We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in Rome”
Review of La Residenza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Residenza
Ranked #317 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great hotel in Rome”
Reviewed 16 June 2011

We have been to Rome 4X and everytime we have stayed at the La Residenza. I would describe it as a business mans hotel. It's off the Via Venito, near the Spanis Steps. The rooms are modern, very clean as it the whole hotel. Staff is excellent. They make you stay very pleasent and comfortable. They serve a full american buffet breakfast with many choices of both hot and cold foods. The hotal is also not far from many restaurants. We have stayed there on pleasure trips to Rome and we intend to go back again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gardoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    142
    45
    13
    14
See reviews for
115
197
19
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, MD
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Location had issues: We stayed at the Hotel La Residenza as a family with three kids, and I had found it on hotels.com with a four-star rating for a great price. As we walked up to the hotel to check in at night, we saw a "gentlemen's club" (AKA strip club) across the street and a few other seedy bars with men loitering outside down the block. Ruh-roh. Nevertheless, the hotel is only two short blocks from a fancy street in Rome with high-end shops and hotels. It is not too far (ten minutes or so) to walk to the Spanish Steps, but a bit more of a hike to the bulk of Rome's tourist attractions, so we ended up taking taxis when our kids got tired.
STAFF: The hotel staff couldn't have been nicer, helped us find our way around Rome, made parking our rental car in front of the hotel quite painless, and took care of arranging a transfer to the airport for us at the end of our stay.
COMMON AREAS: The small lobby area was old-fashioned and decorated in an opulent style with red carpeting and expensive draperies.
ROOMS/BATHROOMS: The rooms were ample in terms of size (surprisingly, the beds were all very large, with the king bed was even larger than an American-sized king, and our bathrooms were big for by European hotel standards. Both the rooms and bathrooms were clean, but very, very dated. If this hotel got four stars, it had to be at least twenty years ago.
FOOD: The included breakfast was an elaborate hot and cold buffet, with delicious pastries, eggs, and the works. There were overpriced pizza places within a few blocks, but no little corner markets for picking up drinks, snacks and sandwiches nearby.

Room Tip: A junior suite is very roomy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OpinionistaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Neck, NY
Level 6 Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2011

Excellent front desk staff, efficient. Great breakfast. Quiet area, hotel close to Via Veneto and easy walk to Trevi Fountain or Spanish Steps.
Stayed in Room 301. Not large as a "junior suite" but good layout, furniture and very comfortable bed. Lots of storage space. Had a terrace with umbrella table and chairs. Never used it. AC was fine. Internet is DSL, not fast; no wifi. Bathroom awkward but with good amenities. Heated towel rack.

Overall, highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunnyshel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2011

MY wife and I together with my brother and Sister in law stayed there for a couple of days and we had a very nice comfortable room. The staff was very friendly and helpful in all our requests and needs.
We needed to ship some luggage to another hotel in Milan and they were very helpful in putting the shipment of the luggage together for us.
The hotel is decorated very nice and its always clean. Breakfast was great in quality and quantity. Location was very good, close to many attractions and shopping
We will definitely look to stay there again in future trips. We had a great time there
Rafael

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RafainLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

We were at La Residenza for five nights and only wish it could have been more. The location was great for us; short walks to the Metro, Spanish Steps, Trevi, Borghese and much of central Rome. La Residenza is a hidden gem just one block off the Via Veneto where there are BIG ticket hotels. The hotel definitely has a 1940s elegance vibe. However, that should not be interpreted as code for shabby. We found everything to be in excellent condition and clean. We had the Junior Suite on the 5th floor. It provided a living room, bedroom, bath and a huge private balcony. The breakfasts were fantastic with fresh fruits, cheese, meats, and even eggs and bacon if you liked. All of the staff were attentive and very helpful. In particular, we interacted with Vicente, Catlin and Emmanuel (the manager) everyday. Vicente always had a smile for us when we dragged in at 10pm after a long day of walking and sightseeing. He would ask us about our day and our plans for the next and make perfect suggestions for itineraries and restaurants. No matter how wonderful a facility may be, it truly is the staff who make you want to come back again and again!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LCLandry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haymarket, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 20 May 2011

Friendly helpful staff, clean and comfortable room, great location, near Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain. Comfortable bed. Great breakfast

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rkuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2011

Having trawled internet sites and reviews for hotels we finally settled on La Residenza - and what a find. This hotel must be the best kept secret in Rome and is an oasis of calm in a very busy city. The location is superb - just off the busy Via Veneto and in walking distance to the Villa Borghese, Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain and Spagna or Barberini metro stops, but in a lovely quiet road. From the moment we stepped into reception to the moment we left we were treated with five star service. The rooms were extremely spacious and the breakfast was outstanding as was the service. We cannot thank Vincenzo, Antonello and Andrea enough for making our stay special. Thank you - we will return.

Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank taandrah4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Colonna
Albergo Ottocento
Albergo Ottocento
#264 of 1,258 in Rome
609 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Ludovisi Palace
Hotel Ludovisi Palace
#348 of 1,258 in Rome
604 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Ambasciatori Palace Hotel
Ambasciatori Palace Hotel
#289 of 1,258 in Rome
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#164 of 1,258 in Rome
1,299 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Imperiale
Hotel Imperiale
#265 of 1,258 in Rome
955 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#176 of 1,258 in Rome
1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Residenza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Residenza

Property: La Residenza
Address: Via Emilia 22-24, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#171 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#174 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#185 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — La Residenza 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Residenza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residenza Hotel Rome
La Residenza Rome
Residenza Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing