We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely friendly Hotel Rex”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Rex

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Rex
Ranked #569 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
bromley
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely friendly Hotel Rex”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed at Hotel Rex May 15th to May 18th. We walked right passed it at first! The lady at reception was lovely. Our room was a good size Room 202. The shutters were closed but we asked at the desk for them to be opened whilst we were out. The bed was so wide and I had such a good nights sleep on it. Breakfast was taken up on the roof terrace and was lovely. The waiter was so helpful. Breakfast is continental and just right. We rang out of coffee sachets and again was supplied more when asked. We did go to the breakfast room and get a cup of milk and put it in the fridge as the dried milk ran out and was not so nice. We didn't use the restaurant or lounge but it all looked fab. The Hotel is about 10 min walk to the station where we would pick up the Roma Christina hop on/off bus (Omina pass totally recommend it) and also very central for many of the sites. Just a little tip please be careful when getting the Leanadro Express train from the station. Young boys were grabbing people's suitcases and putting them on the train then hassling them for euro.

Room Tip: Room 202 didin't have a view but was large and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julsmudgey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    366
    158
    79
    43
See reviews for
183
423
29
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Rex 13-15 May. The staff, in particular Francesca are so helpful and accommodating. The children were treated with kindness and respect and they loved the playstation! The room was clean and well laid out for a family of 4. The welcome postcard and all the little nice touches made this a great visit. The breakfast is light, but perfect. Overall a terrific stay which we all enjoyed thanks to the Hotel Rex. Thanks again Francesca you're terrific!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1965beetle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

My wife, son and I stayed at the Rex for a week and loved everything about our stay - friendly service, great value, good breakfast, clean comfortable rooms, excellent dinning, great location to have as your home base to visit all of Rome.

Room Tip: Perfect location to have as a home base to walk to everything in Roma.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnwattup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

We stayed here over Easter, good base to travel around Rome by foot. The room was very clean, with dark furniture making the room dark during the day needed the lights on. The bathroom could do with some TLC mould around the shower. Breakfast was ok but could do with changing every few days. All staff were always very happy help with any questions or problems you may have. They give you a big map on arrival with all the main points of interest are marked on it.

Room Tip: Higher floor and over looking the court yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bellaboo2603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

This hotel is easy to walk to from Termini Station. It's in a great location for sight seeing! Make sure you take trainers or walking shoes, my pumps bruised by toes from all the walking!
We went October 2013 and had a great stay (even got engaged at the Sistine Chapel).
The lady on reception was so helpful, gave us a huge map and marked out all the main attractions, places to eat, shop etc!
The hotel room was dated and a bit grubby in places but overall we had a great stay! Every morning we had a photocopy of our home country's local news posted under the door.
Breakfast was very small and friendly (hot chocolate is yummy).

Room Tip: Request a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woodwink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vorselaar, Belgium
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Very good location to visit Rome. Nearby the trainstation ( not even 10 min. ). Nearby the centre of Rome. ( by foot: 20 min. To the colloseum , 10 min. To the pantheon and 50 min. To the vatican). Around the hotel (Max 10 min. By foot) are many many places to have breakfast, lunch and diner. The hotel itself is ok. The room was clean. The bathroom could have been cleaner. It was also rather small, certainly the shower.
Breakfast was minor. Lousy coffee, little bread. We would recommend just to talk a room, and have breakfast outside. A lot of choice in Rome to have breakfast: cheaper and better!
The service was good. Very friendly staff.
Overall: the hotel was ok, good location. However, if we ever go back to Rome, we would try An other hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Very friendly staff, nice and clean room.
Oud kids received some drawing papers and coloring equipment.
Close tot termini station and only 15 minute walk to trevi fountain and such.

We van recommend this hotel to everybody.

Helpful?
1 Thank Sven B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Starhotels Metropole
Starhotels Metropole
#167 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,116 reviews
Esquilino
Selene Style Hotel
Selene Style Hotel
#122 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
Esquilino
Ariston Hotel
Ariston Hotel
#161 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Morgana
Hotel Morgana
#123 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
Esquilino
Augusta Lucilla Palace
Augusta Lucilla Palace
#180 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,624 reviews
Esquilino
Demetra Hotel
Demetra Hotel
#310 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rex

Property: Hotel Rex
Address: Via Torino 149, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#271 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rex 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Rex is a charming and cosy histori hotel located a few steps away from the Opera House and Saint Mary Major Basilica and 15 minutes away by walking from the Colosseum. Our guests and their needs are at the centre of our work and the staff is ready to assist you 24 hours a day. All the rooms are equipped with free WiFi connection, Tea&Coffee maker, Playstation with a selection of films and games available for free at Reception, Sky, airconditioning, minibar and inroom safe. Our delicious breakfast with homemade cakes, quiche and omelettes is served every day in our cosy breakfast room. The Rex Bar tempts you with coffee, cappuccino and a good selection of wine. To enjoy yourself, use the brand new "Rex Fight Club" Fitness Centre with the possibility to exercise with the Wii on a maxi screen or sunbath on the Terrace. Great news are coming: a new Restaurant and brand new rooms are going to come! Come to the Hotel Rex and experience the best in Rome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Rex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rex Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing