We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Comfortable, Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Le Meridien Visconti Rome
Ranked #196 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 October 2011

We enjoyed our three night stay 14/15/16 Oct '11. The only room moan was only 1 thin pillow each. More were supplied from reception. Reception staff were very helpful and spoke excellent English. The bar staff were a hoot! I'm sure they were sampling their produce. Very funny to watch. It is an excellent position for most of the sights - Vatican, Trevi, Piazza Navona, Pantheon and just walking along the river.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,192)
There are newer reviews for Le Meridien Visconti Rome
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,132 - 1,138 of 2,192 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2011

We ended up at the Visconti Palace quite by accident - all of our other choices were booked - however, we were pleasantly surpised. Very helpful staff, good breakfast, nice location. The bathroom was nice, big and clean. "Miss Pizza" was the best value for our money for a quick bite to eat and was within a 30 second walk from the hotel. Very conveniently located in an unassuming neighborhood. The only drawback was that the wireless hotspot was in the reception area and they provided 30 minutes a day for free. We would return to the Visconti Palace.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJM08817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Very nice hotel, nicely renovated with all the modern conveniences. The hotel has an excellent location, very close to Castle San Angelo and nice restaurants. Friendly staff, but it helps even more if you speak some Italian, or even Spanish.

I had a two night stay at this hotel. First day my room had a wet carpet that smelled awful. The staff told that the carpet have been recently washed so maybe it was not properly dried. They offered to move me the next day after I came back from my afternoon tour.

I went back to the hotel for lunch, to pack my things and for a quick cloth change for my afternoon tour. I was surprised to find out that I have already been moved to a better, fresh clean and upgraded room. I did not expected this so I went through all my personal belongings and everything was perfectly placed.

The second night, the blower stopped working. They came immediately to fix it. But It worked for while and stopped again (maybe resistance). So, called again. They brought me another blower that worked fine but had a short cord and got constantly disconnected from the wall!!!

Finally, I dried my hair using alternately both driers. Advise: Bring your own drier from home.

Room Tip: Stayed at both sides of the building and the streets were quiet at night.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcelita77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

We found this a very suitable hotel for a couple of nights in room.
Nice clean rooms, helpful staff and quite a good location.
10 minutes walk to the Vatican - you're south of the river - through a nice area.
Not far by bus from the other sites (Coliseum and Spanish steps etc) - and the buses and good and fun.
We used the roof top restaurant one night for dinner - and it was lovely - with good food and a nice atmosphere.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank watermaster952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2011

Location - Although across the river, the hotel was a 10 to 15 minute walk to most of the popular sights. It was easy enough to find although the signage outside wasn't very obvious for a large hotel. Seemed to be on a back street but had the usual busy traffic during the day however it was quiet in the evening.
Hotel - Modern decoration and fittings.Reception was business like but not unfriendly. We had a triple room to the front of the hotel which was large enough for 3 full beds and plenty hanging and drawer space. The room and bathroom were very clean with fresh towels and linen (not even a hint of mould in the sealant). Breakfast was very good and had plenty of quality choice. Fresh fruit, yoghurt, breads, bacon, eggs, cereal, coffee, tea, juice etc. all buffet style.
Overall good, clean, pricey (but aren't they all in Rome) hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnnytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

This hotel was superbly located, in walking distance of the Vatican and the Spanish Steps. Excellent breakfast, lovely rooftop restaurant with excellent service. The hotel staff seemed aloof, but they mailed a lost item to me in the US, at no charge! I call that excellent service.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Prior to coming to this hotel I checked other people's reviews and saw several that said that the staff (especially the front desk) was very rude. I couldn't agree more. They made you feel like you were bothering them if you had a question. And we asked if they could exchange US money for us--they did--but they charged us $30 more than we would have paid anywhere else. Then when we questioned them, they basically said "well we told you what we would give you, and you took it, that's the way it is." The location however is very good--could walk to the Vatican, Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, Piazza Novona. And the local restaurants were great--good food, reasonable prices, and great settings. The room was very small however--we took the average room. We could barely walk around with the two of us. It was very clean and modern and the breakfast each day was wonderful.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrequentTraveler300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Hotel Isa
Hotel Isa
#65 of 1,267 in Rome
1,201 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
The Westin Excelsior, Rome
Prati
NH Collection Roma Giustiniano
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
Hotel Dei Mellini
Hotel Dei Mellini
#69 of 1,267 in Rome
1,536 reviews
Prati
Twentyone Hotel
Twentyone Hotel
#191 of 1,267 in Rome
1,607 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Visconti Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Visconti Rome

Address: Via Federico Cesi 37, 00193 Rome, Italy (Formerly Visconti Palace)
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#49 Business Hotel in Rome
#94 Family Hotel in Rome
#114 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#138 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £122 - £333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Visconti Rome 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Meridien Visconti Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Visconti Palace Rome
Hotel Visconti Palace
Rome Hotel Visconti Palace
Visconti Palace Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing