We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty typical hotel, good breakfast selection”
Review of La Residenza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Residenza
Ranked #320 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Naples, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Pretty typical hotel, good breakfast selection”
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We stayed here on a recent trip to Rome for one night. Near the Villa Borghese park, this part of town was quiet and pretty upscale. The hotel looks fairly recently updated on the ground floor but the rooms look a bit warn. Our double room on the third floor had the most massive bed! I think it was two doubles pushed together and is likely what you get if you ask for a triple (because I'm fairly certain that the couch pulls out). It was mostly full of middle-aged Americans when we were there.

The breakfast had a large selection and two waiters. It's included in the cost of the room. I don't have any serious qualms with the place except that it's pretty expensive for what you get. For 220 per night (Euro), I would expect something a bit fancier, but Rome is a pretty expensive city and this is pretty par for the course I'd imagine. Like most other hotels in Europe, the bed is hard and the elevator tiny. Via Emilia doesn't show up on many of the big city maps, so it might be hard to find.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LynnieLou619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    144
    45
    13
    14
See reviews for
116
199
19
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

I wish I had done this sooner, but we loved our stay at La Residenza. It was centrally located, but 1 block off the main drag, so very quiet. It felt more like one's own home (or castle!). Great service...just a really lucky choice and certainly enhanced our stay in Rome.

Room Tip: We were in 206...old wooden shutters opened out over the front courtyard. Very quaint.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heavens2betsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We actually had a lovely experience at this hotel. Our room was spacious and we had a private patio with a table. The bathroom shower was terrific. The toilet was a bit cramped the way it was situated, but that's Europe! The staff were very helpful. And we enjoyed the breakfast, however I must agree with other reviews that the tables were a bit cramped. But the on the griddle they will make you whatever eggs you like, and we found the breakfast to be above good.

Room Tip: Ask for a patio if you want to have some hors d'oeuvres
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cheeni924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

My husband and I had such fond memories of La Residenza from our first trip to Rome in the mid-90's. We particularly remembered a large and pleasant breakfast room with an amazing assortment of hot and cold delights. We also remembered gracious staff and special levels of attention paid to the smallest detail. So when our plans called for another visit to Rome we decided to go back. The fact that it was in the top 100 of over 1200 hotels in Rome also made us feel pretty good. We stayed in three star hotels in Naples and Amafi and had wonderful experiences in both so in learning that the hotel now had a fourth star, we thought that we would enjoy the extra pampering and luxury that a four star would bring.

What a mistake! After our experience, one has to wonder how often the "star checkers" revisit once an additional star is earned. On the plus side, our room, even though it faced the front, was quiet and the extra wooden shutters helped to keep out the morning sun.

What shall we say about the desk staff? While one of the individuals with whom we interacted were helpful and pleasant, that was not the norm. We would characterize their attitudes as ranging from pompous and annoying to downright rude. From no one helping us bring our luggage up the flight of stairs at their entrance, to questions being answered with a sneer and condescension, this part of the hotel was the worst 4 star experience we had ever had. We don't blame the hotel for having a "lap dance" establishment nearby. You can't control who will be your neighbors but you can most certainly control what happens inside your place.

The breakfast experience had also changed greatly since our last trip and not for the better. The room is now much smaller than it used to be since they moved in a large griddle into the room (it used to be out of sight in another room). As a result, the seating is so tight and the tables so close together that guests need to get up from their chair and move out of the way to allow others guests to get to the tables that are in the next row back.

On this trip, Rome was our last stop so we were fresh from being treated wonderfully in Naples and Amalfi. Certainly, the first thing that happened when we entered a dining room was that we were greeted and asked what our hot beverage of choice was. Here, you were lucky if you got the attention of one of the serving people, who were so busy talking to each other (in very loud voices) that it was rare that they ever looked at their guests to see if anyone needed anything.

The food itself was a shadow of our memories. How can a four star Italian hotel have inedible mozzarella and tomatoes? The eggplant and other "griddle" items were so badly done and so tasteless that it was almost laughable. The eggs we requested were OK but the rest of the food was so awful that I was tempted to skip the breakfast (I can't remember the last time THAT happened.) On the plus side, the bread was good (as long as you toasted it) and they did have a nice array of cereals and juices.

The rooms look like they are in a bad 70's time warp with broken tiles in the bathroom and one of the worst shower heads we had ever had in a hotel at this price point. Luckily we were able to use the secondary smaller shower head which provided decent pressure but the bathtub was so narrow, you could barely get under that shower head.

They even had a price list for the tea fixings in the room. There was no wi-fi connection - just a cable which functioned poorly or not at all. I have never had an internet connection through a cable that only provided one bar of strength. Although we complained a number of times, the front desk shrugged it off and said it wasn't their fault, it was outside the hotel. Don't believe that for a minute.

The room was so poorly lit that even the bedside lamps were really more dims than lights. We feel badly for anyone who tried to read a real book with that little light. I-Pad users would not be affected. There were few if any electrical outlets and those that existed were poorly placed for using your computer at the desk.

All in all, we were very disappointed and after reading some of the more recent reviews I have to wonder if we were staying at the same hotel? Unfortunately, we did.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 15 September 2011

My 12-year old daughter and I stayed here with my parents (who have stayed at this hotel for many years) in April 2011. I t was a great location within walking distance and/or cab rides to many places. The front desk staff was superb and very tolerant of our attempts at speaking Italian (they do speak impeccable English). One suggestion -- ask for a room at the back of the property. The front of the hotel does overlook a night club that can be noisy at night. They were very gracious about moving us as soon as we mentioned it. Excellent breakfast as well! We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for quiet room on the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cbraeder60305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Laurel, NJ
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

My wife and I spent one night at this hotel after a Mediterranean cruise. Without knowing the city of Rome well, we were searching for something safe and in a central location. This hotel met both of our goals, and had a few extra very nice perks.

Location: La Residenza is located in a beautiful, upscale neighborhood. Very safe. It is a 5-10 minute walk to both the Trevi fountain and the Spanish Steps. The Colosseum felt like it was a little more than a mile, 20-25 minute walk with traffic. The Train Station was about a 20 minute walk. Manageable with light baggage, but difficult for us with heavy suitcases. The cab drivers wanted 25 Euros, which we declined as we felt it was overpriced. All in all, if you don't mind a little walking, everything we wanted to see was within walking distance.

Staff: Friendly and helpful. They provided us with a wonderful little map of the area upon check-in. In addition, they helped secure a taxi ride to the airport that morning, which was 45 Euros. 55 Euros if you wanted a private car.

Extra Perks: Here is where the hotel really shined, in our opinion. At 6:30pm they invited all of their guests "for a drink", which was actually finger foods with beverage service from the bar. No charge. Very nice setup.

The wifi was free. As any traveler knows, this is very handy.

The breakfast buffet was absolutely out of this world. Better than the cruise buffet for sure. Beautiful setup, wide display of foods.

Fruit and water were also provided to us free of charge in the hotel room.

Rooms: The rooms were fine. As an American, we're used to large, upscale rooms. By European standards this was a large room, but by American standards it felt just normal. Clean, wouldn't describe as "modern" but was just fine for one day. The decor in the rest of the hotel was nicer.

Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel for the right price.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MonkeyMan002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stone Ridge, NY
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 2 September 2011

We stayed at La Residenza the second week of August, 2011. There were three adults in our party. We could not have been happier with the hotel. The entire staff was cordial, extremely helpful, and totally professional. Dinner recommendations perfectly matched our needs and desires. Our room was exceptionally large (we had a triple) and nicely decorated; the beds were very comfortable; the bath was very large by anyone's standard. The hotel is in a marvelous section of Rome and is close to many of the major sights. We recommend the hotel without hesitation or qualification, and plan to stay there on our next trip to Rome.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rome1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Colonna
Albergo Ottocento
Albergo Ottocento
#239 of 1,261 in Rome
615 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#166 of 1,261 in Rome
1,313 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Ambasciatori Palace Hotel
Ambasciatori Palace Hotel
#262 of 1,261 in Rome
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Imperiale
Hotel Imperiale
#245 of 1,261 in Rome
978 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Degli Artisti
Hotel Degli Artisti
#34 of 1,261 in Rome
168 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Ludovisi Palace
Hotel Ludovisi Palace
#336 of 1,261 in Rome
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Residenza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Residenza

Property: La Residenza
Address: Via Emilia 22-24, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#173 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#174 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#185 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — La Residenza 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your La Residenza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residenza Hotel Rome
La Residenza Rome
Residenza Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing