We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lynda and Trevor Barber-London”
Review of Hotel Oxford

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Oxford
Ranked #349 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lynda and Trevor Barber-London”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Really need to let everyone know what a wonderful hotel oxford is, hubby and me had a wonderful 3day city break in Roma.I picked hotel oxford from Tripadvisor reviews, and we was in for a treat,Hotel was fantastic for us.Lovely room, very clean and spaceous, bed made fresh everyday,room cleaned everday, bath and shower.Breakfast was lust,lots to choose from.Staff fantastic,if you like they have happy hour 5-7, went down lovely. In nice location,bus/metro you can walk to if you wish.we loved walking to Barberin, to catch bus.We are planing to return by christmas, and will be returning to the wonderful Hotel Oxford.A big thank you to management,and all your sfaff, thanks for our lovely cold wine and fresh flowers.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    554
    230
    62
    32
See reviews for
260
528
46
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bodmin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 February 2014

excellent hotel nice and quiet, the room we stayed in was clean and comfortable.
the staff were great nothing was too much trouble very friendly indeed.
the hotel was in a quiet area not too far from attractions.
the hotel food was excellent.
this is the hotel we will stay in when we go to rome again.
a big thankyou to all the staff there...

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephen1710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOxford, Responsabile reception at Hotel Oxford, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear Stephen17,

we are happy to read your nice words for The Hotel Oxford and we thank you for it.
Our Hotel is located in a strategic area, very quite and close to the main attractions of The City.
We serve a fantastic buffet breakfast, you must try it!
Roma is The eternal city and we suggest you to stay with us for living this dream!
Please have a look at the official website to find the best special offer and the best price, We are waiting for you!

Stefano Vergari
Head Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wrexham
Level Contributor
81 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

First of all found the staff in this hotel first class very friendly and helpful the rooms were ok nothing special but clean tidy .The bar in hotel was being refurbished so can't comment about that the breakfast was very good plenty of choice .My only one complaint is really about location it was a fair walk back from major sights of rome but we did walk everywhere just a minor complaint really not really sure where ideal location is in rome .There were fair amount of restaurants by hotel but be warned there are a lot of 5 star hotels around here and prices match the area we also used Hard Rock Cafe which was fine .i would say overall was happy with stay but May chose different area next time

Room Tip: Our room was in front of hotel but was quiet at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nipsWrexham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldershot Hants
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

Clean, friendly staff, breakfast ok, rooms large and nice bathroom. All good but nothing stands out as other than ordinary. Good value for money though and excellent location except for the persistent traffic noise.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dawn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

A short break in a very rainy Rome booked via British Airways. The deal was good and so the price we paid for the hotel was quite reasonable. But a 4-star experience? Not really.
Positively, the welcome was warm, the room was clean and quiet, the breakfast was good.
But this hotel does feel old and - by international standards - I would not give it four stars. The lift is tiny, and opens up into an almost impossible space to negotiate with a suitcase of any size. The room we were given (a twin) was relatively small and there were quite a lot of decorative issues in it that made it feel a little unloved (and the rack rate on the back of the door was jaw-droppingly unbelievable). The room safes were only large enough to accommodate a decent sized camera: forget laptop or iPad. Staircases were rather narrow and rickety as well. The decor of public spaces left something to be desired.
On balance, 3 out of 5 seems mean, but I think it only reflects the lower quality of Italian hotels or the over-inflated hotel marking system that seems to operate there. Had it been a 3-star hotel, it would have got more marks!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOxford, Responsabile reception at Hotel Oxford, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Mr Simon Paul,

we thank you for your nice words about our welcome warm, for the good breakfast and for the clean of the Hotel Oxford ; it is very important to know that our Guests note the good hospitality we offer.
The Hotel Oxford is a 4 stars located in a historic build of 1800, It is a mix of modern tecnology with high speed WiFi connection, Tv Lcd, etc.. and peculiar characteristics of the Eternal City, ROMA!
We are refurbishing many rooms, the hall, the bar, the restaurant, so The Hotel Oxford will be always more nice and ready to welcoming the Guests.
You can visit our official website, where is possible to see many pictures and where is possible to obtain always the better price.
Thank you for choosing The Hotel Oxford

Arrivederci a Roma!

Stefano Vergari
Head Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We have just returned from a short nreak in Rome - this was our second visit to the Hotel Oxford.#

Our trip was organised with British Airways, who we would recommend to other British travellers.

The Hotel is undergoing refurbishment at present - the Bar is being remodelled - but we were aware of this before we arrived.

We were allocated a refurbished room on the second floor - room 236. It is quite a 'hike' from Reception, but large and well appointed - kingsize and comfy bed with extra pillows and bedding stored in the wardrobe,, minibar (reasonable prices) flatscreen TV, lots of electrical sockets everywhere, choice of lighting options, air conditioning, bathroom with bath and shower over (really powerful water pressure))basin bidet and loo well stocked with toiletries, clean towels hairdyer etc.

One benefit of the location of our room was that it was away from the street, and therefore very quiet.

The standard of housekeeping was excellent.

Because of the refurbishment on the Ground Floor we feel that it would be unfair to review the 'temporary' facilities available during our stay, other than to confirm that we received a high quality of service from restaurant and bar staff, and that the range of food provided at breakfast was perfectly acceptable.

To summarise, we can recommend the Hotel Oxford as being ideal for visitors to Rome who want quality value and good service during a short stay

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mishkaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

As soon as arrival we feel welcome with smiles. Helpful staff, good location and worth for the value. Clean and tidy room, nice and plain decorated. Close to the attractions. Nice, big, comfi bed, minibar and lcd tv inc. a bit noisy because of traffic, endless horns, this is the weak point of the hotel but will be back..

Helpful?
1 Thank DownTownCafe
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Gambrinus Hotel
#290 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Bailey's Hotel
Bailey's Hotel
#328 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Morgana
Hotel Morgana
#131 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Domus Romana Hotel
Domus Romana Hotel
#313 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Veneto Palace Hotel
Veneto Palace Hotel
#311 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Clarion Collection Hotel Principessa Isabella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oxford

Property: Hotel Oxford
Address: Via Boncompagni 89, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#189 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#230 Business Hotel in Rome
#274 Family Hotel in Rome
#294 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Oxford 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in Rome's most exclusive area, Hotel Oxford is set just behind Via Veneto and the Spanish Steps. Guest rooms feature elegant furnishings and wood or carpeted floors. Experience the real Dolce Vita in this elegant setting. The rooms come with air conditioning and a private bathroom, and some have a balcony. Apartments are also available, and are located in separate buildings in nearby Via Piave or Via Flavia. At the Oxford Hotel you have free internet Wi-Fi connection! . This family-run hotel features a snack bar and a meeting room with a capacity of 30 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Jet2Holidays , Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Oxford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Oxford Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing