We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Past its best and needs updating.”
Review of Hotel Oxford

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Oxford
Ranked #344 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 11 March 2011

Hotel is tired and needs renovation. Room was very small -- e.g., no room for bedside table. Room cleaning erratic. Two main points: first, definitely not suitable for anyone with serious mobility problems (steps from reception into all other areas, and corridors / lift are very restricted). Secondly, breakfast is poor; at 9.30 (an hour before supposed closing) there was no toast, no butter and no rolls -- polite complaint to staff produced absolutely nothing. This is a hotel that needs to up its game, or it will go under. At best, reasonable three star.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidw187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOxford, Proprietario at Hotel Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2011

Dear Madam-Sir,
we apologise for any inconvnience encountered during your stay in Rome.
We understand your comment and we look forward to improve our Hotel through your suggestions: Hotel Oxford is located in Historical building, is own and run since 1964 from My Family : renovations are working in progress every year, The Oxford is open all year round and my Family plus staff are always at your desposal.
Our Buffet breakfast is rich, but that morning rolls, toast and butter were finished due to a delivery problem.
we look forward to see you in a near future to demonstrate The Oxford 4* as clean Hotel, updated, friendly and close to customer needs.
Thank you for your attention,

kind regards,

Massimo Quarta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,195)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Oxford
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

741 - 747 of 1,195 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2011

We had a 4 night city breal booked through british airways as a first trip abroad with our 7yr old son. The hotel staff were all very friendly, helpful & kind, especially so with our son! The room was very clean, serviced daily, very comfortable beds, very good tv/internet access & with an easy to use safe.
The breakfasts where good with a wide choice e.g. cereals, juice, bread, cheese etc
Its well placed to walk to all main sites in Rome & with easy walking distance of many resturants....one we visited had food to die for!!
would definitely stay their again & would recommend it to our friends & relatives!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lydon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2011

stayed for three nights with my family,we had two birthdays to celebrate while here,i asked the manager if we could have champagne on the last morning to celebrate them but he was so unhelpful telling me to see barman.this wasnt the only occasion, ie ordering a taxi for us,checking my return transfers,just found the staff very unhelpful and not friendly which is not what i read up before we went.the bar closes at 11pm if your lucky you may get a drink.carlos was friendly though.breakfast time was chaotic always waiting for teapots,teabags,couldnt get a cleancup one morning and the waitress again was very abrupt.i have never complained about an hotel before but just had to this time.we did have great time in rome just a pity we were let down by our stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judyg493
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOxford, Proprietario at Hotel Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2011

Dear Sir, madam,
we apologise if you felt unhappy.
We use to be friendly with all our clientele since 1964 : anyway I'm investigating about this misunderstanding..

Thank you for your comment: we look forward to see you in our Hotel again soon: please be my guest for a glass of champagne!

we remain your sincerely.

Massimo Quarta
own/mgr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2011

My first trip to Rome. I stayed at the Oxford with my daughter. What a wonderful welcome we had. We could not have wished for a better place to stay.. The staff are very pleasant, especially the Bar staff. If there was a problem the staff were always happy to help.
I would recomend this hotel to anyone wishing to stay in Rome. You canget to anywhere from here.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kdmiddleton50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2011

Nothing earth-shatteringly wrong with the hotel, but it most definitely does not stand up to its four star billing.

Rooms are small, but otherwise comfortable, but the slightly run-down decor perhaps indicates a make-over is needed. Staff pleasant, but no great concern for quality of service.

Good breakfast bar, but the restaurant isn't as attractive as the many surrounding cafes. The bar seemed quite popular each evening, although once again there is plenty of choice in the surrounding area.

If you are wanting to visit Rome's main tourism sites however, then you hit the hotels main problem. It is literally out on a limb. Plan to expend a great deal of taxi money or shoe-leather. The nearest Metro station is a good 15 minutes walk. 'Sights' such as Spanish Steps or Collisseum are more than 30 minutes solid walking - in different directions - and it is uphill to get back to the hotel!

The same hotel owners also have another property, the Hotel Regno, which is much better placed. It will get our business next time!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveS1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2011

Went to the Hotel Oxford for a long weekend through a deal with BA. Service was excellent from when we first walked in. All rooms we stayed in (we went with family) were extremely clean and tidy and very comfortable. Breakfast was the standard continental - plenty of choice. Had drinks in the bar every evening - Carlo the bar tender is very friendly, mixing lovely cocktails and was able to provide us with various details about other good restaurants and bars. Only issue is that it is slightly out of the way from all the main tourist attractions, however everything is in walking distance and it was good to see some more of Rome. Would definitely stay here again - could not fault the hotel, staff or service. Thanks for a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plv29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2011

This hotel was part of a three night package and we were very happy with the price, value, quality, location and service. Package included breakfast which was great. Staff were friendly and helpful. They also have great gelato. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
Thank SusanS33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Gambrinus Hotel
#293 of 1,267 in Rome
1,371 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Clarion Collection Hotel Principessa Isabella
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Veneto Palace Hotel
Veneto Palace Hotel
#299 of 1,267 in Rome
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Bailey's Hotel
Bailey's Hotel
#379 of 1,267 in Rome
737 reviews
Monti
Domus Romana Hotel
Domus Romana Hotel
#346 of 1,267 in Rome
848 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Morgana
Hotel Morgana
#147 of 1,267 in Rome
1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oxford

Address: Via Boncompagni 89, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#188 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#230 Business Hotel in Rome
#274 Family Hotel in Rome
#294 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £60 - £370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Oxford 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in Rome's most exclusive area, Hotel Oxford is set just behind Via Veneto and the Spanish Steps. Guest rooms feature elegant furnishings and wood or carpeted floors. Experience the real Dolce Vita in this elegant setting. The rooms come with air conditioning and a private bathroom, and some have a balcony. Apartments are also available, and are located in separate buildings in nearby Via Piave or Via Flavia. At the Oxford Hotel you have free internet Wi-Fi connection! . This family-run hotel features a snack bar and a meeting room with a capacity of 30 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Oxford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Oxford Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing