We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel”
Review of Hotel Artemide

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Artemide
Ranked #9 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Tenafly, New Jersey
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Great hotel with amazing customer service. Upon arrival they upgraded our room to the honeymoon suite free if charge. It was amazing with a private rooftop deck and jacuzzi. Breakfast was included and was great.

I would say the one and only con is the location is good but not the best. But if we wanted a better location we would have to spend double.

The hotel will exchange money with no service charge.

Amazing Gelato next door.
I would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,286
    1,075
    141
    23
    17
See reviews for
1,531
3,765
139
203
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,033)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Our family stayed at the Artemide Hotel for one night on 13th July. From the moment we entered the hotel we felt completely at home. The staff were very competent and frankly could not have been more helpful. We had two rooms, both of which were very modern and luxurious. This hotel truly deserves every positive review going - look no further if you want quality accommodation at an affordable price. BSHC2014

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greenbreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

So by now, I'm assuming you've read a tonne of good reviews on this hotel.

Let me start by saying I chose this hotel based on these recommendations and it exceeded all of our expectations. Having just got back from Rome with my partner, we are already thinking about our return visit to the Artemide.



-- The Hotel

The hotel has recently been renovated. It's modern, comfortable and extremely high quality, whilst retaining some traditional Italian charm. I've been in many 5*s that couldn't live up to the Artemide.

Our room was a good size and the bathroom was particularly spacious, with a rainforest style shower. The bed was extremely comfy, lovely fluffy pillows. Big smart TV. Hi-tech Air Conditioning. Free mini-bar, stocked daily. Walk in wardrobe, WIFI and a nice writing desk.

The cleanliness of the room and overall hotel is extremely high. We even found a sign under the bed that read, "Don't worry about unpleasant surprises, we even look after the most hidden corners".



-- The Location

Located a five minute walk from Termini along Via Nazionale. From there you can comfortably walk to many of the major tourist attractions, Trevi fountain and the Spanish steps. There's also a delicious gelateria next to the hotel.



-- Breakfast

Very satisfied by this. Breakfast was a wide range of hot and cold foods, delicious cakes and pastries and juices. All very fresh and very tasty. We were offered cappuccinos, which were delicious, and a range of speciality italian dishes by a passing waitress.



-- The Hotel Restaurant

Excluding a couple of afternoon cocktail sessions, we ate hear on three occasions; twice for dinner and once for lunch.

The food is reasonably priced and cooked fresh to order - it's exceptional. There is a wide range of traditional Italian dishes and extravagant desserts. The staff really make your meal feel special, bringing complementary starters and fresh bread baskets.

Eating on the roof terrace is really romantic and we recommend dining around 8pm - when the sun is setting and there is a cool breeze.

Coffee & cocktails are fantastic too!



-- The Staff

I really can't speak highly enough of the staff. Throughout every minute of our stay we were waited on. The staff couldn't do enough to help.

On arrival we were given a glass of Prosecco on the rooftop bar before being shown to our room by the bellboy, who insisted on carrying our luggage.

The lady who ran the Ambrosia restaurant in the daytime was so friendly. She even offered us a slice of complementary cake with our coffees (she must have seen us eying it up!).

The receptionist was also extremely friendly on arrival, providing us with a map and giving us a rundown of the local area. She also helped find us an adapter plug too, very helpful.

It's obvious that the hotel prides themselves on their good customer service, and for good reason too.




-- To sum it up

In conclusion, this has to be one of the highest quality hotels I've ever stayed in. The personal touches make for an amazing experience and the staff are a real credit to the hotels success on trip advisor.

The only improvement I could suggest would be a broader selection of british TV channels. We would have also liked to eat breakfast on the roof terrace (because it's so beautiful in the morning) but I would imagine it's not big enough to accommodate all the guests.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are beautiful. Definitely upgrade to the deluxe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarkRossSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nj
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed in the Artemide in July. The room are clean and newly renovated. The free breakfast was delicious, and there was something for even the pickiest of eaters in our large group. There is free wifi. There are USB ports at the bedside tables, so one can charge an iPod, iPad, etc without using an adaptor. The staff was very nice and helpful. Everyone spoke English, which was an added bonus. Maria, from the hotel, arranged for a car service to pick us up from the airport. Our driver, Emilio, was prompt and gave us a great tour of the city on our drive in. We enjoyed the rooftop bar for drinks and lunches. The location is great, walking distance to the Spanish Steps (10 minutes), Forum, Coliseum. There are ATM's closeby, a pharmacy across the street, and a gelato place right next door. The only disappointment was the rooftop restaurant. Maria had arranged for our group of 11 to have dinner at the restaurant on my parents 50th wedding anniversary. She said she would make sure it was special. We were thinking that maybe the restaurant would give my parents a complimentary glass of wine, or something to that affect. Not only did the restaurant not acknowledge the special occasion, but my parents meals were served almost 45 minutes apart. The service was slow, and the manager didn't care. We waited over 1.5 hours for all 11 of us to get our food because the meals did not come out together. Three meals would come out, then 30 minutes later, 4 meals would come out, until all of us were served. When we enquired why we were being served dinner at different times, we were told there was a mistake in the kitchen, and no apologies were made. This wasn't what we had in mind for their 50th anniversary dinner.
I would definitely stay at this hotel, and recommend it to others. It truly is fantastic. But for a special occasion dinner, find someplace else to eat.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sta129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomeGR, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Artemide, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Very happy that your family enjoyed your stay here with us and your time exploring Rome! We are pleased that you noticed and appreciated the technological advancements of the modern rooms and stylish renovations and enjoyed our delicious breakfast, friendly and helpful staff, and enjoyable driver with our transportation service. We are also glad to hear that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and all nearby amenities and services that you are able to find in the neighborhood.

We are sincerely sorry about your disappointment when dining upstairs at Ambrosia for your parents’ Golden Wedding Anniversary and that your meals took quite awhile to arrive. Though we do believe in the Slow Food movement, the meals should still be served contemporaneously. We are sorry for this disservice and that you felt no empathy from the restaurant manager, an apology was certainly in order. Our hotel management has looked into the matter to discover if there was a particular problem in the kitchen that evening, though rest assured that the staff on service will be made to understand that this level of attention and service is not acceptable.

We are glad that despite your one night dining with us that you were able to see past that and enjoy the rest of your stay with us and write such a lovely review. We look forward to having anyone you should recommend to come and stay with along with you and your family once more to stay with us! All the best, and hope that your parents continue to have a special wedding anniversary year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is amazing we are enjoying it so much. The receptionists were so helpful when we first arrived giving us helpful information,places to visit and a map which we used our whole trip. The roof terrace and restaurant on the seventh floor were very impressive. The view and the atmosphere on the roof terrace second to none and the food well presented and tasted as good as it looked. Service at the restaurant was excellent and professional.

Breakfast was the best I have ever seen in a hotel and tasted. Something for everyone what ever you felt like eating. The cakes I particularly enjoyed. Not only was there lots to choose from but there were also cakes brought round from the chef and they all tasted out of this world.

Location wise you can get to everywhere from here either on foot or for the Vatican on the metro which is very easy to do.

Rosa have us great directions and a place that was local for good pizza. I was not disappointed with her recommendation it was very good ( best I have had to date).sebastian ( hope spelt correctly) helped us when our shuttle to the air port was late. Nothing in this hotel is too much trouble.

The rooms are clean and spacious. The bathrooms clean with fantastic facilities in them. The free mini bar is a great service this hotel offers it is restocked daily and after walking round you really appreciate it.

This was as a couple our only holiday since our honey moon 7 years ago and we couldn't have chosen a better hotel. We would love to come back to Rome and if we do we will stay here again.

Thank you all so much for making our holiday fantastic.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Just for once a hotel that lives up to or maybe even exceeds its billing. This is a really good place to stay with modern comfortable rooms, an excellent breakfast buffet, great fine dining on the roof terrace and the most helpful and welcoming staff. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salisbury
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This really was a very good hotel and we have stayed in many around Europe. This was our 20th wedding anniversary so we wanted a decent base for our family (us and the two kids).

I think it may be particularly suited to 'travellers' who need a bit of extra support with being abroad: e.g. language, booking tickets, getting to and from the airport and to and from various sites.

However, if you are a little more independent, they staff are unobtrusive and friendly.

There were many positive points:

- the rooms were exceptionally clean with good facilities
- the rooms were cleaned very well every day
- the staff were always polite and helpful
- the bar staff and breakfast staff were always smiling and friendly
- a lovely roof terrace
- helpful free minibar
- the location of the hotel: a very easy 10-15 mins walk toTermini station; located a few mins away from a metro from which it is easy to access the Vatican; buses on your doorstep (no.64) that went very near to Campo di Fiore/Piazza Navona; 15-20 mins walk through Monti to the coliseum; 20 mins walk to the top of the Spanish steps down Via delle Quattro Fontane/Via Sistine
- the fantastic Monti area just down the road with lots of bars and restaurants

Only one slight point for me was the noise from the road. It didn't bother the others but as a light sleeper, I had to use ear plugs. Ear plugs (bought at the Faramcia across the road for 3 euros) overcame the problem so perhaps the hotel could have some available for guests. There are thick curtains on the double glazed windows but they don't meet in the middle (the slighter brown ones underneath do) and this may have helped muffle the noise too.

However, in the day time, it was actually nice to sit with the terrace windows open and hear the noise and bustle from the street so I wouldn't let that put you off from a front facing suite if you are high up.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the front would be quieter. If on the front, get a room high up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Babnye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#22 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,039 reviews
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#10 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,828 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#31 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Artemide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Artemide

Property: Hotel Artemide
Address: Via Nazionale, 22, 98043 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rome
#2 Business Hotel in Rome
#2 Spa Hotel in Rome
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#6 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Artemide 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Artemide, your 4-star hotel in downtown Rome! Just a stone's throw away from the Trevi Fountain, the Colosseum or the Spanish Steps, Artemide is right in the heart of Via Nazionale, a lively and bright street, with plenty of shops to choose from. Within walking distance of Termini Train Station and with the metro station Repubblica at just 100 metres, the Artemide Hotel is the perfect starting point for discovering the Eternal City. Free mini-bar and wi-fi connection in every room, and a fully-equipped gym are just some of the perks we offer our guests. Also, make sure not to miss the Artemís Spa to dedicate a moment for your well-being and enjoy individual or couples massages. And to complete the experience, don't miss the Ambrosia Rooftop Restaurant & Bar, on the 7th floor of the hotel, with its magnificent view over the Rome' skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, TravelUp, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Artemide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Artemide Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing