We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small family LOVED the Columbus!”
Review of Hotel Columbus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Columbus
Ranked #622 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Small family LOVED the Columbus!”
Reviewed 8 August 2012

We (family with one 8 year old) started a European vacation with five days at the Hotel Columbus and LOVED it! We sprung for a family suite on the third floor - two connected bedrooms with a bath - and it was a perfect base for us. Quick pros and cons:

PROS:
-Location. St. Peter's Square is two blocks away. All the hop-on, hop-off buses board across the street, literally, from the hotel. There is an underground stop nearby, but we did the HOHO Bus one Day to tour the city and otherwise walked wherever we wanted to go. If you are Catho
IC and want to attend an early morning mass (7 am, which I could not recommend more highly), being so close to St.
Peters is invaluable. There is also a host of serviceable dining on Borgo Pio a short walk away(and great gelato). We walked easily to the area around Piazza Navona and Castel San Angelo may as well have been our front yard.
-Value. There are other hotels nearby. This one was a little cheaper given how nice it was.
-Atmosphere. It was almost mystical to stay in a 15th century monastery. Explore the common rooms on the first floor. There is one outside 201 with a beautiful ceiling fresco. The courtyard is gorgeous, with a beautiful church just beyond the walls. You don't get this at a chain hotel.
-A/C. That's right, the air conditioner! I worried when I saw the comments here, but the units on the third floor were great! Our room was icy cold, and we are from Florida, so we love our AC! The common areas are hot, but the stairway seemed reasonably cool.
-Service. The service at the desk was homey and friendly. This is a boutique hotel, and people leave their old school keys at the desk, but the crew speaks English well and were very helpful.

CONS
-Furnishings. The furniture is old, worn, and mismatched. Big deal. It added to the charm for us.
-Shuttle. We were quoted a high price for the shuttle from the airport and didn't do it. The cab was cheaper. But we did use the shuttle on the way back and it was easy and a little cheaper. But not the deal it apparently used to be.
-elevator. It is really small, although we actually saw smaller.

That's it. Look at the pros, look at the cons. You can see why we lovedthe Columbis and would return in a heartbeat!

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Drays7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    276
    174
    113
    73
See reviews for
213
252
40
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Booked this hotel on-line prior to our "cruise" vacation that started and ended in Italy. We stayed there for our last night and chose it only for it's proximity to the Vatican and the free parking. These were the only "positive" things about this hotel. Plus our room attendant.

The hotel is built in a very large building containing 90ish rooms. There is no air conditioning throughout the interior from the entrance through the hallways to the rooms. We were there on August 5/6 when the temps were in the high 30's (roughly 94 Fahrenheit). Not a good time not to have air.

My wife found the bed in our original room covered in hair. Needless to say, GROSS!" The room attendant who had brought our bags was also disgusted and called the front desk. Our room was changed with no problem to something that looked a little nicer. BUT! that was it. It was boiling hot in the room and the attendant adjusted the air temp to the coldest setting. We left our bags and quickly left just to cool down. Upon our return, room was a little cooler. Unfortunately, the bed was in another room and must have been at least 90. We called to complain and ask for a fan which was brought up within 10 minutes. Not much relief. I lost a night of sleep. In the morning my wife went to take a shower and discovered the water temperature had two settings...HOT and EXTREMELY HOT. we made do with a very uncomfortable quick shower. We then arrived for our breakfast that was included and was told that it wasn't. After explaining our room situation and that I was not in the best of moods, the on duty clerk relented and allowed us to have a bite. Not much choice but sufficient to get our day started. We returned for check out and expressed our disappointment with our stay to the manager. Although she was very nice, she told us that on account that we were only staying for the one night that there was nothing to offer us but her apologies. Once again, a fantastic location and free parking. My two cents... It really doesn't matter where else you stay as a tour or your own feet will surely have you moving throughout this beautiful city.

Room Tip: Book Elsewhere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FastDriver911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther B, Responsabile reception at Hotel Columbus, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review from your visit with us. The troubles you encountered at check-in are not typical of the service we offer and apologize that you were inconvenienced in this way. We have noticed your comments regarding rooms and would like to clarify that our hotel is an old building, and not a new one with all facilities and modern furnished. We are also regret the problems you had with A/C system and are very surprised to hear that you didn't know that your price very discounted didn't include breakfast. We would welcome the opportunity to speak to you directly in this regard - please contact us at info@hotelcolumbus.net we may discuss this
further.

Best regards
FMO
Hotel Columbus****
Rome

Warm regards,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Apex, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Ok, I know you've read all about the lack of A/C. I really don't have to go over and over about this location. You will never get a better price for this location anywhere! If someone told me they went to Rome and stayed in a Holiday Inn I'd laugh, you can not beat the history of this hotel. The one thing I would suggest to Hotel Columbus is a small booklet or someone who could share information on this old building, stories of who, what and etc...the little I learned of it was so cool!
I do have some great tips for though...A/C is a small box above the door, in US we would call this a window unit. Some of the rooms are off a very large sitting area this can be a problem since this area is NOT cooled but if you keep the door shut and the bathroom door shut with the thermostat on 10 Celsius it should cool down in a few hours. Do NOT let the housekeeper turn your room each day! She leaves the door propped open while she works, get a towel if need but put the Do Not Disturb sign on your door, this should keep the room cool, not our blast of cool we're used to here, remember ALL of Rome is hot, even the restaurants, shops and local sights with cooling with keep doors open. You will feel relief of this heat in the summer ONLY inside the Vatican Museums, churches and some four star restaurants. Not even the cab drivers seem to notice the heat! Tip: Learn the Italian phrase "please put on AC sir".
The hotels veranda is where we spent a lot of free time before and after tours, this was so delightful! Comfortable seating with large cushions, hotel staff keeping a constant eye on our needs! This hotel is for you if: walking to ALL the great sights, restaurants and shopping is what you want to do. I hate the constant cab drives, I loved this location for these reasons as well as being amazed at the hotels beauty and history. Cab drive to Colosseum was around 10-12 euros. This was the one and only cab needed the entire time!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmrealtorgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Hotel Columbus is a lovely old hotel steps away from the Vatican Museum. We had a lovely view from our room into the courtyard, the room was small but cute. The washroom was a little dark and hard to see in there but since you aren't in there long it isn't a big deal. This hotel is very reasonably priced and an easy walk to most attractions.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krista L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2012

There is a thing that looked like an air conditioner that they checked, and said worked, but the room was never anything but dreadfully hot. Any time of the year but summer this is the perfect hotel: Beautiful, excellent staff, great access! If you plan to use your room to cool off and refresh from a hot summer day, go somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

This is a lovely old building with loads of character. Do not worry about the reviewers who complain about old carpets and furniture - they are missing the point and would be happier in a chain hotel. The location is brilliant - you can see the Vatican from some rooms and there are plenty of buses and taxis around there. If staying you must try the outdoor bar - it is in a nice courtyard, prices are not too bad for the drinks and they always bring snacks. The aircon is not brilliant but better than nothing. The rooms are at good prices for Rome.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Vatican / Borgo
Palazzo Cardinal Cesi
Palazzo Cardinal Cesi
#354 of 1,263 in Rome
397 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Residenza Paolo VI
Residenza Paolo VI
#123 of 1,263 in Rome
465 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Hotel della Conciliazione
Hotel della Conciliazione
#51 of 1,263 in Rome
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Antico Palazzo Rospigliosi
Antico Palazzo Rospigliosi
#695 of 1,263 in Rome
439 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Hotel Sant Anna Roma
Hotel Sant Anna Roma
#132 of 1,263 in Rome
296 reviews
Starhotels Michelangelo
#150 of 1,263 in Rome
1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Columbus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Columbus

Property: Hotel Columbus
Address: Via della Conciliazione 33, 00193 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Vatican / Borgo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#289 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Columbus 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atmospheric 4-story Hotel with historic ambience, converted from 15th-century Villa, 2 blocks from Vatican. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Columbus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbus Hotel Rome
Hotel Columbus Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing