busy street of Via Nazionale this isn't the most "cosy" place. Nevertheless, with a room towards the inner yard it is as silent as you can get. In the room you will find a typical four-star standard. Good AC and coffee/the/softdrink/beer outfit. Beds are definitely on the firm side (some would describe them as hard)
I can honestly (after more than six trips to Rome) recommend this hotel sincerely.

Room Tip: I suspect that the rooms towards the inner yard is more silent than the ones facing the street of &q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vierdank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,261 in Rome
4,175 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,261 in Rome
2,920 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#9 of 1,261 in Rome
3,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#33 of 1,261 in Rome
1,321 reviews
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,261 in Rome
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Artemide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Artemide

Property: Hotel Artemide
Address: Via Nazionale, 22, 98043 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rome
#2 Business Hotel in Rome
#2 Spa Hotel in Rome
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#5 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Artemide 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Artemide, your 4-star hotel in downtown Rome! Just a stone's throw away from the Trevi Fountain, the Colosseum or the Spanish Steps, Artemide is right in the heart of Via Nazionale, a lively and bright street, with plenty of shops to choose from. Within walking distance of Termini Train Station and with the metro station Repubblica at just 100 metres, the Artemide Hotel is the perfect starting point for discovering the Eternal City. Free mini-bar and wi-fi connection in every room, and a fully-equipped gym are just some of the perks we offer our guests. Also, make sure not to miss the Artemís Spa to dedicate a moment for your well-being and enjoy individual or couples massages. And to complete the experience, don't miss the Ambrosia Rooftop Restaurant & Bar, on the 7th floor of the hotel, with its magnificent view over the Rome' skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, TravelUp, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Artemide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Artemide Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing