We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Meridien Visconti Rome
Ranked #200 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Loved this hotel!

Everything was in walking distance: The Vatican and Piazza Del Popolo was about 10 mins walk away. From here you could explore all of Rome and the major sights! We managed to walk back to the hotel in the late afternoon for a nap and then we would go out to eat in the evening near the Pantheon and then could walk back late and be in our room within 15 mins! Thought the price was fantastic for the location: everything is so expensive any nearer, and you're going to walk everywhere in Rome anyway!

Best thing about the rooms was the bed! Never had a better night's sleep: very firm. TV didn't have many English channels but my bf and I hardly used it. Shower was good and there was lots of room. The breakfast was varied English and Continental with lots on offer.

Service was slightly slow on the reception but nothing to be concerned about. They also looked after our bags once we had checked out as we had a late flight.

Would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniela-Loretta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,272)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,074 - 1,080 of 2,272 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2012

We chose the Visconti Palace based on the favourable reviews all round.
Our deluxe extra room on the sixth floor is well worth the extra - newly decorated and nice modern bathroom - with shower only, free wi-fi, and high tech light switches which takes a bit of getting use to. The house keeping is top notch. During the very hot weather the air-con was quiet and super efficient - it deactivates when opening the window. The rooftop and ground terraces and bars are beautiful but found them little used. Breakfast is adequate, bacon and scrambled eggs, plenty of fresh and tinned fruit, but horrible sugared croisants obviously appealing to the American tastes. The coffee is OK but I expected better.
The Visconti Palace is not ideally placed for visits to the main sights. Yes, they are walkable but you would not want to be doing it in 90 degrees plus heat. The buses are a nightmare to plan and quite often do not run. We found the metro reliable but it is a good 15 minutes walk from the hotel. Conveniently, it is a 5 minute walk from the airport bus stop.

Room Tip: Deluxe extra rooms are newly decorated on the sixth floor and look out over the street below or the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christophe b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We had come to Rome for a 7 day holiday and had checked reviews on this hotel and found them to be positive but I must say for us it has been disappointing.
Reception: Initially unfriendly and unhelpful, we were not informed where the breakfast would be or the times. After which we were dismissed without any direction to the lifts. Left to wonder about until we fell upon them.
On Friday the opening ceremony of the 2012 Olympics was on I was initially lied to as I was told there would be a big screen set up in the hotel and when checking on the day I was then told by the same man 'That thing in great Britain, there is a place two streets over around the corner with many screens, maybe there.' After which he moved on.

The room: Initial impressions was that the room was clean if a little tired, not the modern feel you would expect from the images presented on their advertising.
After closer inspection and use of the bathroom we noticed the the shower head was not working properly, the plug for the bath didn't work, the sink was lifting away from the vanity table.

The bed: While I fully accept that hotels need to be versatile and as such sometimes have zip together single beds that also can also be connected as a double, I was surprised to find we were sleeping on two metal camp beds that had been pushed together, my partner and I spent the night taking turns sleeping in the hammock created in the middle of the bed as the two singles slipped apart.

Terrace bar: After waiting while the staff wondered around for twenty minutes we eventually walked over and ordered two drinks, when they were brought over I checked the order was correct as the drink did not appear to be what I had ordered. The waiter told me it was correct and then proceeded to splash the coke all over the glass and table while pouring it. He neither apologised or attempted to fix the situation but walked of angrily. At 25 euro for two drinks I was a little shocked at the poor service.

The cleanliness and breakfast were good. You can get a speciality coffee on request as well as healthier option eggs though at a cost of 5euro.

Over all we have felt that the entire experience has been very below what would be expected of a hotel in this bracket and that the staff have been unapproachable and as such haven't felt we could deal with these issues directly.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tama B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Stayed for 3 nights, Rome was really hot 35-38 degrees but room was lovely and cool. Had free wifi, great morning breakfast but limited English TV.(on holiday TV watching isn't too important) enjoyed that it wasn't a full on Tourist area as could find reasonably priced restaurants within walking distance. Husband used the gym, as he tried biking the Toumalet a few days later, well equipped gym with range of equipment.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhoadzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

we knew the hotel was close to the vatican (about 10-15 min walk), but the pleasant surprise was that it was easy walking distance across the river to the spanish steps, piazza navona etc (about 15 mins walking). there is also a nearby bus that takes you through the city to the colosseum which was great. we didn't end up using the metro at all. the hotel itself is nice. modern, good a/c, decent sized room with an extensive breakfast buffet (a treat to have eggs, bacon, etc in the a.m.). some of the other reviews mentioned hit or miss service. we mostly had good/ service. at the front desk, a couple of guys were really helpful when we asked for help/directions and there was one guy who wasn't rude, but a bit indifferent so i just had to keep pushing him further for more help. we only went to the bar one night and had great service there. would recommend!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skirtandsupersuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Although this hotel seems very much to be business oriented, it was a nice one. The room was clean and not extremely small. Minimalist decoration. Good bathroom. Free wifi Internet in all rooms. Good breakfast buffet. The only low point is that you have to take the metro (about 4 blocks away), taxi or bus to arrive to some main attractions (piazza di spagna, Fontana di trevi, Piazza Navona). Otherwise a good hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

In the heart of Rome--west of the river and within walking distance of the Vatican and shopping, this can be that hidden treasure for someone with just a few short days in Rome (and apparently travel agents/cruise lines use this as a one-nighter for pre-staging cruise passengers out of Civitavecchia). So, here is the good: 1) the location works..an easy walk to tourist oriented "get on/get off" bus lines which take you on prescribed routes that cover the entire city and its main attractions; 2) this is a clean hotel--the staff works hard to keep it that way; 3) morning breakfast in the lower level cafe is superb--roof top deck for a late evening drink is perfect; 4) the hotel's configuration makes many rooms very unique and 5) the staff is generally friendly--with some incidences of indifference and the seeming inability to function well when the lobby is busy.

Background: Traveled as two couples. We used the Visconti for our first two days in Italy as we staged six days in Tuscany (no one should die without seeing Tuscany) and then returned for one night as we staged our trip home the next morning--So, here is the not so good. 1) The front desk staff goes from generally friendly to totally detached in minutes if the lobby gets busy--they are totally incapable of eye contact and are seemingly always confused by their computer screens--it's almost funny to watch--when busy, they border on flat out rudeness. 2) Our experience found the place extremely popular with Americans and English speaking tourists---you'd think the front desk would have someone who was reasonably proficient with English--NOT! Take my word, when a bus load of over-nighters arrives--chaos is the rule for at least the next 3 hours--again, almost funny to watch--a real lesson in how not to run a front desk. 3) Lobby bar and lounge is pretty nice with a lovely outside area, but service is spotty and the servers (always quite friendly) have no idea what they have in their bar. White wines chilled and Prosecco iced are not within their standard serving protocols and 4) pre-check with the desk if you intend to check out---it seems everyone we saw and talked to--and then us with both stays--had issues with the checkout and bills--system down--cant find this or that--did we have a bar bill?--did we take anything from the room bar? on and on and on while the lines grow and the lack of personality magically appears once more! Again, almost funny--unless you're next in line!!

All said, this hotels functions when in tourist mode for short stays--do not use this as a romantic getaway

Room Tip: Many unique rooms--if you want king versus twins--make sure you ask
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SantaClaus60_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Hotel Isa
Hotel Isa
#66 of 1,271 in Rome
1,238 reviews
Prati
Hotel Dei Mellini
Hotel Dei Mellini
#64 of 1,271 in Rome
1,569 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
The Westin Excelsior, Rome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
NH Collection Roma Giustiniano
Prati
Twentyone Hotel
Twentyone Hotel
#189 of 1,271 in Rome
1,637 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Visconti Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Visconti Rome

Address: Via Federico Cesi 37, 00193 Rome, Italy (Formerly Visconti Palace)
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#49 Business Hotel in Rome
#94 Family Hotel in Rome
#118 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#138 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £100 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Visconti Rome 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Visconti Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Visconti Palace Rome
Hotel Visconti Palace
Rome Hotel Visconti Palace
Visconti Palace Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing