We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel w/ breakfast”
Review of Hotel Oxford

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Oxford
Ranked #341 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 10 June 2014

When we got to the Oxford our room wasn't ready so it was nice to be able to sit down and order drinks and food while we waited. The location was convient for walking to some sights and for the taxi stand 2 blocks away because when a cab was called it was at the hotel in under 5 minutes. The breakfast was great; scrambled eggs, bacon, breads, pastries, yogurt, fruit, cereal, hot and cold drinks. Our quad room was tight with a double and two single beds. Probably the most modern hotel we stayed at in Italy but the smallest room. This hotel had an elevator. It also has free Wifi but it was not working for 3 of the 4 days we were there. Not too much noise on the street at night. Our room was one of the few with a balcony and it was nice to go out there sometimes.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheri-inAcworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

436 - 442 of 1,224 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2014

The oxford hotel with very small but nicely decorated corridors and nice rooms won us. We enjoyed our stay,

The hotel location is ideal for walking to most of the tourist attraction. From 15 minutes to 30 minutes walk you can cover most of the local tourist attractions.

Over all, a good hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simon c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed for 3 days and 2 nights and the staff and hotel was lovely. The staff did everything they could for us, ie booked our cabs and our tours on our behalf. It is in a great location wi the trevi fountain and the Spain steps just around the corner. The breakfast was lovely as well.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Zoe_Critchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I spent 5 nights at the Hotel Oxford in May. It is well located - slightly further away from some of the sights than some hotels but very easy to walk to them. An advantage is it is located in a quieter part of town - with some wonderful nearby local restaurants. It is also fairly close to the central station for the airport train.

It is worth noting that although this hotel is rated four star, it is more of a "European four star" meaning that it is more three star English standards. It is looking slightly dated - but that is more cosmetic. That's not to say that it isn't a comfortable place to stay (which it is) but do not let your expectations get too high. It is perfectly pleasant for a few nights - as other reviewers have said, the rooms are small and relatively basic, but they are comfortable and the rooms are clean, with good bathrooms. The bed was also quite comfortable - although it was on rollers so moved about quite a lot if you were sat up in bed trying to read. The rooms also became very warm at night - and whilst there is air conditioning available, it is quite loud - so a balance to be struck.

The really good thing about this hotel is the members of staff. They are really good: they speak fantastic English if your Italian isn't quite up to it and are very friendly and helpful and smiley. Even at breakfast time, when things get rather busy in the breakfast room - they really do their best to make sure everyone has an enjoyable time, despite it being a little chaotic. Staff aside, the breakfast is buffet style and there are a number of options to choose from - continental, eggs and bacon, pastries, cereal and yoghurts - everything you could expect. The quality is fairly average - but for the price you pay for this hotel, it is not a bad thing.

So overall, I would say this is a good hotel and worth staying at. The staff members are the real highlight. Don't get overexcited by the four stars (I was slightly disappointed to start with) - it is not a four star hotel but if you go in expecting three stars then you will not be disappointed. And it is good value for money - and a great place to explore this brilliant city. After all, you shouldn't be spending too long in the rooms!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Darren F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

19 May 2014, 4 night stay via BA. The hotel is in a nice area near the USA embassy and not too far to a metro station. Rooms are small and felt a little cramped. However, very clean, good housekeeping and a comfortable large bed. Good choice at breakfast and the service was friendly even if it was a bit chaotic at times. The staff have excellent language skills (unlike me) and all the staff we encountered were super.
The welcome map we were given at check in proved invaluable as we walked to the main sites, it had more detail than the one I'd had purchased for the trip.

Highlight of the trip was meeting a 90 year old US navy veteran at the top of palatine Hill!

Room Tip: Room facing the front of the hotel can be noisy but its mostly traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jazbotaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We have been staying at this hotel in Rome for over 20 years and we think it is very good. The rooms are sufficient and updated. The breakfast was sufficient and the service was excellent. The location was best of all, near the Via Veneto and taxis easily accessed. Most of the people speak English at the hotel and are all very helpful. Gabriella, who is a server and a bartender, was so much fun and kept us entertained. We look forward to going back soon!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Oxford in Rome on May 5-7 before we went on a cruise. It is on a quiet street in central Rome. The staff is bi-lingual. Everyone is very helpful. The rooms are a nice size for Europe standards. Two beds, a mini bar, shower and tub, window overlooking the street. It had a full size desk. There is a small elevator. A full breakfast is included. There is a bar, small restaurant. We had breakfast each morning before heading out on our adventures. I highly recommend the Hotel Oxford.

Room Tip: Request a room on the second floor to be able to use the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Gambrinus Hotel
#325 of 1,272 in Rome
1,396 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Veneto Palace Hotel
Veneto Palace Hotel
#259 of 1,272 in Rome
829 reviews
Monti
Domus Romana Hotel
Domus Romana Hotel
#387 of 1,272 in Rome
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Clarion Collection Hotel Principessa Isabella
Trevi
Hotel Regno
Hotel Regno
#153 of 1,272 in Rome
1,772 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Casa I Cappuccini
Casa I Cappuccini
#409 of 1,272 in Rome
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oxford

Address: Via Boncompagni 89, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#169 Family Hotel in Rome
#188 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#230 Business Hotel in Rome
#293 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £51 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Oxford 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in Rome's most exclusive area, Hotel Oxford is set just behind Via Veneto and the Spanish Steps. Guest rooms feature elegant furnishings and wood or carpeted floors. Experience the real Dolce Vita in this elegant setting. The rooms come with air conditioning and a private bathroom, and some have a balcony. Apartments are also available, and are located in separate buildings in nearby Via Piave or Via Flavia. At the Oxford Hotel you have free internet Wi-Fi connection! . This family-run hotel features a snack bar and a meeting room with a capacity of 30 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Oxford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Oxford Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing