We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mid Week break in Rome” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Oxford

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Oxford
Ranked #340 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mid Week break in Rome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

We booked the Hotel Oxford via a BA package and found it to be good clean comfortable city centre hotel.

We walked to the hotel from the train station which took around 15 minutes, the hotel is easy to find. The reception desk were helpful on check in and provided a map for us and marked the main points on interest.

The rooms were comfortable and clean and included a mini bar.

Breakfast was mainly continetal but did include scambled egss and bacon. There was a good selction of cerals, breads and pastries. The Cofee was also very good.

We enjoyed our stay and the Hotel provided everything you need on a few days city break.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NDB1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    537
    224
    61
    30
See reviews for
254
514
45
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

Clean and tidy hotel, stayed Monday to Friday to visit Rome, Free internet very hit and miss, cleaning staff excellent could not do enough our room was large ,clean and tidy and ideal for us, 2 adults and a teenager . The services from the reception staff are very hit and miss it depend on who you got how friendly and helpful they were, no money changing facilty in the afternoon, and limited food in the evening, Bar staff friendly and alway smiling, Found a nice little pizza place round the corner that was reasonably priced, Not wheel chair friendly at all, very narrow corridors and very small lift. We have to say we enjoyed our stay but the hotel is more 3 star and the reception staff could be a little bit more customer focused,

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Holidaymoments
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bodmin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

My partner and I took a long weekend break in Rome and stayed at The Oxford. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left noting was too much of a problem for the staff. They suggested places to eat and to visit as well as the best times to go. They also looked after our valuables and arranged last minute transport to the airport when a demo took place.

The hotel itself is clean and comfortable. The bedrooms are neat and tidy and are serviced every day.

We only had breakfast so cannot comment on the evening meals but the prices were not expensive. The breakfast was essentially continental although there was scrambled eggs and bacon. Breakfast was served between 7 and 10 so no rush to get out of bed and was fresh and plentiful no matter what time it was eaten. The hotel is in an excellent location to walk to almost all of Rome's traditional attractions but is also near a taxi tank and bus stop for those who want take life a little easier.

Check out time is 12 o'clock so again no rush.

In essence a thoroughly enjoyable stay and would definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOxford, Responsabile reception at Hotel Oxford, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for writing a review of our Hotel.
Our intention is always to do our better to satisfy all the desires of our guest, so we are always at your disposal for your requests.
You can try our new American breakfast and our Bar with all the special dishes of the day and more.
Rome is a dream and we are proud to be part of your dream!
Thank you for choosing our Hotel and hoping to see you soon,
Kind regards

Stefano Vergari
Head Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parksville, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

I found an internet special for a "studio" and although the booking did indicate it was in the annex of the hotel, I did not anticipate that the room would be offsite - 2 blocks away in an apartment complex. The first studio, which was our actual reservation, was dark (one window looking into an alley), poorly furnished and had a tiny, tiny shower. So we viewed the second apartment (probably more suitable for a family as it had two bedrooms) and decided to pay double for this apartment. No services were provided (IE housekeeping) as it was considered an apartment. So I cannot comment on the rooms within the hotel itself but would discourage booking in the annex as it was very disappointing. We did make use of the bar at the hotel and the front desk staff all of whom were friendly. Location is good to walk, taxi or bus to the sights of Rome.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Troosha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOxford, Responsabile reception at Hotel Oxford, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for writing your review about The Hotel Oxford.
We are happy to explain that we have studied different accomodation for our guest all available with many infomations, photos and descriptions in our official website.
The studio Annex/apartment or dependance are located 200 metres from the main built and they are a special accomodation for the guests are looking for more privacy with cheaper price that the Hotel’s room
We specify very well in our official website, with many informations the difference between the studio Annex/apartment and the hotel’s room, but all the guests can always ask the support of the reception 24h with free telephone call.
Surely we suggest to book the Hotel if you prefer the services and comforts 4 stars, but The studio are a big opportunity for all the guests prefer more privacy, special prices with always 4 stars service! All the studio/apartments are equipped with airconditioning, TV lcd, free Wi-fi connection with new technology and with a small extra charge we can offer the daily clean of the apartment and our special American buffet breakfast
When you book our studio apartments you can always use our new Bar with the special dishes of the day and all the delicatessen!
Thank you for choosing our Hotel and hoping to see you again,
kind regards

Stefano Vergari
Head Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford
Level Contributor
104 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

This was our first visit to Rome, so we have nothing in town to compare this hotel to, and bookings were arranged through our (excellent) travel agent. Overall, we really enjoyed our two nights here. The staff were very friendly and helpful; they all spoke good English and everyone went out of their way to make us feel welcome. The room (230) was of a generous size, with separate dressing area; it was clean, comfortable and well-equipped. It had a small balcony which fronted on to the main road; double-glazed doors prevented much of the traffic noise from infiltrating the room. Breakfast was adequate, the bar was very pleasant and the 'nibbles' provided free with every drink were a welcome bonus! The free Wi-Fi was fast and reliable in the public areas of the hotel, but a bit hit-and-miss in our room.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Old_StagerStafford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOxford, Responsabile reception at Hotel Oxford, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear Guest,

we are happy to hearing your satisfaction for your first visit in Rome and we are proud to know that you have chosen our Hotel for this special event!
You can always see our official website for more informations regarding events in our Eternal City!
Thank you for spending your time to write a review for us.
Kind regards

Stefano Vergari
Head Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, OH
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

We spent the last week of September at the Hotel Oxford on our trip to Rome from the U.S. We did not pick the hotel at random. One of us had stayed there 40 years ago and another friend had stayed there on her honeymoon 20 years ago. The hotel is located just outside of Rome's historic zone and the main sites can all be walked to if you are an avid walker. We did our share, but counted on taxis much of the time. The hotel and rooms are small but very clean. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The manager and assistant insisted on a photo with us as we were leaving. The hotel bar has happy hour each evening with hors d'oeuvres. A morning breakfast is served that combines American and European tastes. Our room, though small, was kept meticulously clean by the service staff. We were given a gift as we checked out. This hotel comes highly recommended by our group.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RogueDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

My husband and I were returning to Rome with friends, who were first time visitors. We knew to book a hotel away from the crowds, but still accessible to attractions and local venues - Hotel Oxford fit the bill. The location was quiet yet still had locals moving about their daily routines. Our room was on the second floor over the hotel entrance, a bit small but comfortable. Our friend's room was in the back and larger and quieter even (they overslept one morning!).

The morning staff in the breakfast room are attentive and the variety of food outstanding - something for everyone. If you don't know how to operate something, just ask! We did not eat lunch or dinner at the hotel (there are too many establishments around to taste the heart of italian food), but we did return each night to the bar for a nightcap, and Carlo took great care of us. He made sure we had cookies with our drinks, and he looked up sports scores for my husband online. One night the evening was lovely so we had our nightcap outside, and Carlo made sure we had everything we needed and made great conversation.

We walked everywhere (and I mean everywhere we went), but there is bus and subway nearby. The embassies are also nearby, so there are good restaurants. If you are going to be in Rome for more than one day, make sure you invest in a touring book that has information by neighborhoods - we used this exclusively for our travels around the great city. Molto buona. Ciao!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dandeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Gambrinus Hotel
#285 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Bailey's Hotel
Bailey's Hotel
#350 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Veneto Palace Hotel
Veneto Palace Hotel
#306 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Morgana
Hotel Morgana
#116 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,072 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Clarion Collection Hotel Principessa Isabella
Monti
Domus Romana Hotel
Domus Romana Hotel
#316 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oxford

Property: Hotel Oxford
Address: Via Boncompagni 89, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#183 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#230 Business Hotel in Rome
#274 Family Hotel in Rome
#294 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Oxford 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in Rome's most exclusive area, Hotel Oxford is set just behind Via Veneto and the Spanish Steps. Guest rooms feature elegant furnishings and wood or carpeted floors. Experience the real Dolce Vita in this elegant setting. The rooms come with air conditioning and a private bathroom, and some have a balcony. Apartments are also available, and are located in separate buildings in nearby Via Piave or Via Flavia. At the Oxford Hotel you have free internet Wi-Fi connection! . This family-run hotel features a snack bar and a meeting room with a capacity of 30 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Oxford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Oxford Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing