We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, but not quite 4*”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Rex

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Rex
Ranked #568 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
East Anglia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great place, but not quite 4*”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed here 3 nights using Avios points and for the price/deal it was excellent value. If we'd paid full price expecting 4 star we'd have been disappointed as the bathroom was decided past it's best, a sorted of aged, fading elegance at best, shabby at worst, but clean it was desperately in need of refurbishment.
The bed was really comfortable and the room spacious, but the only sockets we could find for the kettle were on the floor - ok so long as you remember not to walk too close.
The building is lovely and the 'lounge' area great, as is free use of a computer and printer. We used wi fi in our room, but used the computer to print google maps and directions to place we wanted to visit that were not marked on the map.
The staff were very helpful and gave good advice on, for example the best way to get to the Vatican, or the easiest route to Spanish steps. We were able to check out but leave our bags there for the afternoon as we had an early evening flight.
We investigated their list of place to eat etc but found them to be too far away or too expensive/upmarket but enjoyed a great meal just round the corner in Via Viminale - Fontana al Viminale. A real plus point for this hotel is that it is really quiet and all the main sights are in easy walking distance, except the Vatican, which is easily reached by the metro. It's also handy for the trains and buses at Termini without being too close. I would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheetah333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    366
    158
    79
    43
See reviews for
183
423
29
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

Just come back after 5 days in Rome.
This hotel is cosy, simple and friendly. The staff are lovely, really friendly and could not be more helpful! They gave us a map of the city and pinpointed all the attractions, how to get there, they called taxis for us and gave us a list of restaurants they recommended.
The room is simple but comfortable. Nice big bathroom and sky tv! Breakfast room is quirky like a family home- but the breakfast wasnt all that. This hotel is in good walking distance of the colosseum, trevi fountain, spanish steps and pantheon. All in all i would recommend this hotel.

Helpful?
1 Thank XeniaGabriel
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

I loved staying here!
We were first given a ground floor room but I asked to move as soon as, and we were transferred without fuss to a 2nd floor one, looking quite classy and kept very clean throughout our stay.
The highlights were: the huge window with shutters, very wide and comfortable bed, built-in radio with channels, kettle in the room (use your own tea bags unless you're happy to pay an extra few Euros for the selection provided).
Breakfast was a feast! great variety of everything and the pastries baked fresh on site. Free capuccino's on request (included and very recommended!).
Great location to walk practically anywhere in central Rome. A few metro stops to Vatican and other places if you didn't want to walk.
TV room with books & DVD's that you can also borrow for your room at reception.
Staff polite, friendly and helpful.
I can only say good things about this place!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

Had a comfortable stay in this ideally located hotel. Hotel staff spoke enough English for easy check in/out. Location was key as we took the train into Rome from the airport and the train to Civitavecchia the next day the location made for easy transportation and allowed us to see all of Rome we desired by foot. In an afternoon and a morning we were able to see the colosseum (guided), roman forum (guided), pantheon, Trevi fountain and the Vatican museum (guided), Sistine chapel (guided) and St. Peter's basilica (guided). Put on a nice breakfast to boot!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tristan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

Great location - close to Termini - very easy walking distance, close to Republicca Metro stop/ Via Nationalize and also to Via Cavour - go straight along this road and find the Colleseum, Roman Forum, Trajan's market and more within an easy 20/25 minute stroll.

The hotel - great welcoming check in - reception are English spoken and will help plan your day/visits to attractions, Rome street maps freely available from reception, details of a selection of nearby restaurants - but this is Rome restaurants and pizza bars are everywhere.

We booked a Superior room which was good, had free wi-fi, mini bar and tea/coffee making facilities that can be topped up from reception but the bathroom let the overall room quality down a little, small shower which we could cope with but it needed slightly more attention to detail to cleaning inside of the door runners of the shower doors, corners, some tile re-grouting needed and the hair dryer cable dusty,- may be that's being picky but it is a 4 star hotel and it was a Superior room.

However cost wise Hotel Rex is excellent value especially for a city centre hotel so don't let this put you off. The "Average" rating is a little misleading it should read "GOOD".

Breakfast - a selection of cereals, fruit, yoghurt, hot drinks, juice, cold meat, cheese, tomatoes, pastries and warm buffet eggs and bacon - ask for an Italian coffee - also chargeable extras are available. Plenty to get your day off to a good start.

other facilities - gym - not used, library / t.v. room off reception, DVDs available and console games to choose from.
Restaurant - not used.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MS58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario's Highlands, Canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

Great Hotel with easy access to the train termini. It is only a 5-10 minute walk from the station. It also give easy access to the hop on hop off buses that also run from the termini.
The staff was friendly, the room was excellent, very clean nicely appointed and even had with free wifi. It was larger than we expected from a European room. Our friends also took a room here and we were equally pleased. The included breakfast was very nice and there was good selection.
I would use the Rex again in a heartbeat !!. Not the cheapest hotel available but I consider it good value. Thanks for the nice 3 night stay Rex.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fred R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aviano, Italy
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

My husband, myself, and our 16 month old (along with two other families with babies around the same age!) stayed at Hotel Rex for three nights and could not have been happier. The rooms were very spacious and very clean. Our bed was extremely comfortable. They provided pack and plays for all of the babies in our group, even had them set up in our rooms ready to go! Breakfast was included and pretty good, simple, but good. They had yogurts, fruit, eggs, bacon, and different pastries. They have a small playroom for little kids to play around in. It is right next to the hotel bar too! All of the staff was very friendly.
The hotel is just a few blocks away from the Termini train station and right in the middle of two different metro lines.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BraynaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Starhotels Metropole
Starhotels Metropole
#165 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,116 reviews
Esquilino
Selene Style Hotel
Selene Style Hotel
#124 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
Esquilino
Ariston Hotel
Ariston Hotel
#158 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Morgana
Hotel Morgana
#126 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
Esquilino
Augusta Lucilla Palace
Augusta Lucilla Palace
#182 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,624 reviews
Esquilino
Demetra Hotel
Demetra Hotel
#310 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rex

Property: Hotel Rex
Address: Via Torino 149, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#272 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rex 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Rex is a charming and cosy histori hotel located a few steps away from the Opera House and Saint Mary Major Basilica and 15 minutes away by walking from the Colosseum. Our guests and their needs are at the centre of our work and the staff is ready to assist you 24 hours a day. All the rooms are equipped with free WiFi connection, Tea&Coffee maker, Playstation with a selection of films and games available for free at Reception, Sky, airconditioning, minibar and inroom safe. Our delicious breakfast with homemade cakes, quiche and omelettes is served every day in our cosy breakfast room. The Rex Bar tempts you with coffee, cappuccino and a good selection of wine. To enjoy yourself, use the brand new "Rex Fight Club" Fitness Centre with the possibility to exercise with the Wii on a maxi screen or sunbath on the Terrace. Great news are coming: a new Restaurant and brand new rooms are going to come! Come to the Hotel Rex and experience the best in Rome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Rex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rex Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing