We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice conveniently sighted hotel”
Review of Hotel Rex

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Rex
Ranked #549 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 11 November 2013

A pleasant hotel to stop in. Lots of marble & Roman stylishness. The Reception Staff were always extremely helpful. The hotel is situated a short walk from the Colosseum & the Trevi Fountain. Lots of nice restaurants close by.

A good place to search Rome from

Room Tip: The hotel only overlooks streets
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vic W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (926)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Rex
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

279 - 285 of 926 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2013

We recently stayed at the Hotel Rex in Rome. Found it on Trip Advisor! It was the perfect place for us...we had five rooms and all of us loved our accommodations. The hotel has a great location a block from a Metro stop, and around the corner from incredible and reasonable restaurants so you can walk from the hotel and back which we really liked. The staff is so very gracious, professional, and accommodating. There is a wonderful buffet breakfast in the morning and the place is spotless. Great linens...when was the last time you had a bath sheet in a hotel bathroom? And on a towel warmer...ask for Room 101, it was perfect! It was a very reasonable stay as well. We would all certainly return there and would highly recommend the Hotel Rex. Six of us are from the USA and three of us from France...and all agreed it was a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Room 101 was our room and we loved it...only drawback was poor reading lights! We spent all our time...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PJM835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

This hotel is an example of how staff can change a average hotel into a very good hotel. The lobby, breakfast area and lounge area of the hotel have the look and feel of a hostel. However the rooms are more towards the luxury end. The smiling, helpful multi lingual staff are very welcome after a long flight. This hotel is very near the termini train station and in a good area. The hotels website photos are a little deceiving but since we got a very good rate we were very happy with this place. Would stay again

Room Tip: Very small elevator may be a problem for the obese so choose a ground floor room.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WillyDoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stayed almost a week and found the staff be be very helpful and courteous. Our room was small but functional and clean. We especially liked the safe in the room that accommodated all of our valuables (including ipad). Very little English programming on TV but channel 301 movie channel (free) can be changed to original language of film with the remote. Wifii worked well in our room. On arrival to rome we grabbed a transfer bus from airport for only 5 eu to termini (train station) then walked the 10 min to hotel. Excellent North American style breakfast that would cost 10 eu on the street each. Felt safe walking around the city but were cautious about pickpockets etc (as are the locals).

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheMeatMan250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Spent two nights in Rome at the end of our trip and we stayed at the Hotel Rex. Convenient location to all the major attractions and rooms were clean. Ordered some wine and cheese to take to our room and the cheese selection was not the greatest. Breakfast in the mornings was fair.

Room Tip: Two blocks off Nationale Street - very close to walk to all major attractions.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

The location is very convenient to the train station and all the major sights.The staff at the hotel were extremely helpful and accommodating. We had a problem with our room. The staff responded immediately and quickly assisted us in changing to another room without hesitation. I am sorry to say that the rooms are in dire need of renovation: wallpaper is peeling off the walls; several plugs fell out when we plugged in our converter; fixtures are missing knobs; lights that don't work; stained carpeting and a remote so dirty that we wouldn't use it.
Additionally, the breakfast was very mediocre.
However, having said all of that, I give kudos to EVERY employee for courtesy, kindness and helpfulness.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Puckhead105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Travelling by train so this was very conveniently situated. Also convenient for buses and many of the main sights.
Given a very warm welcome and an up-grade and reception staff were very very friendly and helpful at all times.
Tea/coffee facilities in room but there seemed a great reluctance to replace coffee and milk and we always had to go to the desk and ask for it.
Our room (401) was spacious but rather dingy and somehow needed sprucing up.Fortunately we were out all day and evenings as it wasn`t a room that I felt I could relax in or enjoy. Outside the room the carpet was dirty and shabby.
Breakfast was available in the basement which was light and clean. Breakfast was not good(certainly nothing like as good as most hotels we stayed in during this touring holiday of Italy). We were given a very small basket between us with two small pieces of bread,one white ,one wholemeal, so hard luck if you both wanted the same! Also two very small rolls,one mini croissant and one mini pain chocolate. Everywhere else we were able to help ourselves from a seemingly endless supply, but here it felt like "penny pinching" and as tho we were very restricted. Certain items (eggs, bacon, grapefruit)incurred an extra cost!

Room Tip: Room 401 was in a good position, quiet as it overlooked an interior courtyard. It was spacious and h...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Py M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Bettoja Atlantico Hotel
Bettoja Atlantico Hotel
#507 of 1,267 in Rome
526 reviews
Esquilino
Augusta Lucilla Palace
Augusta Lucilla Palace
#187 of 1,267 in Rome
1,715 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Palladium Palace
Hotel Palladium Palace
#238 of 1,267 in Rome
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Ariston Hotel
Ariston Hotel
#169 of 1,267 in Rome
1,043 reviews
Esquilino
Starhotels Metropole
Starhotels Metropole
#172 of 1,267 in Rome
2,225 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Massimo D'Azeglio
Hotel Massimo D'Azeglio
#314 of 1,267 in Rome
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rex

Address: Via Torino 149, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#269 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £68 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rex 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Rex is a charming and cosy histori hotel located a few steps away from the Opera House and Saint Mary Major Basilica and 15 minutes away by walking from the Colosseum. Our guests and their needs are at the centre of our work and the staff is ready to assist you 24 hours a day. All the rooms are equipped with free WiFi connection, Tea&Coffee maker, Playstation with a selection of films and games available for free at Reception, Sky, airconditioning, minibar and inroom safe. Our delicious breakfast with homemade cakes, quiche and omelettes is served every day in our cosy breakfast room. The Rex Bar tempts you with coffee, cappuccino and a good selection of wine. To enjoy yourself, use the brand new "Rex Fight Club" Fitness Centre with the possibility to exercise with the Wii on a maxi screen or sunbath on the Terrace. Great news are coming: a new Restaurant and brand new rooms are going to come! Come to the Hotel Rex and experience the best in Rome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Rex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rex Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing