We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendliness and cleanliness mark week's stay at Hotel Oxford”
Review of Hotel Oxford

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Oxford
Ranked #345 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We spent the last week of September at the Hotel Oxford on our trip to Rome from the U.S. We did not pick the hotel at random. One of us had stayed there 40 years ago and another friend had stayed there on her honeymoon 20 years ago. The hotel is located just outside of Rome's historic zone and the main sites can all be walked to if you are an avid walker. We did our share, but counted on taxis much of the time. The hotel and rooms are small but very clean. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The manager and assistant insisted on a photo with us as we were leaving. The hotel bar has happy hour each evening with hors d'oeuvres. A morning breakfast is served that combines American and European tastes. Our room, though small, was kept meticulously clean by the service staff. We were given a gift as we checked out. This hotel comes highly recommended by our group.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RogueDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,195)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Oxford
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

516 - 522 of 1,195 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2013

My husband and I were returning to Rome with friends, who were first time visitors. We knew to book a hotel away from the crowds, but still accessible to attractions and local venues - Hotel Oxford fit the bill. The location was quiet yet still had locals moving about their daily routines. Our room was on the second floor over the hotel entrance, a bit small but comfortable. Our friend's room was in the back and larger and quieter even (they overslept one morning!).

The morning staff in the breakfast room are attentive and the variety of food outstanding - something for everyone. If you don't know how to operate something, just ask! We did not eat lunch or dinner at the hotel (there are too many establishments around to taste the heart of italian food), but we did return each night to the bar for a nightcap, and Carlo took great care of us. He made sure we had cookies with our drinks, and he looked up sports scores for my husband online. One night the evening was lovely so we had our nightcap outside, and Carlo made sure we had everything we needed and made great conversation.

We walked everywhere (and I mean everywhere we went), but there is bus and subway nearby. The embassies are also nearby, so there are good restaurants. If you are going to be in Rome for more than one day, make sure you invest in a touring book that has information by neighborhoods - we used this exclusively for our travels around the great city. Molto buona. Ciao!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dandeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

My husband and I spent four nights in the Hotel Oxford, booked with BA.
When we booked, we requested early check in and late check out. I was disappointed when we arrived at midday to find that we could not check in until 13:30 - however this was not the fault of the hotel, BA should have confirmed this with us. The hotel could give us a late check out on our last day, which was great.
Whilst our room was small, there was enough room to move around and put our items away. The room and bathroom were very clean and the bed was very comfortable.
Breakfast in the hotel was good - a range of cereals, pastries, fruit, juices and also eggs and bacon. It was served between 7 and 10am.
The location of the hotel was good. It was close to the Spamish Steps, the Trevi and the Barberini metro station. Whilst it may have been a bit far out for some, the price of the hotel reflected this. If you want to stay closer to the centre, you will pay more for this! We walked back from Vatican City one day and whilst it took a long time, there is so much to see and appreciate in Rome!
The hotel also has a restaurant/snack bar/bar. The selection of food is quite limited, with salads, sandwiches, pizza and a daily special available. We ate in the restaurant twice as we were too tired to walk back into the centre and what we ate was tasty and fairly priced. There are also a few local restaurants to choose from.
We only had one problem when there. The radiator had a small leak and left a wet patch on my coat. To the hotels credit, the leak was fixed and my coat cleaned!
The staff were very friendly - we always had a "buon giorno" or "buona sera".
All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and great value for money! Rome is a beautiful city and the Hotel Oxford is a great place to go back to after busy days!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Great hotel, quiet room and modern, clean bathroom. Bed was very comfortable and the Spanish steps were only 20 mins walk away. Staff offered a polite and friendly service .Great Breakfasts. Reception direct you to all the site and the Hotel is very close to the lovely Borghese Park.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 101Martin101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOxford, Responsabile reception at Hotel Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Dear Sir,

thank you for your nice words!
We hope to see you soon,
best regards

Stefano Vergari
Head Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

We had a short break in Rome and feel lucky we found this hotel could not fault in anyway nice and clean friendly staff and great service excellent breakfast.We definitely recommend anyone to stay at Oxford hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOxford, Responsabile reception at Hotel Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Dear Guest,

we are happy that you have enjoyed your short break in Rome at The Hotel Oxford.
We hope to see you soon for a longer stay.
Ciao da Roma

Stefano Vergari
Head Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stayed at Hotel Oxford for 6 nights at the end of August, booking a superior double for my husband and I and a standard twin for our 2 teenage daughters. Both rooms were spacious enough but could do with a bit of a refurb, much like the rest of the hotel. There were no ceiling lights in our room which, together with the drab paint on the walls and dull wall lights, made the room rather dark and so reading was almost impossible. Air con. was very welcome in the heat of summer and the wifi worked well and was free - a godsend these days if you have children! There was a mini-bar in both rooms and free slippers are provided for weary feet! If you only speak English, then trying to watch the tv is a waste of time!

We found the hotel very clean, rooms were made up daily and most of the staff were very friendly, particularly in the bar. Breakfast is very good, with a wide selection to choose from and you can eat as much as you like - fruit, cereals, yogurts, rolls, croissants, jams/marmalades, bacon, scrambled egg, toast (which you do yourself), cheeses, ham, fruit juices, sweet tarts - you won't go hungry!

The hotel is located slightly out of the city centre, but it is quiet at night. Depending how fast you're able to walk, it's about a 15-20 min walk to Termini. From there it's only 2 stops on the metro to the Colosseum and Roman Forum. There's a taxi rank at Piazza Fiume a short walk away (turn left out of the hotel) and Villa Borghese and the Spanish Steps are also within easy walking distance. There are plenty of restaurants to try (nice pizzeria just round the corner in Via Lucania) and a great gelateria in Via Collina called I Caruso - yum.

All in all, we enjoyed our stay at Hotel Oxford and would definitely stay here again if we were travelling to Rome.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yummymummy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stayed in one of the apartments away from the hotel itself. It was nicely equipped with a kitchenette which allowed us to prepare our own breakfast whenever we liked! It was located very close to several bus stops so it was easy to reach any place in Rome. The area is quiet and very safe and there are several nice restaurants within walking distance.
The only little problem was on our arrival... We had booked an apartment WITH kitchenette and were first given a room WITHOUT. After proving it did not fit our reservation we were given what we had booked!
But it was a little unpleasant to have to argue... Even if eventually we got what we wanted.
We stayed 5 nights and just loved Rome!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie45720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Gambrinus Hotel
#299 of 1,267 in Rome
1,372 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Clarion Collection Hotel Principessa Isabella
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Veneto Palace Hotel
Veneto Palace Hotel
#300 of 1,267 in Rome
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Bailey's Hotel
Bailey's Hotel
#367 of 1,267 in Rome
738 reviews
Monti
Domus Romana Hotel
Domus Romana Hotel
#341 of 1,267 in Rome
852 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Morgana
Hotel Morgana
#147 of 1,267 in Rome
1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oxford

Address: Via Boncompagni 89, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#189 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#230 Business Hotel in Rome
#274 Family Hotel in Rome
#294 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £61 - £368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Oxford 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in Rome's most exclusive area, Hotel Oxford is set just behind Via Veneto and the Spanish Steps. Guest rooms feature elegant furnishings and wood or carpeted floors. Experience the real Dolce Vita in this elegant setting. The rooms come with air conditioning and a private bathroom, and some have a balcony. Apartments are also available, and are located in separate buildings in nearby Via Piave or Via Flavia. At the Oxford Hotel you have free internet Wi-Fi connection! . This family-run hotel features a snack bar and a meeting room with a capacity of 30 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Oxford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Oxford Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing