We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The essence of the essencial” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Rubino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Rubino
Ranked #1,074 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The essence of the essencial”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

Tiny little hotel really close to Termini Station. Clean as it should be but nothing else. Near to the trains, buses and subway. The area is not the most perfect part of the Eternal City: drunken people and clochards are find each part of the day and the night.
Breakfast is served in a bar close to the hotel.
Air conditioning and TV are present, luckily!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick_med
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    50
    39
    21
    71
See reviews for
25
74
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

I read the previous reviews and was not expecting much ! We found that the room was large ,clean but basic !What else do you require when you are out all day ? The staff were very good if you treat them with respect they cant do enough .The only down side was getting the breakfast vouchers, you needed to get them the day before as finding staff early doors was a chore. The restaurant for breakfast had just opened and was very modern and clean , the staff were great and to be fair we had some of our best dinners there ! It is called the "Degli Amia Mia"
Don't get me wrong this is not four star but for a value break you could do far worse !
The hotel is 200m from the main railway and bus terminus so an ideal location, also to see the city there are "hop on/hop off buses" The green ones are the better ones as they have more stops which on the whole are closer to the sights also buy your tickets from the sellers by the terminus as you can get a discount [ around 3-4 euros ]

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the lift as it is quite noisy, also there are some rooms that are not overl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grenoble, France
Level Contributor
100 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013

I was on a business trip and I wanted an hotel close to the train station, thus I decided to choose the Hotel Rubino... Unfortunately, I did not check TripAdvisor :(

The receptionist was very rude and impolite, the hotel was smelly, the room was small and quite cold. Fortunately the bathroom was quite clean.

Breakfast is outsourced to a bar, I wasn't brave enough to try.
Internet is 5€ per day.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank enricocoste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

Fukuoka, Japan
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

The price booked and confirmed online was inflated by 25% when we arrived, with the excuse that "we didn't pay online" - which is complete bull, since the hotel had our credit card details as entered on the website, and simply didn't charge it. The room had no mobile signal for our phones, and they also tried to reduce our checkout time, as opposed to the booking confirmation. Additionally, we found out the family who runs the hotel also runs three or four other hotels in the same building, so they have a nice little operation of "competing" with each other and lying to clients about the price of the booking, whilst leaving it all "in the family", so to speak. We won't be coming back.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Ziv M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013

Hotel Robino was close to the main train station but smelly, blocked shower drain and no space in the bathroom. The smell of the air fresher was far worse than any smell they may have been trying to cover up.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
3 Thank Kezza99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

The lady at the reception desk was a Filipino lady that had the worst customer service skills; rude and not very pleasant. The room she gave us was one the first floor next to the entrance, which made it impossible to get any sleep the first night because we could hear everyone come in and ring the doorbell to get in. To top it off at 6am, the owner's mother, some old lady decided to start chatting on the phone at the top of her lungs, and I had to get out of the room and tell her to be quiet! Finally they gave us a room upstairs, but the water from the shower came out and wet the entire tiny floor, also, there are no blow driers available. Plus they over charged me from the quote I was given on easytobook.com because, "for unknown reasons, they could not charge my credit card on time." Lame! Then my friend and I ended up finding out more reviews on other websites and realized what a terrible mistake we had made by booking this hotel based on the inaccurate reviews given on this website.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Denise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Luciani
Hotel Luciani
#725 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Testaccio
Hotel Pyramid
Hotel Pyramid
#880 of 1,292 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Esquilino
Locanda Otello
Locanda Otello
#988 of 1,292 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#455 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Washington
Hotel Washington
#984 of 1,292 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Esquilino
Termini Accommodation
Termini Accommodation
#834 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rubino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rubino

Property: Hotel Rubino
Address: Via Milazzo,3, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Tiburtino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,074 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Rubino 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Rubino is situated in the historical centre of Rome, just a short distance from Termini Station and Bus Terminal. The reception desk is open 24 hours a day during the whole year. Our staff speak English for your convenience and can make reservations for day and night tours inside and outside the city. All rooms have bathroom and shower, satellite TV, central heating, Air Conditioning, Wi-Fi Internet Access and safety deposit box. Some of the services we provide include an elevator, nearby parking and taxi bookings. It is also in an ideal situation for visitors as any tourist attraction can be reached within a few minutes. The management and staff of Hotel Rubino warmly welcome you to Rome and hope you have a pleasant stay. WI-FI internet access Check in 24hrs Check out 12pm Breakfast included Credit Card facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Expedia and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Rubino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rubino Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing