We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel, Great Location”
Review of Hotel Artemide

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Artemide
Ranked #7 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2010

I booked this hotel directly, as I got hte best price that way, The hotel is excellent on all counts, they even provided a free bottle of wine as it was our anniversary. It is probablly the best ever hotel bed I have ever slept in (actually got some proper sleep for a change). The room was very clean and well decorated as well as being sound proofed (the hotel is on a main road, but you would never know it). It is on the expensive side - more than we would normally pay, but then Rome is an expensive city, so you have to be prepared to pay. It's within 10 minute walk of all the major sites, except the Vatican, but you can get a city tour bus ticket that covers two days and you can hop on and off as much as you like between sites (your legs will hurt after a while!). The room also has a complimentary mini bar including beer and soft drinks, the water alone will save you about 8 Euro a day - use the free water fountains to top up as well, dotted around the city. All in all an excellent choice.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steveb5708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7,109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,457 - 5,463 of 7,109 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2010

Stayed for 4 nights last week, and the Artimede lives up to its reviews. Spotlessly clean, and high quality fittings, free safe, mini bar containing water, beer, juice and soda. Coffee and tea making facilities, which is not always the case in Rome. Our room was not facing onto Via Nazionale, but this was a bonus as it meant that we were not bothered by noise and could sleep well.
The breakfast was very good, fruit, yoghurts, cereals, cold meats and cheese incluiding ricotta, 5 fruit juices, bacon, scrambled or boiled eggs, pancakes and maple syrup, croissants, pastries, cake, jams and breads.

The staff were excellent and couldn't have been more helpful. We would certainly return to the Artemide again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesleymac_323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2010

Shortly after ariving we realized that our room was full of mosquitoes. We notified the front desk and some type of bug killer was put into the wall socket, that did eliminate the problem. Otherwise the hotel was fair - decent room size, clean bathrooms and very good location...walking distances to most sites.

The reception area could use a bit more personality. While any questions were answered no additional information was offered.

I might suggest this hotel but most likely not.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelerLeonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelArtemide, Direttore at Hotel Artemide, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2010

First of all I would like to thank the client for his review since customer feedback is one of the important ways to improve our performances. With regards to the first point reported by the client we have to say that Rome as other big cities may experience mosquitoes when the weather is particularly hot and humid. In order to prevent this natural phenomenon disturbing our guests’ comfortable stay, each room is equipped with a mosquito net applied to the room’s windows. Hotel guests can slide this net up and down as they wish. Our rooms are prepared prior for guest arrival. The housekeeping staff policy is to clean the room with this net closed to prevent mosquitoes getting in. As regard to the case in question, this procedure may have not been followed or it could be that the guest himself, in the excitement of arrival and inspecting the view, did indeed left the net open. Whatever the case may have been, we are sorry about the inconvenience this incident has caused. With reference to the other point mentioned in the valued guest review, our reception staff are well known for their efficiency, courtesy and friendly manners. They have been specifically selected for these qualities. One small look at the many reviews published in Tripadvisor and other similar sites would establish this as a fact. Our staff are in fact trained to meet the needs of the most demanding of customers in a warm and friendly way. However it will be my responsability to insure that an even more efficient performance will be offered by the staff.

Ms. Loredana Spaltro, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2010

My husband and I traveled to Italy for a 25th Anniversary trip in May. We stayed at a B&B in Venice, an apartment in Florence, then finally at the Hotel Artimede in Rome before coming home. My husband wanted us to be pampered in style on this last leg of our trip, so we chose this hotel based on Trip Advisor reviews. We were very happy with our choice!

We had one of the four junior suites in the hotel. Our room overlooked the Via Nazionale and had a terrace where we could pull chairs outside and watch the people and nightlife below. The traffic was a little noisy, and the police sirens were distracting at all hours of the day or night, but overall the sound was minimal. The location far made up for this.

The staff were wonderful in every way. They provided umbrellas our first day when ours were still locked up in our luggage. We bought a bottle of wine to take back to our room and the bartender in the lounge let us borrow a bottle opener to use. Any request was met with courtesy and a smile.

We felt very pampered with the tons of free bath amenities - lotions, tissues, bubble bath, etc. - even bath slippers! We had a wonderful whirlpool bath that felt great after a long day of walking. The safe in the room worked like a charm. I used the tea kettle to make a warm cup of chamomile before bed each night, while my hubby enjoyed a beer from the complimentary items in the fridge.

The breakfast was the best we had anywhere. There were hot scrambled eggs and sausages, with tons of fruit, pastries, yogurt, cereal and juices. Hot tea and cappucinos were provided endlessly with attentive service. On our last morning there we had to leave very early - before breakfast service - and we were met at check-out with two large bags of food to eat on the way to the airport (yogurt, apple, juice, cheese, crackers, water bottle).

The only complaint I could give is that our bed was very hard compared with what we are used to at home, but that was the case EVERYWHERE we stayed in Italy, so it's no fault of the hotel. It's just a cultural thing I guess. We would highly recommend the Hotel Artimede to anyone. It was very easy to walk anywhere we wanted to go and close to the Metro to go to the Vatican and Borghese Gallery.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NTexasT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2010

Arrived after a long and exhausting trip. The staff was warm, welcoming and helpful. Rooms were clean and modern with great ammenities. We did not spend as much time in this hotel as planned, because of the volcano eruption in Iceland,but we will certainly stay here the next time we come to Rome. Location is great, you can literally walk to everything. Great Value!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimMassachusetts_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2010

We stayed at the Hotel Artemide for two days in May based on reviews from Tripadvisor and were very impressed with the hotel. We went there to celebrate our anniversary and they had champagne and strawberries ready for us and provided us with a free room upgrade.

The room was immaculate and the bathroom was spacious. The breakfast was excellent and the staff were very helpful with directions and restaurant suggestions.

The only thing to be aware of (which I think is common in Europe) is that the towels are different then what we are used to in North America - they are very thin and similar to a tea towel as opposed to a bath towel.

Bed was firm and comfortable and the free mini bar was great.

Overall - a fantastic hotel and we will stay there again when we go back to Rome.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Careergirl_76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2010

This hotel has the best location right on Nazionale, close to Colliseum and other artifacts. Service was top notch, free champagne and appetizer. Checked us in early, no problem holding bags, great with everything - highly recommend. When I return to Rome this will definately be where I stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CRAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#9 of 1,272 in Rome
3,725 reviews
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,272 in Rome
771 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Lifestyle Suites Rome
Lifestyle Suites Rome
#3 of 1,272 in Rome
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#19 of 1,272 in Rome
4,395 reviews
Appia Antica Resort
#1 of 1,272 in Rome
766 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,272 in Rome
3,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Artemide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Artemide

Address: Via Nazionale, 22, 98043 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rome
#2 Business Hotel in Rome
#2 Spa Hotel in Rome
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#5 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £153 - £334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Artemide 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Artemide, your 4-star hotel in downtown Rome! Just a stone's throw away from the Trevi Fountain, the Colosseum or the Spanish Steps, Artemide is right in the heart of Via Nazionale, a lively and bright street, with plenty of shops to choose from. Within walking distance of Termini Train Station and with the metro station Repubblica at just 100 metres, the Artemide Hotel is the perfect starting point for discovering the Eternal City. Free mini-bar and wi-fi connection in every room, and a fully-equipped gym are just some of the perks we offer our guests. Also, make sure not to miss the Artemís Spa to dedicate a moment for your well-being and enjoy individual or couples massages. And to complete the experience, don't miss the Ambrosia Rooftop Restaurant & Bar, on the 7th floor of the hotel, with its magnificent view over the Rome' skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Artemide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Artemide Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing