We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location- very clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Meridien Visconti Rome
Ranked #189 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good location- very clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

Stayed for four nights- booked via expedia. We stayed in a twin room. Very clean room, functional overlooking back of hotel which meant it was quiet. Nice roof top terrace- drinks expensive but worth a visit. Staff very pleasant- excellent breakfast. Would stay here again due to location- 20 minutes walk to Vatican and a quick relatively taxi journey to Colleseum €7. Good restaurants in near vicinity- try le Cupole- the restaurants near the hotel are cheaper and better value that the ones over the river. Thank you to the hotel staff for the service and making our stay in Rome a happy one!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon030161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,006 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    781
    889
    253
    58
    25
See reviews for
400
880
56
242
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
74 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

We arrived on a business trip and room 401 wasn't a real nice room. Small, old and a bit shabby. 3 days in that cabine on business? Back to reception, we asked for a larger room with a bit nicer design. And hey, after dinner ("sorry, our computer is down....") we were moved to 701. What a difference! A newly renovated and tastefully designed room, excellent large bed, marble bathroom with space and two cozy bathrobes. Next morning we said thx to the very friendly reception. The new roof terrace is nice, some more plants would help. The internet is a true desaster, even a simple mail message takes hours to load. Big minus for that poor performance. Breakfast buffet is huge but very American style - size replaces taste. Overall a central located hotel with a dedicated team at the reception - needs a big update in tech though!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, England
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

My second visit to the Visconti Palace - and whilst many things were equivalent, disappointingly the standards of service had slipped. On the plus side, the hotel is extremely clean, in an excellent location with an easy walk to Castell Sant'Angelo and the Vatican, and has a nice patio bar and lovely new rooftop terrace where a BBQ is available, starting at 32 euros per person. We had a triple room, which was perfectly comfortable although a little dated, and the bathroom could definitely have done with an upgrade. But how come a 4* hotel can't provide an extra pillow?? I asked for one at Reception on the second morning. "Subito signora" they replied. But at 7pm no sign of the pillow. I asked again on my way out to dinner. "Certo signora". But on our return, no pillow. The following morning I left a polite note in Italian for the cleaner on the bed. On our return - still no pillow! This is really poor service. The drinks are also extremely pricey - whilst I don't expect them to be cheap in a hotel, 12 Euros for an Aperol spritz is very steep, especially as I paid 5 Euros in a similar standard of hotel in Verona. Breakfast is perfectly adequate although it was exactly the same choice of food every morning and the coffee was serve yourself from a hot plate rather than being served to order. So, all in all, not as good as my last stay and I would look for a different hotel if I come to Rome again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosalind123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlessioMucci, Direttore at Le Meridien Visconti Rome, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Dear Guest,

I am extremely sorry to hear that this stay at the Visconti Palace Hotel was not satisfactory as you expected.

From your review I could not learn enough information to identify the problem occurred with the room maid and the front desk staff.


The Visconti Palace Hotel’s Management, take very seriously any of ours guests’ feedback, as it would help us improve our services and quality.

However, please accept my personal apologize for all the inconvenience occurred, hoping, in the next future to have another chance to give you a different impression staying again at the Visconti Palace Hotel.


With my best regards

Hotel Manager
Alessio Mucci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

Stayed a couple nights prior to a Med cruise and easily made our own reservations via their web site instead of going through the cruise line -- saved quite a bit by doing it this way and even more when modified the original reservation due to a special offer that came up on their site. An e-mail to their front office requesting transportation (FCO to hotel / hotel to Civitavecchia) was efficiently and promptly answered by Roberto and the van service provided was prompt and courteous; again, saved money by direct contact with the hotel. Perfect location to walk to the Vatican Museum, etc. and then the next day to Old Rome; can even get lost and not walk too far out of your way! The breakfast was more than adequate and the room was clean; not large but efficient. The stay at this hotel provided an great send-off for our cruise!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GMK521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

We booked the room through Holland Amnerica for a pre-cruise stay. Our rates included airport and port transfers, as well as a Holland America employee onsite for questions.

We booked there because of the ease with HAL, but would book again on our own. It is in a nice area close to the Vatican, as well as other touristy areas.

The hotel was spotless, rooms quiet and largish ( for European standards ) ...but the breakfast buffet was wonderful. This was a large buffet with a lot of options, staffed by friendly staff.

I was very happy withour two night stay and would choice this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IndyDenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

Don't rely on the website: Based on the website booked a superior room and were expecting a design hotel and also a room similar to the picture on the website. However, the lobby looks exactly like shown on the website but the room was dark, ugly and furnished like a 80ies Hilton room.
apparently there are other floors where the rooms were renovated ... so be careful when booking your room there.
The people at the recetion desk ad quite an attitude and were not really helpful ... it is just annoying if one has to ask for basic information ( where is the brakfast, what are the breakfast times, ...) -one could expect that information is offered directly at check in.

The hotel is good situated anyway.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Matt332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

Excellent location. Easy to get to the main attractions in the old city.
Excellent services. Attentive staff, english speakers, always willing to help.
Very clean - the room, lobby, terrace, everywhere (that's hard to find).
The food could have been better, but oh well, the restaurant across the street made it for us.

I totally recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank XAN83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Hotel Isa
Hotel Isa
#79 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
Prati
Hotel Dei Mellini
Hotel Dei Mellini
#66 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,454 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
The Westin Excelsior, Rome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
NH Collection Roma Giustiniano
Prati
Twentyone Hotel
Twentyone Hotel
#194 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,516 reviews
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#47 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Visconti Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Visconti Rome

Property: Le Meridien Visconti Rome
Address: Via Federico Cesi 37, 00193 Rome, Italy (Formerly Visconti Palace)
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#49 Business Hotel in Rome
#94 Family Hotel in Rome
#110 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#138 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Visconti Rome 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Visconti Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Visconti Palace Rome
Hotel Visconti Palace
Rome Hotel Visconti Palace
Visconti Palace Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing