We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend break”
Review of Hotel Rex

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Rex
Ranked #515 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Very welcoming hotel, large room, very large comfortable bed. Ensuite large with small shower that had low pressure, broken toilet seat. Breakfast was ok nothing to rave about Sundays was much better- variety and taste. Staff offered good advice. Information booklet reasonable, map of Rome given. Within walking distance of most attractions. Stayed using Avios

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank heleneshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (942)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

279 - 285 of 942 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2014

This Hotel was absolutely PERFECT!!!! From the service, the food, the location and Serena, the Francesca's, and Mario we could not have asked for anything better. The staff was sooooo helpful and the best! Feel as if we made lifelong friends. The location was just a short walk to Termini station, the Opera house, a quaint little street market, restaurants, Gelato shops, bakeries and several other bus lines. Location, location, location. The rooms have been redone and is perfect for family. We will go back to this quaint hotel and it's precious staff! Priced right, breakfast buffet with Cappucino, who could ask for more!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Cindy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Nice hotel clean , the food was great ,close to metro, resto to eat round,hotel staff was very friendly and helpful,just the air condition does nit work very well .but it's one the better places to stay.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
Thank jinxx99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

we booked a superior room through the Avios site to provide a base for a 60th birthday trip to Rome just before Christmas; Hotel pretty well met expectations , particularly in terms of staff friendliness and attentiveness; eg we had a problem with the room safe not locking ; within 5 minutes their maintenance guy turned up and had the problem solved within another 5. Excellent location for walking and metro access ; Comfortable room and good breakfast variety ; the only issues which reduce the score were that whilst very clean, the bathroom needs some refurbishment - the bathroom tap was seized up , so that whilst the shower worked it was not possible to run a bath ; also the coffee and tea making supplies in the room were a bit mean ( standard issue - 1 english tea bag each day ) ; Although there were never any issues about asking the reception staff for extras, it was a bit of pain to have to trot round to the front desk each time

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grumpycornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We booked a room in hotel Rex at Christmas. They gave us the opportunity to upgrade to an apartment nearby the Trevi Fountain. This for a small amount of money; a Christmas offer they said. It was great! Flavia and Kevin run the place. Very kind, very helpful. They tipped us a few restaurants which were very nice and payable!
We certainly come back to Rome and book at the Hotel Rex.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jos S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We returned to Rome after a cruise for one more night in the city before flying home. Our first hotel was completely booked so we looked for another in the neighborhood because we liked the area so much. The Hotel Rex was our choice and we are so glad we stayed there. The staff was warm and friendly. The room was amazing; we loved the décor and the bathroom was so charming. There is a living room area with games and toys for guests. Each corner of the hotel, staircases and odd little areas have a scenario of vintage Italian products. The breakfast room is bright and cheerful. The fare was delicious, much more than just continental. I wish now that I had purchased one of the hand painted T-shirts in the lobby.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank nidsurlac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We had a fabulous stay at this very friendly family run Hotel. The staff were incredibly friendly, particularly Francesca who recommended several good bars and restaurants. It is situated within easy reach of bus and train terminus and within easy walking distance of many attractions including the Trevi Fountain. We hope to return again soon.

Room Tip: Suggest an upgrade to the Superior, has plenty of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Palladium Palace
Hotel Palladium Palace
#236 of 1,271 in Rome
914 reviews
Esquilino
Starhotels Metropole
Starhotels Metropole
#166 of 1,271 in Rome
2,266 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Nord Nuova Roma
Hotel Nord Nuova Roma
#232 of 1,271 in Rome
1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Augusta Lucilla Palace
Augusta Lucilla Palace
#185 of 1,271 in Rome
1,753 reviews
Esquilino
Best Western Plus Hotel Universo
Esquilino
Hotel Genova
Hotel Genova
#417 of 1,271 in Rome
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rex

Address: Via Torino 149, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#260 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £61 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rex 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Rex is a charming and cosy histori hotel located a few steps away from the Opera House and Saint Mary Major Basilica and 15 minutes away by walking from the Colosseum. Our guests and their needs are at the centre of our work and the staff is ready to assist you 24 hours a day. All the rooms are equipped with free WiFi connection, Tea&Coffee maker, Playstation with a selection of films and games available for free at Reception, Sky, airconditioning, minibar and inroom safe. Our delicious breakfast with homemade cakes, quiche and omelettes is served every day in our cosy breakfast room. The Rex Bar tempts you with coffee, cappuccino and a good selection of wine. To enjoy yourself, use the brand new "Rex Fight Club" Fitness Centre with the possibility to exercise with the Wii on a maxi screen or sunbath on the Terrace. Great news are coming: a new Restaurant and brand new rooms are going to come! Come to the Hotel Rex and experience the best in Rome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Rex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rex Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing