We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the middle of the Rome...”
Review of Hotel Picasso

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Picasso
Ranked #488 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 16 April 2014

This is the second time i stayed in Hotel Picasso. The location of the hotel is great. You can walk almost all attractions of Rome. Moreover hotel is close to Termini which is central station and subway stops. The staff of the hotel is very helpful. The breakfast is enough and the coffee served in the breakfast is tasty. The rooms are clean. Prices are good for a hotel in the middle of Rome. Before coming Hotel Picasso, keep in mind that this is a budget hotel. Benefit price ratio is good. According to me if there was wifi in the rooms it would be much better. As a result i can recommend this hotel to tourists who need a clean place to sleep and spend most of the time in city in Rome.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C_E_1161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (301)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 301 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed here as a new couple and settled of Hotel Picasso after reading reviews.
I was pleasantly surprised! We had a lovely little room, but the size didn't bother me at all! The decor was so fitting for Rome and completely suited the building and surroundings. We were lucky enough to be in the same building where breakfast was so didn't have to walk very far to eat. The lady serving tea or coffee made sure we always had a drink and re-stocked all the food straight away. Typical continental breakfast but yummy regardless! It was slightly awkward though as the breakfast room was quite small and was filled to the brim with tables, maybe a bit of calming Italian music would help create a warmer atmosphere?
Fantastic location, although google maps did take us a long way around even though it was minutes away from the train station! Hotel is perfectly situated, down the road from the Coliseum, and not too far from the Trevvi Fountain! We walked everywhere and were surprised at how close everything was, and to the hotel too. Maybe get the metro a couple of times to find your bearings but after that you'll be walking everywhere to and from this hotel!
Complimentary small bottle of Red Wine was great too. This hotel played a great part in making us feel welcome in our first trip to Rome, we had a lovely experience there! (Travelled December 2011)

Room Tip: Both hotels are situated on side streets so there's no noise anywhere really. Try to get the bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Little_Rowse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Rooms all very small and located on one full level of an apartment block. Rooms although small, were clean and comfortable. No internet. Breakfast very basic with only sweet style servings such as biscuits and one croissant (yes you are given only one person person!), coffee and eggs, in a very small room that's packed and no room to move. And breakfast before 9.30 am! Location was great, close to everything including transport.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
Thank Will B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights in September, check in is around the corner which was fine. The room was fine- for a budget hotel it was just what we needed - road wasn't too noisy or busy. Location was good! Able to walk from train station, not necessarily recommended but manageable. City bus stops were around the corner if your feet needed a break like ours did! Walkable to coliseum, Spanish steps and Trevi Fountain. Overall great value, location wasn't bad for price, and breakfast was included. Also computer and wifi available at sister hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura37CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We booked for 3 nights at Picasso Hotel. The majority of the hotels in Rome are of similar type. We checked-in at the "sister hotel" Caravaggio but that was not a problem at all. Upon our arrival the receptionist - very friendly - informed us that there is a problem with our room and that we will stay for one night at the hotel opposite the street (Morpheus Rooms). We did not really bother since we did not visit Rome for the hotel facilities. Both new Morpheus Rooms (stayed night 1) and Picasso Hotel were clean and refurbished.
Cold Breakfast was average and the dining room very small. Bed mattress at Morpheus was perfect but average at Picasso.
If you plan to visit Rome for short break, save your money to enjoy a nice pasta at piazza Delle Copelle or a tasty Gelato at Fontana di Trevi. Make sure that you stay in a clean place within your budget. If you are looking for luxury, simply do not visit Rome.
P.S. It would have been better if there was an English language channel on the TV for those few hours you spend in your room.
I would definitely return to Picasso. Excellent location!

Room Tip: Ask for room 106 at Picasso. Corner room with view of the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Demetris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Not too bad considering it is a budget hotel. Stay at the sister hotel if you can Hotel Caravaggio. Both hotels are clean, the staff is really helpful, they have a nice breakfast of rolls and café. Night reception with wine and snacks. .The window overlooked a scary mechanical area, that looked and smelled bad. You also need to cut through an unsightly area to get to some of the rooms. That being said, it was a good location., centrally located. The price was right.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katb530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

The biggest problem was that you check in at a different hotel around the corner. The signage is very minimal. We had to ask 4 people on the street before we found where to check-in. The Hotel Carrivagio front desk handed us our key and said our room is down the street. We looked perplexed and he said in a very exasperated tone: "You don't know how this works!" and took off out the door and down the street. We had to run with our luggage so as not to lose him. He handed us our keys and we put our 10 cents in the ancient elevator and heard electrical pops and clicks. Once on the 4th floor we could find no signage to help us find what door to go in, so we tried our keys in different doors till we got a door to open. The hallways are dirty and smell of mildew.

Once in the room, however, the rooms were cute and clean. We stayed in two rooms while there. Because we had another couple join us so we moved to a bigger room.

The a/c worked so-so on the 4th floor. The a/c worked great in our larger room on the first floor.

Breakfast was free and decent, but the dining room is about 12 x 12 feet square and you must tangle your legs with the other guests in order to sit at the table. Way way too small of a room to be hosting breakfast!

Big bummer that there is no internet access from anywhere in the hotel Picasso. You must go down the street to the hotel Carrivagio lobby for internet access.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Marty F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Caravaggio
Hotel Caravaggio
#245 of 1,272 in Rome
564 reviews
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#226 of 1,272 in Rome
1,083 reviews
Monti
Conte House I
Conte House I
#762 of 1,272 in Rome
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Clarin Hotel
Clarin Hotel
#440 of 1,272 in Rome
352 reviews
Esquilino
Nardizzi Americana
Nardizzi Americana
#248 of 1,272 in Rome
737 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Doria
Hotel Doria
#344 of 1,272 in Rome
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Picasso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Picasso

Address: Via Venezia 25, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #488 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £36 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Picasso 1*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Picasso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Picasso Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing