We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No good for a family”
Review of Hotel Picasso

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Picasso
Ranked #471 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Southport, Australia
Level Contributor
202 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“No good for a family”
Reviewed 21 August 2011

As a standard double room on a budget this was acceptable. But adding two extra beds leaving no floor space does not make it suitable as a family room. Would be ok without the family. Read other comments re breakfast room being small (again, ok if on a budget without the family) air conditioner struggled and didn't provide the cool respite you need in Rome during summer. Not the greatest part of Rome but accessible to a lot. No issues with reception not being in the same building, it is literally around the corner. If you are going with the family, open your wallet and spend more for a more suitable option!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcello834, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Picasso, responded to this review, 11 December 2011
Dear Guest, we regret you did not like the room. If you like a very spacious rooms we advise you to book next time two adjacted rooms. We try to assure a fully functional airconditionig but sometimes we find a wrong changed impostation on the remote controls which blocks it. Although the reception is around the corner of the hotel we are there for our clients at disposal for 24 hours. Thank you for your contribution.
The Staff of Hotel Picasso
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    115
    71
    19
    13
See reviews for
43
132
21
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2011

We managed to check in when we arrived at the hotel just after lunch. The staff patiently showed us around. Even though our air-con rooms does not seems to work that well, the management staff immediately attend to it even without us calling the reception counter.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marilee2815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcello834, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Picasso, responded to this review, 11 December 2011
Dear Guests, we are pleased we could be helpful during your stay. We hope you will come back to us again.
The Staff of Hotel Picasso
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

Although it is a bit strange that a reception desk is in another street, it's not far at all, and I didn't mind that.
It was very clean; simple furniture, but beds were welcoming after hours of walking around the city.
Everyone was very kind and helpful; breakfast was OK, we had pastries and juices and great coffee. We even didn't mind that place where we ate breakfast is, in fact, very tiny room.
Location is the best.
I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: not on the first floor, facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minakrsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcello834, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Picasso, responded to this review, 11 December 2011
Dear Guests, we are pleased you chose our hotel for your stay in Rome. It is a good feeling to know you would stay with us again. Thank you.
The Staff of Hotel Picasso
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pessac, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2011

well located, small bedroom but ok, very very small bathroom (it' s not so easy to enter in the shower..)
for the first night, our room was on the street side : lot of noise, impossible to close an eye...
we ask to change for the second and third night.they accepted and it was very quieter

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiotpuce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcello834, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Picasso, responded to this review, 11 December 2011
Dear Guests,
thank you for your comment. The size of bedroom and bathroom match the standard in our hotel category. We regret your discomfort during your first night. On the other hand we are glad we could be helpful and together we found a solution for you. We will be happy to see you again.
Staff of Hotel Picasso
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2011

There are many reasons for not staying there again:
1st - There is no reception. You must go to the Caravaggio Hotel on Palermo Street. There they give you a key to open the front door at of the Picasso Hotel which stays on Venezia Street. This is very strange.
2nd - The decoration is horrible. Nothing matches to nothing. Very bad taste.
3rd - It's dirty mainly the toilet.
4th - The phone doesn't work at all. None in this hotel according to my friends.
5th- the lift is from pre-historical period. It even needs a 10 cents coin to work and it has 2 manual doors (a wood and an iron one)
Finally ... they refuse to give me any receipt. At the Caravaggio front desk they told me they would send to my e-mail but they didn't despite all my constant requests.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcia002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcello834, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Picasso, responded to this review, 11 December 2011
Dear Guest, we read your remarks. In our organizational structure there is one central reception desk providing wide scale of services for all our accommodations. It is mentioned on all websites. We feel sad that you did not like our decoration in mediterranean style. We try to create a comfortable place for our guests. We tidy up our rooms daily, so we think our bathrooms are clean. The hotel is situated in an historical building and that is why the lift is historical too. It matches the modern safety prescriptions. The 10 cent coins for using the lift we always give to our clients in advance. We issue a receipt for every guest. Sometimes happens the guest left it on the desk. Then we put it to the archive. We sent you the receipt by post office. The consignment of this receipt you confirmed us by e-mail. So we do not understand this part of your complaint. We regret we did not match your expectation.
Staff of Hotel Picasso
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 April 2011

We stayed there in the beginning of April. Hotel has nice location 5min walking from metro and 15 min from many sites. Room was small but good enough especially when you do not spend a lot of time in there. Breakfast was nice and big enough (partially self-service) - no meat but I can not complain.
The most terrible thing was bathroom and dirtiness of shower, toilet even some mould on the ceiling. My wife had serious problems with using bathroom. Please check photos.
TV worked but only as a radio - no TV stations available.
On third day of stay I noticed that my leather jacket is missing from my room. It got stolen when we were gone for sightseeing. I locked all documents and other things that fits to safe box but unfortunately I cannot lock all my clothes. Lady from reception didn't seem to be surprised. Her only help was redirection us to police station. I haven't even heard "sorry"

I do not recommend this hotel
- dirty
- you need to have good insurance if you want to leave your clothes there

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adamch5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcello834, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Picasso, responded to this review, 11 December 2011
Dear Guests, thank you for your contribution. Concernign the television it works in dual mode: TV and radio. There is a button on the remote control to select one of them like on each modern television. We really regret you missed your jacket, it was very surprising for us. Although your comment was a bit critical, we appreciate that you expressed your opinion. We will try to avoid difficulties you mentioned and we would be really pleased to see you again.
Staff of Hotel Picasso
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2011

Very good hotel..central location,perfect staff..helpful. Satisfied.

Room Tip: We loved our room.. no.12
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nish407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcello834, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Picasso, responded to this review, 11 December 2011
Dear Guests, it is nice to read you were satisfied. Thank you for sharing your experience and we hope we will meet again.
Staff of Hotel Picasso
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Caravaggio
Hotel Caravaggio
#222 of 1,256 in Rome
529 reviews
Monti
Clarin Hotel
Clarin Hotel
#408 of 1,256 in Rome
331 reviews
Monti
Hotel Fiori
Hotel Fiori
#656 of 1,256 in Rome
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Galatea
Hotel Galatea
#521 of 1,256 in Rome
511 reviews
Monti
Esposizione Hotel
Esposizione Hotel
#742 of 1,256 in Rome
505 reviews
Esquilino
Corona Hotel
Corona Hotel
#399 of 1,256 in Rome
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Picasso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Picasso

Property: Hotel Picasso
Address: Via Venezia 25, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #471 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Picasso 1*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Picasso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Picasso Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing