We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay at Hotel Oxford”
Review of Hotel Oxford

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Oxford
Ranked #339 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very nice stay at Hotel Oxford”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We (2 adults and 2 children) just got back from a wonderful trip to Rome. We stayed at Hotel Oxford for 4 nights and really enjoyed it. The room was quite small, but very clean and comfortable, and the breakfast was delicious. The service and atmosphere was excellent. We felt "at home" and truly recommend a stay here!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    554
    232
    62
    32
See reviews for
261
534
46
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Visited The Oxford with 4 friends in March and couldn’t fault our stay.
I stayed in a triple room which was plenty big enough for 3 people, comfortable beds, excellent shower, very clean.
The hotel is traditional in style, some may call it old fashioned but I prefer Italian charm ;) Breakfast is buffet style and offered plenty to set you up for the day. We used the bar every day for a well-deserved drink after long days sightseeing, staff very friendly and kept us well stocked up with nuts and crisps.
The nearest landmark is the Spanish Steps, approx. 15 minute walk away. We did walk to most places, just a taxi back from the furthest places like The Vatican.
We did not use the hotel restaurant we headed into Rome in the evenings. Ristorante Life is an excellent restaurant near the Spanish Steps. I recommend Campo De' Fiori anytime of day for food and drink, it’s a lovely square full of bars and restaurants but much more reasonable than the Piazza Navona etc. All in all an excellent base for exploring this beautiful city.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Good value hotel, it is very clean and the staff are very friendly and helpful.
It is a bit off the historical centre, but still in a reasonable distance to the major locations.
The only annoyance was that the room was very small for a family of 4. It looks like they just added two beds to a standard double bedroom. Still we were out for the most of the day so it did not bother us terribly. I would recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sagi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

My wife and I are on our honeymoon and this hotel was very nice. Clean rooms, and very close to the Ciao Rome tour bus. Breakfast is decent. Hotel staff were always very helpful and friendly. Especially the bellman. Personal car to airport :). Restaurant downstairs is EXTREMELY good and very well priced.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryce1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Very enjoyable stay at this wonderful little hotel. Quite a long walk from main attractions but worth it. Quiet area with good restaurants in the vicinity. Clean bedrooms and public areas, very comfortable beds and well-functioning bathroom facilities. Best feature of this hotel is its friendly and very helpful staff. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twiglet70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

This is a good hotel, very friendly, clean, and the Breakfast is as good as any other. A little out of the centre of Rome but we managed to walk to all of the attractions from there including the Vatican.

The building is, like many others in Rome, very old and some of the structure (like the stairs and lift) are quirky. This doesn't make it a poor hotel! the Bar is a great rest in place after a busy day sight seeing.

Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warmington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We enjoyed our stay, 4 days in Rome! The hotel was a great location and a nice place! They were friendly and the staff spoke English. Breakfast was included and was a good selection. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cameron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Gambrinus Hotel
#290 of 1,257 in Rome
1,346 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Morgana
Hotel Morgana
#133 of 1,257 in Rome
1,174 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Bailey's Hotel
Bailey's Hotel
#340 of 1,257 in Rome
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Domus Romana Hotel
Domus Romana Hotel
#315 of 1,257 in Rome
804 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Veneto Palace Hotel
Veneto Palace Hotel
#301 of 1,257 in Rome
759 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Regno
Hotel Regno
#159 of 1,257 in Rome
1,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oxford

Property: Hotel Oxford
Address: Via Boncompagni 89, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#182 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#230 Business Hotel in Rome
#274 Family Hotel in Rome
#294 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Oxford 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in Rome's most exclusive area, Hotel Oxford is set just behind Via Veneto and the Spanish Steps. Guest rooms feature elegant furnishings and wood or carpeted floors. Experience the real Dolce Vita in this elegant setting. The rooms come with air conditioning and a private bathroom, and some have a balcony. Apartments are also available, and are located in separate buildings in nearby Via Piave or Via Flavia. At the Oxford Hotel you have free internet Wi-Fi connection! . This family-run hotel features a snack bar and a meeting room with a capacity of 30 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, TravelUp, Hotel.de, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Oxford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Oxford Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing