We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location but bad air conditioning”
Review of La Residenza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Residenza
Ranked #302 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for three days. It is a good location in Rome. Close to the mass transit and American Embassy. The hotel is clean and staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and have fridges and are clean and bathrooms are nice. There is one issue I had is the air conditioning never kept the room cool even closing the curtains and the door. They have also have electric shutters which you can close also. The breakfast is very good and the staff is very attentive. There is also a rooftop terrace where you you can eat or drink in the evening. The neighborhood is quiet but there is a dance club across the street which is open late but not noisy. I don't believe I would stay there again at least during the summer. As a last point the internet did not work well but was told it was under repair.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank drwsurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (474)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 474 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed for 5 nights in May, 2014, and thoroughly enjoyed the Hotel. Booked online with no problems, and chose a Jnr Suite with balcony. Large room, (huge for Europe) perhaps a little dark, and bathroom needs a little updating, but did not detract from our stay, as the Hotel is an old building. Breakfast was included in our rate, and was excellent. Specialty eggs could be cooked, and the hot chocolates and coffee made to order. A good start for the day! Desk staff were excellent in booking Vatican tour, with pick-up from the hotel included. Also general knowledge of Rome, conveyed in good English a great help.The restaurant around the corner as recommended, was also excellent, and good value for money. A pleasant surprise! Hotel in good location to attractions, and of course, if you walk Rome, and get a little "lost", you can find some real gems of places to see. Great stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 66Bubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Based on the other reviews, I had expected more at this hotel.
Cons: The staff could have been friendlier. The vegetarian options at breakfast were very slim.... It was pretty much a continental stuff for us since everything else was with meat. The toilet didn't flush all the time but if we kept trying and trying, it worked. There were city taxes that we had to pay in cash at checkout which we weren't aware of.
Pros: The rooms were large enough and we were very pleased with the size of the room as well as the location. Nice restaurants close by and good location.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank visitor70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This hotel exceeded our expectations, the staff spoke English and were very helpful. The receptionist / manager was very helpful when one of our tours was cancelled. The location is very central for all the main attractions of Rome. Our room was spacious and airy very comfortable for sleeping. Breakfast was generous and varied. Overall a thoroughly stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeggyClonlara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed here whilst in Rome last October and are hoping to return again this year. Lovely hotel, friendly, helpful staff and beautiful breakfasts included in the price. Also very close to all the sights of Rome. Wonderful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmmScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This is the second time I have stayed at La Residenza and have thoroughly enjoyed both visits. The hotel is neat and clean with comfortable beds. The breakfasts were included in our rate and the food was very good with a variety of choices. The front desk staff are friendly and helpful and know the city well offering good tips on how to avoid the long lines. The hotel also has a full service bar and we used it one night to have some wine in the comfortable lobby while planning our evening events. The hotel is in a good location within walking distance to Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps, and Bourghese Gardins. There are also a number of good restaurants close by on Via Vittorio Veneto. It is also close to the Barbareni station so you can take the subway to the Coloseum and Vatican. According to the manager, the hotel started as a private residence around 1914 and became a hotel around 1936, The decor is old world charming. The only drawback which is not their fault is that there are a couple of clubs on the same street and the patrons can become a bit loud at closing time if your room faces the street and you have the window open. A/C is not usually turned on until mid-May. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Loved our recent stay at La Residenza in Rome.

Location; Important when you go to Rome. 20 min walk to landmarks like the Colosseum, Forum, Pantheon, and the main Termini Train Station. 10 min walk to Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps, and Bourgese Gardens/Museum. It's a much farther walk (30-40 mins) to the Vatican, but it's 5 mins to the nearest metro/subway stop. For 1.50 Euro, the metro takes you outside the Vatican.

Hotel: Huge, lobby including several off-shoot rooms each with comfy sofas and chairs to entertain or chat at the end of the day. Large reception desk for checkin/checkout.

Staff: Friendly, helpful, and English-speaking of course.

Room: We paid a little extra to get a Jr Suite and we were not disappointed. We may have been given a full suite instead. Either way, the room was huge. Many Jr and Full suites have balconies (ours did). Internet is free in the lobby, but in the room, you need to pay a fee to get a router in the room. It's a one-time fee for your stay, not a daily fee. With the router, internet worked great. Jr/Full suites all have large modern bathrooms, with plenty of amenities: soaps, shampoos, hair dryer, robes, etc.

Breakfast: Best breakfast I've ever seen! Largest of any I've been to, the most options, and the entire display is jaw-dropping. The main breakfast room is off the lobby down a few steps into a large room. As you head down the stairs, you see this amazing canopy'd table of cold and hot foods, juices, fruits, pastries. As you walk in, you see a huge grill where they cook up all kinds of hot foods and keep the coffee warm. The whole setup is stunning.

Nice Touch: The room key is attached to a very heavy brass key ring. But it's okay, because they prefer that you leave the heavy key with them when you leave for the day. That's how they know you're out and have the maids tidy up the room. When we'd go out for the evenings, we'd come back to find the beds turned down with chocolates on the pillows. First class.

Only negative is that it's on a small sidestreet. Not on a main drag, but easy enough to find if you map it out ahead of time. Because it's not immediately near any of the main landmarks, don't expect views of the famous landmarks. But the hotel itself is top-notch.

We loved it and we'll definitely stay here again if/when we return.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a Jr Suite ... not much more expensive, and you'll appreciate the size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SD-Traveler09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Imperiale
Hotel Imperiale
#231 of 1,271 in Rome
1,013 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Ambasciatori Palace Hotel
Ambasciatori Palace Hotel
#271 of 1,271 in Rome
961 reviews
Colonna
Albergo Ottocento
Albergo Ottocento
#267 of 1,271 in Rome
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#170 of 1,271 in Rome
1,373 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
#132 of 1,271 in Rome
967 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#17 of 1,271 in Rome
3,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Residenza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Residenza

Address: Via Emilia 22-24, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#165 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#174 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#185 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £81 - £283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Residenza 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Residenza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residenza Hotel Rome
La Residenza Rome
Residenza Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing