We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Some good, some bad. No ugly.”
Review of La Residenza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Residenza
Ranked #308 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Some good, some bad. No ugly.”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Overall, very average. The location is good. The staff was mediocre. They could have been much warmer and more helpful. The breakfast was wonderful and tasty. The rooms were overpriced and the air conditioning needs to be upgraded.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    140
    45
    13
    13
See reviews for
114
194
19
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cocoa Beach,Florida
Level Contributor
400 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for three days. It is a good location in Rome. Close to the mass transit and American Embassy. The hotel is clean and staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and have fridges and are clean and bathrooms are nice. There is one issue I had is the air conditioning never kept the room cool even closing the curtains and the door. They have also have electric shutters which you can close also. The breakfast is very good and the staff is very attentive. There is also a rooftop terrace where you you can eat or drink in the evening. The neighborhood is quiet but there is a dance club across the street which is open late but not noisy. I don't believe I would stay there again at least during the summer. As a last point the internet did not work well but was told it was under repair.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank drwsurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed for 5 nights in May, 2014, and thoroughly enjoyed the Hotel. Booked online with no problems, and chose a Jnr Suite with balcony. Large room, (huge for Europe) perhaps a little dark, and bathroom needs a little updating, but did not detract from our stay, as the Hotel is an old building. Breakfast was included in our rate, and was excellent. Specialty eggs could be cooked, and the hot chocolates and coffee made to order. A good start for the day! Desk staff were excellent in booking Vatican tour, with pick-up from the hotel included. Also general knowledge of Rome, conveyed in good English a great help.The restaurant around the corner as recommended, was also excellent, and good value for money. A pleasant surprise! Hotel in good location to attractions, and of course, if you walk Rome, and get a little "lost", you can find some real gems of places to see. Great stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 66Bubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
visitor70
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Based on the other reviews, I had expected more at this hotel.
Cons: The staff could have been friendlier. The vegetarian options at breakfast were very slim.... It was pretty much a continental stuff for us since everything else was with meat. The toilet didn't flush all the time but if we kept trying and trying, it worked. There were city taxes that we had to pay in cash at checkout which we weren't aware of.
Pros: The rooms were large enough and we were very pleased with the size of the room as well as the location. Nice restaurants close by and good location.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank visitor70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This hotel exceeded our expectations, the staff spoke English and were very helpful. The receptionist / manager was very helpful when one of our tours was cancelled. The location is very central for all the main attractions of Rome. Our room was spacious and airy very comfortable for sleeping. Breakfast was generous and varied. Overall a thoroughly stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeggyClonlara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed here whilst in Rome last October and are hoping to return again this year. Lovely hotel, friendly, helpful staff and beautiful breakfasts included in the price. Also very close to all the sights of Rome. Wonderful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kernersville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
101 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This is the second time I have stayed at La Residenza and have thoroughly enjoyed both visits. The hotel is neat and clean with comfortable beds. The breakfasts were included in our rate and the food was very good with a variety of choices. The front desk staff are friendly and helpful and know the city well offering good tips on how to avoid the long lines. The hotel also has a full service bar and we used it one night to have some wine in the comfortable lobby while planning our evening events. The hotel is in a good location within walking distance to Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps, and Bourghese Gardins. There are also a number of good restaurants close by on Via Vittorio Veneto. It is also close to the Barbareni station so you can take the subway to the Coloseum and Vatican. According to the manager, the hotel started as a private residence around 1914 and became a hotel around 1936, The decor is old world charming. The only drawback which is not their fault is that there are a couple of clubs on the same street and the patrons can become a bit loud at closing time if your room faces the street and you have the window open. A/C is not usually turned on until mid-May. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Ludovisi Palace
Hotel Ludovisi Palace
#359 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Residenza A
Residenza A
#481 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Colonna
Albergo Ottocento
Albergo Ottocento
#247 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#179 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Berg Luxury Hotel
Berg Luxury Hotel
#272 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Ambasciatori Palace Hotel
Ambasciatori Palace Hotel
#276 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Residenza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Residenza

Property: La Residenza
Address: Via Emilia 22-24, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#167 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#174 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#185 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — La Residenza 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Residenza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residenza Hotel Rome
La Residenza Rome
Residenza Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing