We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best breakfast in Rome!”
Review of La Residenza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Residenza
Ranked #318 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
South East London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best breakfast in Rome!”
Reviewed 21 February 2009

We liked the Via Veneto area as it was just out of the centre of Rome, but only a 10-15 minute walk to Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, Via del Corso etc and Via Veneto also has buses (including tour buses such as the 110) running along it and Barberini tube station is very close too.

The hotel itself was small and comfortable. Our request for a quiet, twin room was met. The hotel was spotlessly clean, with huge self-service breakfasts - cake, pastries, cooked breakfast, yoghurt, cheese etc. etc. as much as you want. We went to the 'cocktail' party on Tuesday evening free for guests, but really it was a glass of wine with canapes but it was nice all the same to meet other guests. There was always plenty of hot water, clean towels. Sky News and BBC News 24 and CNN on TV. Our room at the back was very quiet. We booked on Booking.com and it cost us only 417 euros for 4 nights band b which we thought very good but for that you do get one of the smaller rooms.

In the area however, there are very few restaurants other than Hard Rock cafe in Via Veneto. Don't go to La Pizzeria la Scala as the pizzas are small and you will get ripped off! Best restaurant for lunch is in central Rome - Enoteca Corsi but it doesn't do evening meal. Best day out is the Vatican museums and St. Peter's Basilica. Villa Borghese looked beautiful but I think you have to book. We also enjoyed travelling round on the tourist buses 110 which were frequent and you could hop on and hop off. It was very cold during our visit so we also got on for a bit if we were cold!

Tip - if there is a queue for the Colosseum ticket booths, (which there is all the time!) walk along a bit to the Roman Forum ticket booth, where there is less of a queue, and get a joint forum and colosseum ticket and then go back to the Colosseum where you can then go straight in!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fernandaolivier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    141
    45
    13
    14
See reviews for
115
196
19
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson AZ
Level Contributor
229 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2008

This was our second visit to La Residenza; could not have been better! We arrived early from the US and were pretty jetlagged. Our room was ready by 10:30 a.m. which enabled us to unpack and unwind AND still go out and see some of the sights in Roma! Hotel rooms are wonderful -- large, airy and very well equipped. Internet access provided; incredible reception for guests the night we arrived. Location is superb -- close enough to Barberini and the Via Veneto for public transportation, yet far enough away to be quiet at night. Always feel very safe there. We definitely consider this "our" hotel in Roma, and we thank them very much for a wonderful stay!

  • Liked — Room size; guest reception; location
  • Disliked — There was nothing to not like!
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank HappytrailsTucsonAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 November 2008

Nice location. Walk to all major attractions. We did not take a cab anywhere. If you are ambitious you can take a nice 30 minute walk to St. Peter's from this hotel. Great breakfast. Clean and tidy rooms. Friendly and helpful staff. There are two gentlemen clubs on the same street but they are very discrete and low-key. They are only open late at night with no noticeable noise or patrons outside of the clubs.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ProfSlim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2008

My husband and I, together with another couple, booked this hotel for a 3 night break. Our friends had stayed at a Gianetti hotel elsewhere in Italy and said it was definately worth a try. We were not disappointed. It is absolutely spotless, located near the centre, but on a quiet sidestreet (the lap dance club opposite is hardly worth a mention, you wouldn't know it was there). The staff coudn't do enough for us. We stayed in room 101 and our friends in room 107, both were absolutely fine, really spacious (room 101 slightly larger). We had complimentary robes and slippers. The breakfast is to die for, hot cooked, fresh fruit, pastries (beautiful patisserie cakes), cereals, cheeses, cold meats, toast, and as much as you like, buffet style. Just a couple of things to note, the tea/coffee in your room is not complimentary, so beware. Also your mini bar stock is half the price of drinks in the hotel bar, which by the way closes at 10.30 pm . Rome is very expensive, take lots of spending money. 3 ice cream cones (fancy ones at that) cost us 35 euros (Gelateri at the bottom of the Spanish Steps).

  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mugsy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Easton, CT
Level Contributor
71 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2008

We stayed here two years ago and it's simply just as wonderful as last time. The breakfast has a wonderful selection of Italian pastries, fresh fruit, eggs cooked to order, cereals, etc....By hotel standards, you'd pay more than $15 a piece for a breakfast in the same Via Veneto area. Our room was charming! Heated towel racks, beds turned down at night with slippers by the bedside are just a few nice touches. We stayed in room 204, with a great verrandah with table on patio, couch, armchair and great sided bedroom. The bathrooms are large for Italian standards. The common rooms offer leather furniture, orientals on wood floors and frescos on the ceilings. Could they update the furnishings in bedrooms? Possibly, but the charm of the older furniture is perfect for the area. I can stay in modern hotels in any city. If you are looking for a "boutique" hotel, in a great neighborhood--look no further--this is it!

  • Liked — staff and location
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clrohr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2008

We booked this hotel for our honeymoon after reading great reviews about it. The rooms are clean but the decor and bathroom fixtures are definitely outdated, compared to other hotels we stayed at subsequently.

On our first night, we asked the front desk for a restaurant recommendation and were told about a place in the neighborhood called Marcello's, which turned out to be the absolute worst, I mean WORST Italian food we've ever had. It's worse than your average Pasta Pomodoro in the States. Worse than the stuff that comes in jars sold at Costco. Just really bad food. The pasta was uncooked, not "al dente" or just a little chewy, but uncooked meaning when you chew on it you can taste the bits of flour as if you are eating raw pasta. Suffice to say, we did not enjoy our meal at all and would recommend future guests to not ask the staff at La Residenza for any restaurant recommendation.

On the other hand, the breakfast provided by the hotel is pretty good. There's a diverse selection to choose from; it's the one good thing we can count on from the hotel. Also the neighborhood around Via Veneto is pretty nice.

Overall I'd say it's been a fairly average experience. I'll definitely try other places next time in Rome.

  • Stayed October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank psiworks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Ontario
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2008

We just returned from a 2 week holiday in Italy. Our last stop was Rome and we stayed at La Residenza. There are four of us. My husband, myself and two teenage boys. This hotel offered accomodation for four which made me more comfortable having the boys in the same room as us. BIG MISTAKE! They have rooms for four, but the one we got, room 501 was at best a 2 star. This room was obviously as add on being at the top floor (no elevator access to it) and the ceilings were not even regular height. It felt like we were in a trailer. I was so dissappointed. One room had two twin beds which was ok but the other room and two wicker day beds with blankets on them that I wouldn't keep in the trunk of my car. The room had a really bad musty smell and the towels were grey and felt like sand paper. It was like this room was not a part of this hotel. When I went down to complain they were not accomodating at all. It was very frustrating. They showed me a couple of other rooms that weren't available until the next night so I knew this room was not their standard which made it more frustrating. This room should not be available to anyone. The next night when we swithched room, there was no musty smell, the towels were white and soft and the bedspreads were clean and not camping blankets. We had to pay more and they weren't too accomodating. We had to basically argue with them to switch rooms. If you are booking for four, it's woth calling ahead to make sure it's not room 501. .

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank lateagain2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Colonna
Albergo Ottocento
Albergo Ottocento
#247 of 1,257 in Rome
607 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Ludovisi Palace
Hotel Ludovisi Palace
#352 of 1,257 in Rome
599 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Ambasciatori Palace Hotel
Ambasciatori Palace Hotel
#298 of 1,257 in Rome
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#171 of 1,257 in Rome
1,276 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Berg Luxury Hotel
Berg Luxury Hotel
#293 of 1,257 in Rome
586 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Imperiale
Hotel Imperiale
#260 of 1,257 in Rome
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Residenza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Residenza

Property: La Residenza
Address: Via Emilia 22-24, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#172 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#174 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#185 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — La Residenza 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Residenza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residenza Hotel Rome
La Residenza Rome
Residenza Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing