We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely traditional hotel in a great location”
Review of Quirinale Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Quirinale Hotel
Ranked #229 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We enjoyed our visit and the appearance of the hotel was exactly as we had envisioned prior to arrival. Lobby decor was elegantly traditional and the guest rooms and bathrooms were updated.. We had requested early check-in. We arrived around 11 AM and had to wait for 30-45 minutes, but that was okay. Regular check-in I believe was 2 PM.

Reception staff was helpful, but often busy with paperwork. We requested attention to our room for squeaky doors and a safe that did not work, but no one ever responded. My biggest complaint was that it was quite warm and we booked the hotel because the website indicated air conditioning. After going to the room we found out the A/C was not scheduled to be turned on until 4 - 6 weeks AFTER our visit! We then requested a fan and we were told the hotel did not have any. That was VERY disappointing as we are from an area in the US that had a very cold winter and our bodies were not ready for all the heat. The only saving grace was that our room had very tall doors leading to a mini French balcony and when we left the doors open there was some cool air. However, the open doors allowed in a lot of noise from the street that went on most of the night. Since the main reason for booking a hotel is to get a good night sleep, we were disappointed.

The breakfast was wonderful and the location superb. I can't remember which buses stop directly in front of the hotel, but that was convenient and the Republic metro station is just a few steps away.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jema813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,226)
There are newer reviews for Quirinale Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,154 - 1,160 of 3,226 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed in March '13 and again in March'14 loved it both times. It just seems to be such a comfortable place. Sitting downstairs after a long day of travel is soothing, having a drink and listening to some entertainment. The facility itself is great , well maintained with spacious roome. For traveling the location is great but be careful on the 64 bus, pickpockets and they are good !

Room Tip: Overlooking the garden is quiet
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TonyandKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

The hotel itself is old style and the room we had was spacious. It is a good location and close to the termini. Gym consists of 3 pieces of equipment. Unfortunately the front of house are rude, ignorant and don't know anything about customer service. I have never witnessed anything as bad. They security guard shouted at people and made us feel uncomfortable. The porter was obnoxious and not sure what his purpose was as he didn't help with bags or the door. We did encounter some superb staff such as Maximilian but unfortunately we were put off by our initial experiences. We stayed elsewhere and really enjoyed our stay. I can safely say I will not be returning to this hotel. We went elsewhere and really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Rooms to the back of the hotel seem quieter. Try get a room away from the linen closets as the roo...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Donnchadh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
russotto, assistente di direzione at Quirinale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Donnchadh,
Thank you for your report regarding your recent stay at our hotel.
We very much regret having failed your expectations being our clients’ satisfaction our priority and we do apologise for the inconvenience occurred.
We are pleased you appreciated the kindness and attitude of Maximiliano (Maitre of our restaurant).

We hope you will return to the Quirinale on some future occasion when we shall do our best to ensure that you fully enjoy our services and hospitality.
Best regards. Rita Russotto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Once again, the Hotel Quirinale proved to be a solid choice for our group [of 18.] Rooms were ready on arrival. Breakfast buffet wonderful. Dinners at hotel were excellent. [in particular, thank you, Gabriel, for fabulous service!] More on the dinners: The food is above par for a hotel, with a group. The only down-side of our stay: Late April and the temperatures: Individual room air conditioners were not operational: This we reluctantly accept as Italian standard for seasonal travel. [Note to Quirinale: Purchase enough small fans for ALL guests. It is a small investment to have enough fans for everyone who might have that request! Most unfair that some - BUT NOT ALL - of our group were provided fans.]

Room Tip: Request rooms facing the courtyard. Street view rooms were loud due to outside noise - and unavailab...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Accidental_Pilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Check in was flawless and everything went very smooth. We even got upgraded to a suite. We had booked two connecting rooms. The rooms are really good sized as are the bathrooms. We got rooms facing the inside of the property and I was very happy. If you've never stayed in Rome before, the main streets tend to to be busy and loud with cars passing and people walking home late. So all of that was skipped. Breakfast was decent, simple menu. The breads tasted like they were a week old. Automatic coffee machines were on hand to speed up coffee making. Front desk experience after check in was hit and miss. On a good day they were all smiles other says they just didn't seemed interested. The shower head in the tub was awkward and most of the time the water was coming out of the tub. Very uncomfortable. Close to the subway and a brisk 20 minutes from pantheon makes it very accessible to stay at. I would stay here again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank RDMWorldTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Good location, that's about it. Front of house staff arrogant, rude, cannot be bothered with tourists. The Hotel itself is very tired, our room was adequate, the door to our room needed a man to bash door open with shoulder, a woman would have found it difficult to open. We were supposed to be in non-smoking room but could not have air con on as absolutely smelt as if someone had been smoking right there in room. Breakfast buffet good. We are supposed to be staying here on our return from Sicily but will be cancelling our booking & staying elsewhere. Management has obviously buried their heads, there are far to many Hotels offering a better deal than this, go ahead & do your homework, there's better out there than this.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KazaPerthWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
russotto, assistente di direzione at Quirinale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Kaza,
Thank you so much for reporting your impressions about your recent stay at our hotel.
Your request of a non- smoking room was accorded – in fact your room was on a non-smoking floor.
Maybe, the smell which you refer to, was relating to some paint works which were taking place during that period.
However, we are pleased that you enjoyed our buffet breakfast that during this season is available in the garden as well.
We are sorry you are going to cancel your future reservation since we shall be pleased to personally ensure that you are accorded the best service and accommodation in order to change your perception of our hotel.
Please rest assure that the Management takes great care to ensure the wellbeing of all our guests.
Hope to welcoming you in the future, we remain,
with best regards.
Rita Russotto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel from 23-30 April 2014. Overall we were very pleased with everything. A lady named La La got us registered with no problems at all. She was very professional and answered all our inquiries to our satisfaction. A gentleman named Angelo was also very helpful with our luggage. We stayed in Room 545, which is in the back with a view of the courtyard. The hotel does a fantastic job with breakfast. Lot of choices. We ate at the hotel restaurant. Very good food, again with a good amount of choices.The hotel is close to Termini Station (main train station) in case you want to take a side trip out of town, and has the bus (#64 & 40) close by. I would also recommend using the "Metro" (underground subway) which you can catch all over the city. The charge for a single ride for either the bus or metro is 1.5 Euros. You can buy tickets at the magazine stand just outside the hotel entrance.

Room Tip: If you want a quieter room, ask for a room in the back overlooking the courtyard.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sparty1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
The Britannia Hotel
The Britannia Hotel
#126 of 1,267 in Rome
1,209 reviews
Esquilino
Starhotels Metropole
Starhotels Metropole
#173 of 1,267 in Rome
2,224 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#36 of 1,267 in Rome
1,354 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,267 in Rome
4,234 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,267 in Rome
6,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quirinale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quirinale Hotel

Address: Via Nazionale 7, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#128 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#205 Family Hotel in Rome
#274 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £77 - £236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quirinale Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Quirinale, a beautiful 4-star hotel located in the heart of Rome, is near the major highlights of the city. Period furniture, valuable fabrics and original oil paintings decorate the spacious public rooms and lounges. The 209elegant rooms and suites are fully equipped with every modern comfort.Free WI-FI connection in all public areas and in each room.It is the ideal place to spend an unforgettable stay, both for families and business people. Conventions, meetings and receptions in a welcoming atmosphere – adjoining meeting rooms adaptable to any request with advanced technology and professional staff.Guests can experience the best of Italian cuisine at our Rossini Restaurant or a light snack at the Green Bar, during Spring and Summer months in the peace of our private garden.The history of the Hotel Quirinale is indissolubly linked to the adjoining Opera House, connected to the hotel by a direct passage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Quirinale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Quirinale Rome
Rome Quirinale
Quirinale Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing