We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to top moderately priced hotel”
Review of Hotel Rex

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Rex
Ranked #559 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 30 May 2012

A moderately priced small (approx. 50 rooms) hotel I can highly recommend. Public areas fresh, clean with a good bit of marble decoration. Staff is perhaps the most friendly, accommodating and helpful I have encountered. Our room was comfortable and nicely decorated (again the marble- in the bathroom). The bed was better than my one at home. One minor flaw, no view, but that is being picky considering how good everything else was. Continental breakfast was reasonably well stocked and fresh. The breakfast room was tastefully ( no pun intended) decorated. Convenient location close to subway stop, shopping and short walk to many tourist attractions (e.g.15 minutes to Victor Emmanuel Monument). The hotel restaurant, although expensive, is worth every euro. A gourmet delight as course after course is chosen for you, impeccably served and explained, for you to savor. Accompanied by a recommended wine that is the perfect complement. Also, all the near by restaurants we tried were very good - especially those recommended by the Rex staff. I am looking at forward to our next stay.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Peripatetic_Moose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (924)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Rex
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

416 - 422 of 925 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2012

We would not have stayed at the Rex except that the hotel we booked overbooked and offered us a deal if we would stay at the Rex for one night instead. The Rex is an older property but in relatively good shape. Despite what other reviewers have said we had a huge room. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable, and breakfast was good. The staff was among the most friendly and helpful I've ever experienced. Given its convenient location, the Rex is a good value in a rather expensive city.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank conradmeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

The Hotel Rex staff was very friendly, but the hotel has seen better days. It was convenient to Roma Termini - 7 minute walk and other sites in Rome. We were able to walk to all of the major sites (within a 25 minute walk radius). This was one of the main reasons for selecting this place. The carpet and furnishings were worn, but serviceable. They were nice enough to hold onto the our extra luggage for several days between our 2 stays. The iMacs in the rooms are more than just fun decorations, they actually work. The complimentary WiFi is a plus. If you're looking for an acceptable place to stay that is convenient to sites and Roma Termini, this is a place for you. If you're looking for well-appointed accommodation, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gayle Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

My whole family stayed in Hotel Rex for 3 nights last mid-April and were pleased with their service specially their very accommodating reception staffs. They gave us 2 triple rooms in the new wing with playstation 2 machines that entertained my teenage kids every night. I was also surprised with the big size rooms having ample space to put our luggage and to move around compared to my previous experience in the 2 other hotels. The rooms were very clean and the food was as expected. I particularly remembered Laura in the reception who was really nice and helpful.
Overall, the hotel left a good impression on all of us and would highly recommend it to my friends and family.

Room Tip: If your are getting a triple room, opt for room 218. It has a long corridor, good size room and toi...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shadow801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We are currently here for one week and our stay has been very comfortable so far. Very clean and staff is very attentive and accomodating. The room is slightly small but in truth more than satisfactory it is very clean. The air conditioning is okay but does not beat opening up the window for fresh air. Wireless internet works well we are on the 2nd floor. Continental style breakfast with many add-ons - great latte. The location is well within walking distance of all the major attractions except maybe the Vatican but if you set out early enough you can make your way there passing trevi = the pantheon and navona. Very nice and staff have been very helpful when called upon.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2Adriana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We stayed at the Rex for several nights in February and enjoyed ourselves immensely. The staff really make the hotel -- charming, helpful, friendly. Due to the snow while we were there, many of the sites in central Rome were closed, and the desk staff called various places to help us find open sites. They also helped us call to reserve our bus back to the airport. The room, which we booked through Expedia, was very small (teeny tiny!) but adequate for how little time we spent there. Breakfasts were great -- good variety with eggs, cereals, lots of pastries, meats, etc. They'll make up special coffees, too, for no extra charge. The hotel is convenient to transit and within easy walking distance of most sites. We would definitely stay here again!

Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank JinxieCLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

My friend & I have recently returned from a 3 night stay at Hotel Rex in Rome. We opted for this hotel due to its location. It is a very short walk to the Termini station, which is an ideal base for most top attractions, and an even shorter walk to the open top bus tours. I would recommend the Yellow service (Los Christinas or something like that) as they do a 3 day pass which also includes free entry to metros, buses, trams etc, 26 euros well spent.

As far as the hotel goes, the gentleman who checked us in was extremely polite and very helpful, likewise the lady who checked us out was very pleasant. Their helpfulness came to the fore, when my friend realised half way back to the airport that she had left her phone in the room. They rang one of her contacts to find out how to contact her and how to get it back to her, and they will be posting it out to her in the UK, so helpful and honest.

The room itself was, as expected, very small, but for the amount of time we spent in there it was adequate. It was also very dingy as we were on the ground floor so our view of a manky building opposite was disappointing. This also meant that it was very noisy all through the night and into the morning, it seemed to pick up noises from all over the hotel. The only major fault about the room was the toilet flush. Lets just say it struggled somewhat!

The breakfast was very disappointing, I have been to a number of European cities over the last few years and breakfast is something I always look forward to. Not so at Hotel Rex; stale cereal, stale pastries, cold omelette, no variety. But it filled the hole until lunch time.

point to note: if you use the shuttle bus to the airport, do NOT use Fast Line, they cancelled the 8:30 bus, even though they took our money from us, and didnt tell us, and were not helpful in providing alternative modes of transport and were reluctant to give us our money back. We used Terravision on the way to the airport and they were great, so opt for them.

Overall our trip was fantastic, Rome is a beautiful city, with plenty to do, and we had the weather on our side too. Particular highlights, the Collosseum, the Trevi fountains and the Spanish Steps.

Room Tip: We stayed on the left side of the hotel, this was very noisy as near the breakfast area, so opt for...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SHG81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Bettoja Atlantico Hotel
Bettoja Atlantico Hotel
#507 of 1,267 in Rome
526 reviews
Esquilino
Augusta Lucilla Palace
Augusta Lucilla Palace
#187 of 1,267 in Rome
1,712 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Palladium Palace
Hotel Palladium Palace
#232 of 1,267 in Rome
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Ariston Hotel
Ariston Hotel
#170 of 1,267 in Rome
1,041 reviews
Esquilino
Best Western Plus Hotel Universo
Esquilino
Demetra Hotel
Demetra Hotel
#353 of 1,267 in Rome
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rex

Address: Via Torino 149, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#271 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £68 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rex 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Rex is a charming and cosy histori hotel located a few steps away from the Opera House and Saint Mary Major Basilica and 15 minutes away by walking from the Colosseum. Our guests and their needs are at the centre of our work and the staff is ready to assist you 24 hours a day. All the rooms are equipped with free WiFi connection, Tea&Coffee maker, Playstation with a selection of films and games available for free at Reception, Sky, airconditioning, minibar and inroom safe. Our delicious breakfast with homemade cakes, quiche and omelettes is served every day in our cosy breakfast room. The Rex Bar tempts you with coffee, cappuccino and a good selection of wine. To enjoy yourself, use the brand new "Rex Fight Club" Fitness Centre with the possibility to exercise with the Wii on a maxi screen or sunbath on the Terrace. Great news are coming: a new Restaurant and brand new rooms are going to come! Come to the Hotel Rex and experience the best in Rome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Rex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rex Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing