We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rome for a night ”
Review of Hotel Rex

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Rex
Ranked #590 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Rome for a night ”
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

Had a comfortable stay in this ideally located hotel. Hotel staff spoke enough English for easy check in/out. Location was key as we took the train into Rome from the airport and the train to Civitavecchia the next day the location made for easy transportation and allowed us to see all of Rome we desired by foot. In an afternoon and a morning we were able to see the colosseum (guided), roman forum (guided), pantheon, Trevi fountain and the Vatican museum (guided), Sistine chapel (guided) and St. Peter's basilica (guided). Put on a nice breakfast to boot!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tristan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    369
    163
    81
    47
See reviews for
186
429
30
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Great location - close to Termini - very easy walking distance, close to Republicca Metro stop/ Via Nationalize and also to Via Cavour - go straight along this road and find the Colleseum, Roman Forum, Trajan's market and more within an easy 20/25 minute stroll.

The hotel - great welcoming check in - reception are English spoken and will help plan your day/visits to attractions, Rome street maps freely available from reception, details of a selection of nearby restaurants - but this is Rome restaurants and pizza bars are everywhere.

We booked a Superior room which was good, had free wi-fi, mini bar and tea/coffee making facilities that can be topped up from reception but the bathroom let the overall room quality down a little, small shower which we could cope with but it needed slightly more attention to detail to cleaning inside of the door runners of the shower doors, corners, some tile re-grouting needed and the hair dryer cable dusty,- may be that's being picky but it is a 4 star hotel and it was a Superior room.

However cost wise Hotel Rex is excellent value especially for a city centre hotel so don't let this put you off. The "Average" rating is a little misleading it should read "GOOD".

Breakfast - a selection of cereals, fruit, yoghurt, hot drinks, juice, cold meat, cheese, tomatoes, pastries and warm buffet eggs and bacon - ask for an Italian coffee - also chargeable extras are available. Plenty to get your day off to a good start.

other facilities - gym - not used, library / t.v. room off reception, DVDs available and console games to choose from.
Restaurant - not used.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MS58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario's Highlands, Canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Great Hotel with easy access to the train termini. It is only a 5-10 minute walk from the station. It also give easy access to the hop on hop off buses that also run from the termini.
The staff was friendly, the room was excellent, very clean nicely appointed and even had with free wifi. It was larger than we expected from a European room. Our friends also took a room here and we were equally pleased. The included breakfast was very nice and there was good selection.
I would use the Rex again in a heartbeat !!. Not the cheapest hotel available but I consider it good value. Thanks for the nice 3 night stay Rex.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fred R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aviano, Italy
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

My husband, myself, and our 16 month old (along with two other families with babies around the same age!) stayed at Hotel Rex for three nights and could not have been happier. The rooms were very spacious and very clean. Our bed was extremely comfortable. They provided pack and plays for all of the babies in our group, even had them set up in our rooms ready to go! Breakfast was included and pretty good, simple, but good. They had yogurts, fruit, eggs, bacon, and different pastries. They have a small playroom for little kids to play around in. It is right next to the hotel bar too! All of the staff was very friendly.
The hotel is just a few blocks away from the Termini train station and right in the middle of two different metro lines.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BraynaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auchterarder, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Very welcoming hotel, large room, very large comfortable bed. Ensuite large with small shower that had low pressure, broken toilet seat. Breakfast was ok nothing to rave about Sundays was much better- variety and taste. Staff offered good advice. Information booklet reasonable, map of Rome given. Within walking distance of most attractions. Stayed using Avios

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank heleneshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evans, Georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

This Hotel was absolutely PERFECT!!!! From the service, the food, the location and Serena, the Francesca's, and Mario we could not have asked for anything better. The staff was sooooo helpful and the best! Feel as if we made lifelong friends. The location was just a short walk to Termini station, the Opera house, a quaint little street market, restaurants, Gelato shops, bakeries and several other bus lines. Location, location, location. The rooms have been redone and is perfect for family. We will go back to this quaint hotel and it's precious staff! Priced right, breakfast buffet with Cappucino, who could ask for more!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jinxx99
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel clean , the food was great ,close to metro, resto to eat round,hotel staff was very friendly and helpful,just the air condition does nit work very well .but it's one the better places to stay.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank jinxx99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Ariston Hotel
Ariston Hotel
#158 of 1,256 in Rome
960 reviews
Esquilino
Augusta Lucilla Palace
Augusta Lucilla Palace
#182 of 1,256 in Rome
1,665 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Palladium Palace
Hotel Palladium Palace
#254 of 1,256 in Rome
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Morgana
Hotel Morgana
#133 of 1,256 in Rome
1,170 reviews
Esquilino
Best Western Plus Hotel Universo
Esquilino
Selene Style Hotel
Selene Style Hotel
#119 of 1,256 in Rome
1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rex

Property: Hotel Rex
Address: Via Torino 149, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#277 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rex 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Rex is a charming and cosy histori hotel located a few steps away from the Opera House and Saint Mary Major Basilica and 15 minutes away by walking from the Colosseum. Our guests and their needs are at the centre of our work and the staff is ready to assist you 24 hours a day. All the rooms are equipped with free WiFi connection, Tea&Coffee maker, Playstation with a selection of films and games available for free at Reception, Sky, airconditioning, minibar and inroom safe. Our delicious breakfast with homemade cakes, quiche and omelettes is served every day in our cosy breakfast room. The Rex Bar tempts you with coffee, cappuccino and a good selection of wine. To enjoy yourself, use the brand new "Rex Fight Club" Fitness Centre with the possibility to exercise with the Wii on a maxi screen or sunbath on the Terrace. Great news are coming: a new Restaurant and brand new rooms are going to come! Come to the Hotel Rex and experience the best in Rome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Rex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rex Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing