We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Let down by the bathroom...”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Rex

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Rex
Ranked #561 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Let down by the bathroom...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Executive summary

Pros - Good location near Termini station, friendly staff, decent functional room amenities, very cosy 'drawing room' or living room for those who are not familiar with the term

Cons - bathroom is in need of maintenance*, room can feel outdated, standard room is on the small side (normal for Rome)

*The bathroom was very aged for a 4 star hotel, rust, mould and watermarks on wall, corners of the shower base and toilet.

I had no real issues staying at the hotel, given the staff were friendly, although I didn't spend much time at the hotel during my 4 night stay. For a 4 star hotel, the state of the bathroom was very disappointing and off-putting for the perception of the cleanliness of the room.

I hope management will make an effort to fix the bathroom, as this would make the hotel closer to the acclaimed 4 star status.

Top tip - The hotel does provide duvets, so if initially there is just a duvet cover (I guess due to summer weather?) Then request for a duvet.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank JonoMichaelL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    366
    158
    79
    43
See reviews for
183
423
29
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here for one night in July 2014. We were spending a night in Rome before traveling to the airport after returning from Sorrento.

Upon first glance, we were worried. The room is small, the bed is small. However, the room is clean, the bed is comfy. We were worried about two adults sleeping on a double sized bed, but we both slept quite well. The bathroom is tight but clean. Wifi is strong, air conditioning is OK, breakfast is delicious.

The location was good for our purposes, but I can see how the location would be a bit of a drawback. It's close to the train station, but that's not within walking distance of everything Rome has to offer.

The price was great; far less than I've spent at other hotels in Rome and for far better quality. If you are looking for something near Termini Central, book here.

Room Tip: We stayed in an economy room, and for one night was fine. Any more, and you would want more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JVillante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed one night at the Hotel Rex. It's about a 10 minute walk from the train station, and pretty easy to find. Staff were super helpful onsite and offered us information on the site, nearby restaurants, services, breakfast, and luggage assistance. Very friendly and helpful.

The hotel itself is the ok part. It's older, a little oddly configured and the rooms were just ok. The showers were a little dirty (not nasty, just needed more attention) and the hallways were drab. For a good nights sleep it's fine, but that's about it. Breakfast was ok, but not great. Overall, it's fine if you need something cheap and easy, but I wouldn't stay here for my whole vacation time in Rome.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oosch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurgaon
Level Contributor
51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

we stayed at Rex hotel, Rome for 3 nights in June, 14. Nice Location very close to train station and all major attractions. Good friendly staff. Rooms were quite ok with all the facilities and free internet. Breakfast was good with sufficient choices. Front desk was always available with smile and very friendly treatment. no complaints and would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: no particular choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kirtisan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

After researching many hotels (we needed one near the main train station), what clinched it for me was the prompt and helpful responses to any queries I had. The price also was the best I could find for 3-4 star hotel.
We were not at all disappointed, it turned out to be a good choice . The staff were friendly and could speak English. The economy room (albeit rather dark given the dark walls) was huge. Enormous and very comfortable bed. Shower was adequate no complaints. We faced a courtyard (view not great but we were hardly there).Perfectly adequate for our requirements.
I found the hotel charming and quirky. The breakfast was admittedly unusual but was more than adequate and enough variety , and good cappuccino served if asked..
The wifi strength was excellent much to my husband 's delight as he was able to do quite a bit of work using it.
It was perfect for our overnight stay and we would definitely stay there again. Highly recommended for someone seeking a central location , near walking distance to train station and budget conscious.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FedBatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

I have to say that this hotel was just in the right spot 10 minutes from the railway/bus stations and walking distance of some of the sights, Metro was 10 minutes away as well.
Hotel itself is in need of some refurbishment it looks very tired and worn .Small lounge with a wooden floor which was downright dangerous to walk on with lumps and pieces out of it!! We had a double room which was very dark decor wise and we could not open the curtains as we were overlooked by a large office block which meant the curtains had to be drawn most of the day. bathroom was very worn with rust around the shower cubicle taps were very tarnished, it was clean however and towels were changed every day. Breakfast was very poor consisting of bread, cheese, and various concoctions made up from the leftovers from the previous days food there was melon most mornings not always as fresh as it could have been, A very poor selection of cereals. On a scale of 1 to 10 I would give it a 4.

Room Tip: Make sure you are in a room that is not overlooked
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barrington1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paisley
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed here for 5 days,on arrival,check in was nice and easy,on entering our room,it was pitch black,heavy curtains all closed,immediately on opening,we discovered why,window looked onto a dirty brick wall with pipes all over it,so therefore curtains closed the full time as no natural daylight.We figured we would only be there at bedtime anyway,apart from that room ok,however there was a problem with plumbing in bathroom as more often than not there was a foul stench in there.Breakfast not great,all that i could eat were bread rolls,they had cooked cold rices and omelette available.On checkout we were asked if we had used the minibar,but on looking on arrival the mini bar hadn't even been stocked!!! All in all we got what we paid for but if you are looking for luxury this isnt for you,but served the purpose for us,but dont think i would return,but location is excellent for all sights

Room Tip: avoid 209 as has no natural daylight
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephs_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Starhotels Metropole
Starhotels Metropole
#167 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,117 reviews
Esquilino
Selene Style Hotel
Selene Style Hotel
#122 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
Esquilino
Ariston Hotel
Ariston Hotel
#158 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Morgana
Hotel Morgana
#123 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
Esquilino
Augusta Lucilla Palace
Augusta Lucilla Palace
#179 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,624 reviews
Esquilino
Demetra Hotel
Demetra Hotel
#317 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rex

Property: Hotel Rex
Address: Via Torino 149, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#269 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rex 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Rex is a charming and cosy histori hotel located a few steps away from the Opera House and Saint Mary Major Basilica and 15 minutes away by walking from the Colosseum. Our guests and their needs are at the centre of our work and the staff is ready to assist you 24 hours a day. All the rooms are equipped with free WiFi connection, Tea&Coffee maker, Playstation with a selection of films and games available for free at Reception, Sky, airconditioning, minibar and inroom safe. Our delicious breakfast with homemade cakes, quiche and omelettes is served every day in our cosy breakfast room. The Rex Bar tempts you with coffee, cappuccino and a good selection of wine. To enjoy yourself, use the brand new "Rex Fight Club" Fitness Centre with the possibility to exercise with the Wii on a maxi screen or sunbath on the Terrace. Great news are coming: a new Restaurant and brand new rooms are going to come! Come to the Hotel Rex and experience the best in Rome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Rex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rex Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing