We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“room204”
Review of Emmaus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Emmaus
Ranked #511 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 21 June 2014

If you book a single room and are allocated 204 refuse it straight away and demand another. Room 204 is like a storage room which has been turned into a bedroom. You can touch both walls with outstretched arms, the small window is permanently open and unreachable at the top of the wardrobe near the ceiling, the bathroom is so tiny your feet flap over the step into the bedroom area while sitting on the loo. The bed was just single width, hard foam with some lumpiness. It looked and felt like a backpacker room.
The hotel is very close to the vatican, that is its best feature, and the staff are friendly...hence the 2 stars.

Room Tip: I suspect 104 and 304 could be the same. Don't accept them
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mezza49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luigi d, Direttore at Emmaus, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Sir,
Thanks to have founded time to leave your impression about our Hotel and thanks to have appreciated our staff.
Of course we respect your opinion since all people can have own and are free to express it, but we have to bring the truth about some of your statements in our opinion not true and at the limit of defamation.
We should be more attentive to the information you leave on such sites, Tripadvisor has a great importance and falsehood do not declare any contribution and is very disrespectful not only to us, but especially to the people who use it.
Fortunately we have the opportunity to react to your claims, entering into the merits of the chamber 204, it is a single room for one person with all among the characteristics of a 3-stars hotel, private bathroom with shower, telephone, satellite TV, Minibar air conditioning and it respects the minimum measures that such a room must have for the Italian law, which cannot be absolutely what you describe, it is clearly not a suite being the least expensive room, which you asked EXPRESSLY.
Paying slightly more ,we offered you a double room for single use, but you do not have accepted it, perhaps for this reason you were offended and decided to leave this comment.
The window is open if you want to open and if you want to close it ... easily you can close!!

Something much more serious, which we believe it demonstrates your unreliability, is that you toke a permission to do even allusions to other rooms in which you have not stayed and you have not even seen, as admitted by you!!
Evidently is not acceptable can do such statements.

Given your negative experience, we imagine that no longer wishes to be our customer in the future and is the first time ever that we allow ourselves to write, that it does not make us regret at all.
Sincerely

Luigi De Santis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (350)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 350 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

Lovely hotel, very local and near the sites. Room clean and tidy, Staff very helpful, Excellent continental breakfast. Can recommend for location and service. Air conditioning great. Very small shower cubicle but all the necessary requisite supplied.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luigi d, Direttore at Emmaus, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Jena,

Thank you for your nice review!

We are happy to know that your stay was good thanks to our amazing location, our rooms and our staff. The service that we offer to all our guests is one of our strengths! In fact, we always try to recommend the best things to feel like an Italian but, at the same time, you can live the perfect roman holiday! All accompanied by our beautiful rooms where you will find everything you need and more!

Come back again, we will wait for you!

best Regards

Luigi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I stayed at this hotel last year with my friend and we loved it. Nice, clean rooms and bathrooms. Very friendly and helpful staff, especially with booking tours etc. the breakfast was really nice too. Overall a brilliant place to stay in Rome. I loved it that much I'm due to go again in two weeks!

Becky

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beckyapril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luigi d, Direttore at Emmaus, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Sir,
thank you for your nice and kind review. We are very excited when we find guests so happy like you! Reviews submit your organization's critical about the hotel are always very important to improve our work. But, frankly, when we receive good reviews like yours we are very satisfied!!
Hope to welcome you again and soon
Best Regards

Luigi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The main strength of this Hotel is, that it is very close to the Vatican. The People at the reception are also very friendly and helpful.

But, there are some (!?) rooms that are way below standard. My mother in law stayed in the main building and had no complaints. We on the other Hand stayed in the second building in the back, which was comparable to some very bad Hotel rooms I stayed in rual India. The bathroom was very small and it was impossible to sit straight on the toilett. There were mushrooms all over in the bathroom and the main room. It was impossible to get this room heatened to an acceptable temperature during the cold nights. The room had a very high cold moisture, which went thru our clothes and wettened them even when they were still in the suitcase. The TV was small, had a bad reception, hardly any international channels and the usb port (to view your taken photos) was disabled. There was basically also no view out of our room. The only positive thing I can state about this room: it was not noisy at all.

The breakfast was a shame: in regard to the coffee served, nothing about the italian bride in serving the worlds best coffee. (It is better to cross the street and have an excellent cappucino at the coffee bar für 1, 20 Euro.) The Food is Ok for one day, max. 2 days .... but after that, it is not overseeable that you have been served with the cheapest Croissants. Everything else at breakfast is really not worth mentioning. I am wondering, why they do not invest 2 or 3 Euro per Person more, to make the start into the day for their guests a bit more pleasant/tastefull.

OK, would I recommend this Hotel?
- If you count on being out all day and the weather is reliable warm at your time of travell, then location might be reason enough to stay there. If the weather is not reliable, then I would for sure not recommend to stay in the rooms in the second building. If you want to be able to spend a few hours a day in the Hotel room awake and have a good breakfast in the morning, then I would not recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DerBewerter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luigi d, Direttore at Emmaus, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Client,

thank You for having found the time to write this review and for appreciating our great position and our staff's professionalism.
The room You have been assigned was very quite since you made us this request and it is absolutely not located in a different building, but just on the back, far from the traffic's noise!!
This is important to clarify for the other people who can read your words.

Also I have to disagree when you write about " there were mushrooms all over in the bathroom and the main room" . it is the first time I hear something like this, I personally checked the room you are talking about and I verified that nothing like this there is inside!! Also it is strange that something so important like this you missed to report to us during your stay!!!

We can accept and respect your opinion about the rooms and in any case we are Always at disposal to solve any problems, if the clients report them to us!!
All people can have different tastes and opinions, luckily, bad as yours ,are not frequent, mostly about our Buffet breakfast that is a strength of our Hotel!!!

Thanks again in any case for your review, we hope to welcome you again by trying to better meet your needs.
Best Regards
Luigi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

I love how this hotel is just a step away from the famous St. Peter's Square. Their service is incredible. I forgot my laundry in Rome and they helped me ship it to Santorini. They have a nice selection of break foods and coffee is made on the spot for you. The wifi is great and cheap.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Connieku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luigi d, Direttore at Emmaus, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Connie,
you were very nice to write many good words on behalf of Emmaus Hotel.
We are pleased that your stay in Rome has been positive and we were pleased to help you in the little problme you had with your clothes :).
Thanks again for taking the time to write your review.
A warm greeting

Luigi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

nice hotel near the Vatican. Really good for visiting Rome! The only problem: many of the rooms have windows to the street, the traffic is very loud. You also can find many restaurants nearby, in the neighbourhood and in Trastevere, which ist only 25 minutes walk away.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Christa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luigi d, Direttore at Emmaus, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Christa,

Thank you so much for this nice review

It's very important for us to know that your stay was good.. everyday we try to take care of you all to give you a wonderful holiday in Rome... it's a big pleasure for us!

Come back again at the Hotel Emmaus and next time ask for our quiter rooms on the back!! :) we will wait for you ...

Best Regards

Luigi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

It was our first time to Rome, we were 3 persons. Together in one big room we had enough place and we didn't need to have separate rooms.
The location is great: it' s quiet and for sightseeing we didn't need a car, bus or anything else.
After check-out we could leave our baggage save in the hotel to visit the vatican.
Breakfast was simple, but okay and enough.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
Thank Beke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luigi d, Direttore at Emmaus, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Beke,

Thank you so much for the nicel review :)
We're so happy to know that your stay was good! It' s very important for us that all our clients are happy and that they feel the Hotel like home.. We always reserve a special service because we want to take care about you!

Best Regards from all of us

Luigi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Vatican / Borgo
Residenza Paolo VI
Residenza Paolo VI
#111 of 1,269 in Rome
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vatican / Borgo
Palazzo Cardinal Cesi
Palazzo Cardinal Cesi
#350 of 1,269 in Rome
403 reviews
Starhotels Michelangelo
#167 of 1,269 in Rome
1,106 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Hotel Sant Anna Roma
Hotel Sant Anna Roma
#211 of 1,269 in Rome
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emmaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emmaus

Address: Via delle Fornaci 23-25, 00165 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#154 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £72 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Emmaus 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lying a mere one hundred yards from Piazza San Pietro and the spiritual home of the Catholic Church, there is no 3-star Hotel in Rome as well placed as the Hotel Emmaus for great access the Vatican and all its treasures. With views of the imposing yet graceful dome of St Peter’s from our guestrooms and breakfast room, this 3-star Rome accommodation offers an ideal location for pilgrims and tourists alike, with easy access into the rest of the historical centre too, just across the noble and ancient River Tiber, which weaves through the city as it does between history and mythology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Emmaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emmaus Hotel Rome
Emmaus Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing