We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not be decieved by the entrance”
Review of Hotel Scott House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Scott House
Ranked #630 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Windsor, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
1,442 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 634 helpful votes
“Do not be decieved by the entrance”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

If you are used to North American Hotels/Motels you would be repelled by the entrance of this hotel, but do not let it deceive you. It is typical of many Italian hotels. Other than that the hotel enjoys an excellent location near the railway station in a such a busy city. With a lot of luggage it would have been cumbersome to move to and from the station. The rooms were really good, the staff is nice and the breakfast was really good.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheGlacierist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    201
    118
    36
    54
See reviews for
97
162
40
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Scott House is in a great location for exploring Rome, just yards from Termini Station and Metro. The rooms are spotless and breakfast is good. The staff are really friendly and so helpful. My young son lost a beloved teddy bear and on returning to London I emailed the hotel who promptly found him and arranged for him to be sent back to us in the UK! I doubt many people would have taken the time to do this and so staff and hotel get a 5 out of 5 from us!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evansb44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

The entrance isn't very appealing but the rooms are modern and clean, they are small but the beds, bathrooms are all good quality, the breakfast is Italian meats and cheeses, free wifi, good for people on a short stay out during the day sightseeing and people who need to be near the station

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davide651980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Was booked into Scott House 5 minutes before arrival due to recently being put into a "closed" hotel..

On arrival the woman was very welcoming and informed us of all we needed to know before letting us go to bed after a long day..

Everything else about the hotel was excellent including the breakfast with a vast variety, the only bad part was the shower which either just dribbled water or was freezing.

Overall a nice stay

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aehen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Scott House is right next to Termini. That means: pavements filled with unconscious homeless lying in their own urine, African folks selling junk and doggy characters boozing it up. Not really a cosy, romantic postcard setting. If you want to be close to Termini, book at least a few street further.
The hotel itself has the charm of a low security prison, run by Eastern European staff. The sterile white corridors bathe in UV light, with the doomy sound of the AC in the background, and cameras everywhere. As an inmate, you are constantly reminded of the house rules, like "2 coffees max at breakfast, the third one will be charged."
The staff seems to have their own interpretation of the booking.com rules and procedures. You're also expected to sign a paper. "For the police" the man behind the counter says. While the paper reads: "I hereby give permission to Scott house to use my contacts for promotional activities and marketing." Yeah, right.
In short: at Scott house you're not a guest, just a number. Doing time. Happy to be out.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rik2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Wow! We did'nt expect 5-star service, but that's what we got! Ok, I understand what people write about the entrance and elevator, but once you reach the actual hotel everything else goes away! It's very very nicely renovated and extreamly clean! I have never, what I recall, stayed in a cleaner hotel! We found the Hotel to be in a perfect location, Close to Termini Station. And you can Walk to many sights.
Because we went to Rome to celebrate our annirvercary we got a comlimentary VIP in our Room! And all stay congratulated us! They are all very serviceminded! Lovely stay and Will stay again if we go to Rome in the future!
Our Room was more than enough for us, quite spacious with high sealing, Safe, fridge, quite large bathroom, french balcony towards a Street with restaurants and People to see.
The Only problem we had was a stop in the shower, but it was easily fixed.
I would recommend this Hotel to anyone! We payed £62 (73 euro) per night for a twin room with breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anki81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romania
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Even close to termini (not very pleasant area of rome) you will not have any issue by choosing this hotel.
Close to metro station, you can reach rapidly Colosseum, Vatican and many other Rome attraction.
Hotel is ok; situated at 4th and 5th floor of a building (apparently very usual for Rome) you have a decent breakfest and decent conditions. I love the satelit tv with hundreds of channel (not necesssary using it as travelling in Rome is very challenging).
With one exception, the staff is very friendly and helpful

Room Tip: at the street there is a bit of noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Orlanda
Hotel Orlanda
#292 of 1,261 in Rome
402 reviews
Esquilino
Max Hotel
Max Hotel
#574 of 1,261 in Rome
227 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Capitol Roma
Hotel Capitol Roma
#616 of 1,261 in Rome
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel California
Hotel California
#318 of 1,261 in Rome
836 reviews
Esquilino
Kennedy Hotel
Kennedy Hotel
#1,029 of 1,261 in Rome
732 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Serena
Hotel Serena
#382 of 1,261 in Rome
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Scott House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Scott House

Property: Hotel Scott House
Address: Via Gioberti 30, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #630 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Scott House 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Scott House one of the most affordable hotels in Rome ! Located on the 4th and 5th floor of a building, designed for short and long-term travelers Scott House's new rooms are clean comfortable and surprisingly affordable with Private Bathroom LCD satellite TV Direct Dial Telephone Air Conditioning Heating Safety Deposit Box Mini Bar Hairdryer Free wireless Internet connection and all this at unbeatable low prices !Breakfast is served in our bar where you can meet other travelers from all over the world. We hope to see you soon !Facilities:TVSatellite TV ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Scott House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Scott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing