We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location can't be beat....”
Review of Hotel Columbus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Columbus
Ranked #623 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Stayed here for the 2nd time in February. The staff was excellant and treated us well. Rome was having rain and floods and most hotels lost hot water. The hotel was very helpful during the crisis! Especially after a long day of Rome walking. Hot water came on next day and all was good. You just cannot beat the location. You are right at the entrance of St Peter square. The hotel is historic and all that brings with it. i do agree with other reviewers that the room decor needs to be updated. This coud easily be a higher start hotel. Saying that, I will probably stay here next time we are in Rome! Chow.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valverdejack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (809)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Columbus
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

178 - 184 of 809 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Fantastic location and full of charm on the exterior and public rooms.
VERY limited car parking spaces (12), which isn't enough for the size of the hotel- and you can't reserve any spaces.

Rooms are very basic 2* and like other reviews the beds are 2* to match.
Don't go paying over the odds for this place as you may be disappointed.
However, i would stay here again if it was a bargain deal. Paid 95 euro for one night. Reasonable price for a BASIC room.
I wasn't in Rome to stay in a hotel room all weekend- much better things to see in Rome than a tired looking room!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank OLA124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

It took me a while to get around to finally writing a review, being that our stay was this past June of 2013, but here I go.
If you are a fan of The Vatican, then there could not be any better hotel in all of Rome than the Hotel Columbus Roma. From the moment our cab brought us from the airport to the road the hotel is on, which happens to be the same road leading into The Vatican, our jaws had dropped. Literally one of the greatest views in Rome, is the grand entry to Vatican City, and this hotel is exactly three buildings down from it. We were able to open our window and look to our left upon St. Peter's Square, with two occasions during our stay, Pope Francis was there speaking... moments that will forever live in our hearts & minds. If that wasn't enough, a glance to our right and we were able to see Castel Sant'Angelo.
You would think that alone sells you on this hotel, but actually stepping into this centuries old building takes you back in time. Between it's architecture, furnishings and artwork, you will have no better appreciation of a time long ago. The paintings of all the friars & monks from the past centuries alone are priceless. And one of the greatest views is the dining hall, with one of the most beautiful frescos I've ever scene. The daily breakfast was quite nice too.
One more incredible experience I must share. One night late, my wife and I ask the desk clerk about anything open for a nice locals ristorante. Before we could finish our sentence, the door (young) man, walked us about a half mile away to one of the best places we ate at in Rome. They were basically closed, yet he had the owner come over to take care of us. Unbelievable !!!
Now you may wonder why I gave it 4 stars and not 5. A few things did prevent me from giving it a perfect rating. First off, it was our belated honeymoon which they were contacted about prior to our stay. I realized we booked our trip through a second party web site, but the room we were put in was the worst of our two week tour through Italy. It was so tiny there was almost no room for our 4 suitcases. And don't even get me going on the bathroom. I talked to the desk people, yet even with rooms available, because we didn't book directly with them, they wouldn't upgrade. I've traveled too much to know that isn't a good business practice. The other reasons are minor, but still affected our stay. Their Wi-Fi is horrible. If you turn off any device even for a moment, you must log back on going through the whole process which takes a bit. in this day and age, no excuse for that. Speaking of luggage, you will barely be able to fit one person and a couple pieces of luggage in the elevator. A centuries old building I understand, but be prepared for a couple trips.

Room Tip: Make sure you talk to someone a head of time and the room meets your standards before you arrive.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Julian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We stayed here while on our honeymoon and we wanted a hotel that had charm...and while we fully knew that the building would be old, and we liked the idea of being in a historic building, well the property has done NOTHING to add any comfort or make it worth the money we paid to stay here.
A few things that they should do: replace the carpet, it looks like it's been there FOREVER, get some new sheets & towels, new beds...these few things could really help make this hotel more comfortable. The sheets, towels and new beds seem like something that can easily be done and would've made our stay SO much better.

We would not recommend staying here, it's not a good value, it's like staying at a Motel 6 but paying too much for it. There are so many other options to go for when in Rome.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Reception was rather rude, and everything else was mediocre. Excellent location but would rather stay in a better hotel and use public transport which is quite efficient. Hotel rooms are very sparse and are barely comfortable.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank janeclariassalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Situated between St. Peter's Square and Castel Sant'Angelo, we were within walking distance of these two very exciting places. We also enjoyed walking along the Tiber, especially the quieter side across from the Castel Sant'Angelo. We were disappointed not to be in Rome on a Sunday in order to perhaps see Pope Francis, but what we did not know was that he would be celebrating the Pilgrimage of Families for the Year of Faith on Saturday, October 26. As we stood just outside the door of the Columbus Hotel we were close enough to see the Pope sitting in front of St. Peter's and by watching the huge screens situated all along Via Della Concilazione we could see his every move and hear every word. What a thrill. After the celebration we simply stepped into the hotel and were home. No crowds, no waiting for transportation, etc. What a thrill. The hotel was very comfortable and the staff very helpful. A great experience all around.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank onthegoCincinnati_OH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank 381Mel
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Vatican / Borgo
Palazzo Cardinal Cesi
Palazzo Cardinal Cesi
#362 of 1,267 in Rome
401 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Residenza Paolo VI
Residenza Paolo VI
#126 of 1,267 in Rome
467 reviews
Monti
Antico Palazzo Rospigliosi
Antico Palazzo Rospigliosi
#680 of 1,267 in Rome
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vatican / Borgo
Hotel della Conciliazione
Hotel della Conciliazione
#47 of 1,267 in Rome
667 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Hotel Sant Anna Roma
Hotel Sant Anna Roma
#146 of 1,267 in Rome
299 reviews
Prati
Hotel Arcangelo
Hotel Arcangelo
#538 of 1,267 in Rome
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Columbus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Columbus

Address: Via della Conciliazione 33, 00193 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Vatican / Borgo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#291 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £102 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Columbus 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atmospheric 4-story Hotel with historic ambience, converted from 15th-century Villa, 2 blocks from Vatican. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Columbus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbus Hotel Rome
Hotel Columbus Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing