We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quiet but a bit of a trek”
Review of Polo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Polo Hotel
Ranked #1,113 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 3 December 2006

Our room was quite small and very dark but was otherwise fine and very clean. Lots of hot water in the shower was a plus. It could take you a half hour to reach downtown by the local train however. The suburban train station Euclid was a five minute walk away but sometimes one could wait 20 mins for a train. This station connects to the trains of the metro system so it was easy to get downtown but still a bit of a trek. A good breakfast is provided free so that is a bonus and one could order a capuccino from the waitress also for free at breakfast. We stayed here for over a week and found it fine. The staff are polite but not effusive in any way and they tend to keep out of the way. The free internet cabinet in the lobby was helpful for keeping in touch with home and was appreciated. Also good was the supermarket around the corner from the hotel. ( Ask at the desk where it is as it is hidden on a side street.) I would stay here again as it is a nice quiet hotel but if you are looking for a place close to the action, this is not for you.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ingridw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2006

This is hotel was very clean which is a priority but our room was also very small but at the same time cosy. It is a bit out of the way but if you can work the metro station it would be fine. Breakfast was fantastic but the staff came across a bit rude and it seemed to be a bother to help us. Nice area though within walking distance to the metro station and some great restaurants and bar

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SL1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2006

This hotel is a little out of town but has a couple of bars/ristorante nearby. The staff were always polite but sometimes not helpful. The rooms are of a good standard but suffer from some dated pschedelic wallpaper. I also found the lighting in the bathroom inadequate, seemingly just the one small light at the end. There is also a balcony on which to sit.......or put your umbrella!
The breakfast, consisted of fruit, bacon, scrambled eggs, croisantes, danish pastries, juice, coffee, tea; all self-service.
Note that if you are travelling with someone infirm or disabled then there will be problems as the entrance is approached by many steps and no hand rail.
Lastly, note that if you walk to the Villa Borghese don't go along Via Michele as this is where the Israeli embassy is and you will be harassed by the police!
Overall, I would say that this is a decent hotel at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnonEmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2006

The hotel is 5 min walking distance from metro station. I recommend to buy 1 euro OW metro ticket to get into city center and afterwards discover Rome on foot as major tourist attractions are within walking distance. If you're not kin on walking then you can buy 4 euro ticket which is valid whole day. The hotel is standard one with standard service. The breakfast was OK, except for scrambled eggs which they managed to spoil - do not ask me how - but it was impossible to eat.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Svetlana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2006

We stayed 4 nights and found the hotel a really pleasant retreat from the mad bustle of downtown Rome. Staff were polite and helpful. Breakfast was OK with fresh fruit and light on the grease. Good standard decor. Everything worked. Aircon was a bit weak and ineffective (Room 111) at this time of the year. Easy walk to Euclide metro stop or 910 bus down to Termini station. Very wealthy part of town - lots of Porsche and Ferraris, and suitably snobby individual walking their poodles. These snobby people were, however, quite helpful in giving directions when asked. World Cup celebrations apaprt this is a quiet area with little traffic noise. The rooms are double glazed. Close to the Villa Borghese park - 10 mins and the Museum of Modern Art - well wortht a visit - never seen Chini's work before - stunning.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnKirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2006

We just returned from a wonderful 10 days in Italy and found gracious service in every hotel but this one. The Hotel Polo is in a nice residential neighborhood which is a bit of a ways from central Rome and the main attractions. The rooms are nice, it's clean, and the breakfast buffet was was ample -- although hot items, such as eggs, were very slow to be replenished. The odd thing about this hotel was that, although the staff spoke very good English (our Italian was close to nonexistent), getting any help with anything was like pulling teeth. The main concierge during the daytime was particularly curt. Upon arrival we inquired as to whether we had received a fax with the vouchers we had ordered for reserved tickets to the Colosseum. His response was to lecture us on how there was no such thing and we would have to stand in line "like everyone else." In fact, there is such a thing and the fax arrived the next day with our vouchers. This was just one example. We couldn't figure out if, given how far they are from central Rome, they are unused to tourists and their questions (varying from: "can you recommend a nearby restaurant for dinner?" to "can you help us locate an eye doctor who speaks English, as my daughter seems to have come down with a serious eye infection"), or what. In every instance we eventually got the help we needed, and some of the younger staff were nicer, but we were quite surprised at the grudgingness of the response to questions at a hotel of this purported caliber. One other small sour note: in the heat of summer it's their practice to turn off the air conditioning in the middle of the night. Once you know this (after waking up stifling the first night and inquiring what gives the next morning), you simply open the windows before you go to bed, by which time it has generally cooled to a tolerable temperature. But again -- the attitude was that we should have divined that this would be the case. Our feeling is that this is not a hotel we would return to.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eowyn20814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
14
Reviewed 21 May 2006

Our train from Paris arrived in Rome by about 7am Rome time, so when we got to the hotel, it was too early to check in, but they did take our luggage and safely stored them in a room while we walked around town until check-in time (which they allowed us to do at around 11am). We asked the lady at the front desk where the nearest Internet Cafe was, and she gave us a map and indicated which Metro line to take to the nearest Piazza -- unfortunately, we didnt find out until the day we checked out that they actually had an internet room in the hotel (why she didn't mention that to us, I will never know).

I wouldn't suggest taking the Metro. When we walked to the nearest Metro Station about 5-10 minute walk away, we waited nearly half an hour for the nearest train to arrive, and when it did, it was PACKED wall to wall with people. My husband and I wound up taking Taxis the remainder of our time there. The Polo hotel is very close to the Borghese Gallery, which is an excellent museum, but that's about it. Everything else - Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, Colliseum, Forum, Piazza Navona, etc. are all kinda far. But since we took taxis, it only cost about 6-10 euro per ride, depending on where you are going -- well, I guess that did tend to get sort of expensive. In the three days that we stayed at the Polo Hotel, I would guess that we spent somewhere between 100-200 euros on taxis. The taxi stand is less than a 5 minute walk from the hotel - just about a block away. Taxis were by far the most convenient transportation for us -- dropped us off exactly where we wanted to go, so we never got lost.

The hotel itself was nice - the manager in the restaurant is awesome, as well as the bartenders. We had drinks there in the hotel restaurant at the end of each of our night. The hotel breakfast is delivered to your room for just 3 euros extra, and they loaded us up with food (cooked eggs, fresh fruit, breads, etc). The bathroom in our room was nice -- actually the biggest bathroom that we had compared to London and Paris hotels that we stayed at. There is no smoking in the hotel at all. Oh, and our air conditioner in the room never seemed to work, but we never bothered reporting it either. And it was pretty warm when we were there. Felt like summer already.

They didn't have any tourist tour info at all at the front desk. We had to go into town to get info on tourist places, restaurants, etc. Luckily we also had our Frommer's Rome day by day book. Don't forget to bring a small Italian Phrase book- mine was from Lonely Planet "Fast Talk Italian" and fits in your backpocket -- that was our security blanket and saving grace while we were there. They do speak english at the hotel, so that was no problem, but since the hotel is in a residential area, away from tourist places, you will need the phrasebook. People in town are very cooperative, as long as you at least try to speak the language.

We stayed at his hotel from 05/15 - 05/18 - Overall, I kinda wished we picked a hotel closer to tourist spots, although this hotel was very nice. Hope this info helps! I will post pics of our room in a few days -- standard room, there were other nicer rooms there.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Parioli
Best Western Hotel Rivoli
Best Western Hotel Rivoli
#542 of 1,271 in Rome
437 reviews
Parioli
Hotel Regent Rome
Hotel Regent Rome
#1,042 of 1,271 in Rome
581 reviews
Parioli
The Duke Hotel
The Duke Hotel
#140 of 1,271 in Rome
1,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Flaminio
Residence Sacconi
Residence Sacconi
#755 of 1,271 in Rome
64 reviews
Parioli
Hotel delle Muse
Hotel delle Muse
#177 of 1,271 in Rome
917 reviews
Parioli
Hotel Villa Duse
Hotel Villa Duse
#188 of 1,271 in Rome
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Polo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Polo Hotel

Address: Piazza Bartolomeo Gastaldi 4, 00197 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#367 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £50 - £360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Polo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Polo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Polo Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing