We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely historic hotel”
Review of Quirinale Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Quirinale Hotel
Ranked #233 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
CONNECTICUT
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Lovely historic hotel”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

This is a beautiful , historic hotel. Entering the foyer is like stepping back into the 1930's...high ceilings, antiques, and a hushed, quiet elegance. I loved the marble and parquet flooring. The rooms are small, but nice big windows, good linens, and a spacious, spotlessly clean bath. Wonderful hot breakfast buffet, with a lovely dining are around a garden courtyard. This hotel has an elevator, and great security and doormen. The staff are exceptional, but repeated problems with the hotel front desk staff were a shocking surprise at a hotel of this quality.

We had booked and prepaid online, 1 room, for 2 people, which was confirmed. Upon arrival, our room wasn't ready, but they checked our bags. No biggie, stuff happens...and we are on vacation! No trouble amusing ourselves in ROME for a few hours!! Returning that afternoon, were told we had two rooms, and that was wrong. We straightened that out, were checked in, they swiped BOTH our passports, and we were show a lovely (budget) room. I was very satisfied, and really quite comfortable.

Three days later?? I received a very nasty phone call from the front desk accusing me of not returning ANY of their messages....AND?? Of sneaking my daughter into the room unpaid!! And I was in for a big $$ surcharge, and would I come downstairs right now to pay it?!? (Uhm...no... I was in the bath , and my child had answered the phone, and pulled me out out of the tub.)

It took a while to explain that they were wrong, AGAIN...and they had SCANNED BOTH our passports, we had checked in together, and WE had prepaid/confirmed!
AND?!? If they had given us a second room, we had no keycards, no idea where it was...and they should go check to see if it had been used! Later, (after giving us the wrong subway directions to The Vatican ....in ROME, really?? Truly, this was now becoming insane...), they decided to drop the matter, with no apology for the insulting insinuations, and all the time wasted. Boggles the mind....what are computers for anyway?

That said, I would stay there again, as the entire rest of the staff at the hotel were amazing! Central locations is perfect for walking all of Rome, bus and Metro 4 minute walk in a lovely, safe area.

SO...my advice? Just prepay on a credit card, and tote along 45 copies of your booking reservation, printed out in 3 languages...nail one to the front desk, another to your bathroom mirror, and if all else fails? Pray a little...and then hope for the best!

Room Tip: Ask for a courtyard room. More sunshine, and its quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BEEBEE4545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    986
    1,379
    511
    185
    103
See reviews for
779
1,267
118
360
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (540)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bel Air, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

I LOVE this hotel - this was my third year staying at the Hotel Quirinale ! The room was beautiful , the staff friendly, courteous and always willing to assist with any request. They recommended a fantastic restaurant where we enjoyed a perfect meal . A special thank you for the assistance in helping us with our luggage - we did ALOT of shopping !!! Until next year Ciao

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

Nice room with shower & bath, antic style, cool elevator, placed at the center, by walk, from termini, and atraction, free wi fi, very clean, the food could be better, the service is good and I will Come back.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank dudu d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

In the very historical centre of Rome, it can be the right choice to have a comfortable place where to start walking from.
Breakfast is as good and international as it has to be in a 4 star hotel, you won't need any lunch later.
Going to the rooms, they're ok although they're not wonderful, especially the shower boxes are not exactly what you would call modern. In a double room be careful to check the size of the bed(s) or you could be likely to get two small ones.
Anyway, it's good enough value for the money you pay, provided that you like an old fashioned style.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bombe_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecouflant
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Couldn't believe how good value this was in August , great position within walking distance of all the sites and close to the central station . Excellent breakfast . My only regret was that when I tried to book in October the price had doubled!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midlands
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

This is a beautiful hotel in a great location. 5mins from Station Termini. Close to all sights.Our room (237) was wonderful, only complaint was the air conditioning didn't work but it didn't matter as it was November.The dinner was poor, plain spaghetti with clams, and the breakfast very poor. No melon or parma ham, croissants and rolls dry, bacon & eggs good quality but cold, very disappointing :( Lots of very good restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: Ours was large,with bath & shower, looks like they vary a lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Our Italy trip was obtained through Expedia - both flight and hotel. Upon check in our economy double room was found to be so very small that you could not pass each other without one stepping to the side. The room which was facing the street was very noisy all night, especially with the window open; closed it was fine. We asked to be upgraded to a larger room and to the interior. We were accommodated with pleasure and were in a larger room that next night. I can say only nice things about the staff - David, in particular. He helped us out with an urgent matter that we got ourselves into, and went out of his way to help. This was our second time to Rome and to Quirinale Hotel. There was a reason we came back!

Room Tip: Unless you are a single traveler or do not mind being cozy, don't get an "economy" roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
The Britannia Hotel
The Britannia Hotel
#125 of 1,261 in Rome
1,195 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Esquilino
Starhotels Metropole
Starhotels Metropole
#170 of 1,261 in Rome
2,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
UNA Hotel Roma
UNA Hotel Roma
#104 of 1,261 in Rome
3,052 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#33 of 1,261 in Rome
1,321 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#46 of 1,261 in Rome
2,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quirinale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quirinale Hotel

Property: Quirinale Hotel
Address: Via Nazionale 7, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#132 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#205 Family Hotel in Rome
#274 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Quirinale Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Quirinale, a beautiful 4-star hotel located in the heart of Rome, is near the major highlights of the city. Period furniture, valuable fabrics and original oil paintings decorate the spacious public rooms and lounges. The 209elegant rooms and suites are fully equipped with every modern comfort.Free WI-FI connection in all public areas and in each room.It is the ideal place to spend an unforgettable stay, both for families and business people. Conventions, meetings and receptions in a welcoming atmosphere – adjoining meeting rooms adaptable to any request with advanced technology and professional staff.Guests can experience the best of Italian cuisine at our Rossini Restaurant or a light snack at the Green Bar, during Spring and Summer months in the peace of our private garden.The history of the Hotel Quirinale is indissolubly linked to the adjoining Opera House, connected to the hotel by a direct passage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Quirinale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Quirinale Rome
Rome Quirinale
Quirinale Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing