We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Star bar?”
Review of Hotel Oxford

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Oxford
Ranked #354 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Ah Rome...the Trevi Fountain, The Spanish Steps, The Colosseum..the cheap deal from British Airways!! Yes they got you dear reader, and they got myself and Lady P. Generally we had a tip top time but....as seems a constant in the reviews for the Oxford, this is not a 4 star hotel. If the Oxford/BA were to say it was a good, solid 3 star hotel there would be few complaints and, dare I say, many compliments. When guests arrive there their backs are immediately put up when they discover its only actually a 3 star establishment. This is unfortunate, as its actually not a bad little hotel, with friendly, helpful, English speaking staff from porters to reception, that will act as an excellent base to explore the ancient, and more modern delights of this wonderful city. Regardless of what some of the hotel feedback on here suggests, some of the rooms are a bit poky. There wasn't much room to swing a Gladiator in ours, and there was just a shower, no bath. Via Boncompagni is quite a busy street even late into the night, so the shutters on our rooms windows were very welcome. The small, wall mounted TV showed only one English Channel (CNN..zzzzzz) but if you are there to hit the town and see history in front of your nose, then such things will seem less important, than say if you were less able to get around. I know some reviews have said the hotel is a little tatty but I honestly didn't see that myself. We stayed B&B and the breakfast was plentiful and varied, although the 'full English cooked' part is slightly misleading, as that seemed to consist of one hot tray of luke warm, congealed scrambled egg the other of a solid mass of streaky bacon. Still you can make your own toast, a new experience for Lady P, and there are lots of cold choices. All in all more than adequate. The bar is pleasant, with drinks only being slightly more expensive than local bars, although food choice is limited. Buses can be picked up from the street to the sights and reception are happy to call a taxi for you from the rank at the end of the street. This tie up with the local taxi firm ensures that you don't get ripped off, though to be fair the taxi we hailed in the street late at night to return from a concert (The Answer since you ask, Ulsters finest rockers!!) was good value too. Although the tube station isn't quite as close as the hotel would have you believe it isn't far. Down to the American Embassy, right at the yawning Italian policeman wishing he'd asked for other duties rather than diplomatic protection, and you are nearly at Barberini tube station. If you fancy a walk then most city centre sights are within walking distance from the hotel by the reasonably fit (or even the ugly....) The Vatican is probably the only place that requires a tube/bus/taxi but remember the Pope does his thing on a Wednesday morning so access to the wonderful St Peters will be restricted to the afternoon. When the sad time came to leave we actually walked to the 'charming' Bronx circa 1974 Termini station, (take a knife....gun!) which takes you back to the airport. So in conclusion, the hotel is a 3 star establishment, which is easy to ignore with such great English speaking staff, super location in a truly wonderful city and I would certainly go back to both so....what are you waiting for?? BA are practically giving it away!! (Other Airlines are available, terms and conditions apply, is it me or does the guy with the beard on evening reception look like the baddie Drax from James Bonds Moonraker??) Ciao!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank CumbrianCowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

504 - 510 of 1,214 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2013

The hotel is situated in a good street near lots of posh embassies and walking distance of the Spanish Steps, good metro links, nice restaurants and the Termini. The hotel itself has very friendly and helpful staff, is clean and tidy and serves a great breakfast. Sadly, the hotel is pretty tatty looking. In comparison to other 4*s in the area the hotel Oxford really doesn't quite match the standard. But it's not offensive and for the deal we paid for, I wasn't too disappointed. The beds by my standards were very firm...and short! I'm only 5'8", not excessively tall, and my feet dangled off the edge. I'm here in December and its 10C +, a bit of a nip in the air but by no means cold. The heating is on high though and the room is a little stifling as the fan is not much use and the road is very noisy to open the window. With these factors in mind, it's not the most comfortable hotel in the world but certainly bearable. The wifi is good and free. We were able to Skype with no trouble and use email, Facebook and YouTube with no problem either. The bathroom is really clean and comes with soap shower gel, shower cap, very basic vanity set and a shoe shine. There is a tv, a safe and a mini fridge. We've only used the safe which was easy to use. There really is nothing offensive about the hotel but if you're looking for a 4* neat looking hotel, probably best to try elsewhere. Otherwise, it's functional and a good base for a short trip to Rome.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Corinne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

Not going to lie building is a little shabby and old fashioned but that aside the rooms are clean food is good and the staff are amazing , warm friendly knowledgeable and extremely helpful they definitely make it a worthwhile stay , only negative would be little out the way would have liked to be more central as I struggle to walk long distances, ok on way but way back is up hill , transport links are good and very easy to use . Was worried being here over Christmas alot would be shut , not at all lots of cafes shops busses and metro all running today it has been a very enjoyable trip beautiful city friendly people me and littlen have made a wish at the trevi fountain so we shall return one day :)

2  Thank breakskater
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We booked this place for a 3-night trip through BA. When you enter the hotel you realise that at some point in the past had its glorious days but these are now gone. The room was good sized but the holes on the walls gave the impressions that the hotel is abandoned or the manager does not even care. The staff was friendly and the breakfast buffet lovely. Overall this should be a 2-star hotel and not 4.
Oh, I almost forgot to mention theeir extra charges: when checking out the asked us to pay "council tax" which, as they claim, was not included in the price..!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gkullis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOxford, Responsabile reception at Hotel Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Dear Guest,

we are happy to confirm you that our Hotel is a 4 Stars with 50 years of glorious history.
Our staff is always proud to satisfy all the request of the guests and we thank you for confirming this with your review.
All the rooms have good sized and you can visit our official website to see the different tipology of the rooms : superior ( all refurbished) and standard ( high quality with all the comforts)
Our hotel is located in a historic palace of 1800 with all nice peculiarity of this historic years.
Regarding the extra charge we confirm that from 1st of January of 2011 our Goverment introduced the city tax for all the guests (as you can read in our official website), so we have to apply this tax.
Thank you for taking time to write about us and hoping to see you soon for another wonderful visit of the Eternal City with us.
kind regards

Stefano Vergari
Head Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Stay 4 Nights on a BA Package, excellent value for money. Is a good 3 Star average hotel only, small rooms, nice bathroom but good breakfast. Safe in Embassy area about 10 minutes walk from Via Veneto. Good if you are on a budget but decidedly average. Staff helpful & courteous.
Had dinner once in the bar bit better to eat out. Nice bar ok with nibbles in the evening. Does what it does well.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peccaviman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed at hotel for 3 nights. Ok hotel but def not 4 star,id say 2/3 tops. Very small rooms,bar area. The lift is tiny. Didn't feel the staff were as friendly as previous reviews state. Outside looks posh,inside was aged. They were competing building works when we went so were woken up 7am by them banging. Breakfast ok a lot to chose but nothing special. Quite near hot spots but def need map obv! An ok hotel but wouldn't recommend.

rome is amazing and I def recommend seeing the sites.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SunSeaAndCocktails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Just got back from three nights at The Oxford Hotel. It was a BA package, to celebrate our Silver Wedding Anniversary.
It did not disappoint, was excellent value for money. When we arrived check in was easy, and were shown to our room. It was good, but had a shower and we prefer a bath after a long day seeing the amazing sights that Rome has to offer. We were straightaway given another room, it was bigger and had a lovely big bath. The room was spotlessly clean as was the bathroom. It was very cosy and nice to come back to after sightseeing. The staff were all so friendly and helpful, especially the bar staff. they cooked a different pasta each day, which we had once and enjoyed. But Rome has so many nice restaurants that it's fun to eat out. Breakfast was included in our package and was really good. All the usual cold meats, cheeses , cereals, etc. plus scrambled eggs and bacon. All very plentiful to set you up for the day ! Not too far to the Spanish steps and Trevi Fountain, plenty of tour buses etc to go to the Colosseum and Forum. We walked a lot, and enjoyed it. Good tip ! If you are over 65 then take your passports with you and you will get free admission to all the sights. We saved a fortune doing this !
To sum up, a very enjoyable stay, would recommend and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Petey044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Gambrinus Hotel
#315 of 1,271 in Rome
1,389 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Veneto Palace Hotel
Veneto Palace Hotel
#281 of 1,271 in Rome
800 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Clarion Collection Hotel Principessa Isabella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trieste
Hotel Panama Garden
Hotel Panama Garden
#144 of 1,271 in Rome
526 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Marcella Royal Hotel
Marcella Royal Hotel
#90 of 1,271 in Rome
1,786 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel delle Province
Hotel delle Province
#289 of 1,271 in Rome
1,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oxford

Address: Via Boncompagni 89, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#192 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#230 Business Hotel in Rome
#274 Family Hotel in Rome
#293 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £52 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Oxford 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in Rome's most exclusive area, Hotel Oxford is set just behind Via Veneto and the Spanish Steps. Guest rooms feature elegant furnishings and wood or carpeted floors. Experience the real Dolce Vita in this elegant setting. The rooms come with air conditioning and a private bathroom, and some have a balcony. Apartments are also available, and are located in separate buildings in nearby Via Piave or Via Flavia. At the Oxford Hotel you have free internet Wi-Fi connection! . This family-run hotel features a snack bar and a meeting room with a capacity of 30 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Jet2Holidays , Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Oxford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Oxford Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing