We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Place in Rome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Le Meridien Visconti Rome
Ranked #195 of 1,273 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2014

First off, I had booked this hotel for our son's honeymoon pre-cruise stay for several days in 2012, because the cruise line used it as their offered accommodation in Rome. When they returned, they just couldn't say enough about this place. So when my wife and I decided to spend three weeks about the NCL Jade doing Italy, the Adriatic ports and Greek Islands, I booked the Visconti Palace again.

My wife and I typically book suites, and at the Visconti, there are two large balcony suites on the seventh floor. When we arrived, we were welcomed as old friends, and taken immediately to our suite. When we arrived, we were greeted with a lovely fruit bowl, and a chilled white wine and handwritten welcome letter from the hotel manager. There were two large chairs, a full size couch, flat screen, internet connection, mini bar etc. The room was modern, with a sliding door out to the balcony which ran the full length of the suite. There were two additional access doors to the balcony off the bathroom door and in the bedroom. The balcony looking on to various other balconies in the neighborhood as well as church domes and the roof lounge which offered drinks, and a limited menu.

The bath room offered a full size tub, a separate shower with overhead as well as a handheld head, there was a toilet and the obligatory bidet. The room itself was huge and the sink and counter was large enough for a family.

The bed was, in my opinion a Queen with comfortable bedding and pillows we had no difficulty sleeping in this bed. There was a huge amount of storage, one full wall consisted of a full wall of built in hanging closets and a dressing area with hair dryer. A flat screen was also available.

The morning breakfast was fabulous, however while we were there, the kitchen was undergoing renovation so lunch and dinner was very limited.

The hotel is about a 10 minute walk to the Castel San Angelo, and 20 minutes to the Vatican Museum. The Roman Forum would be around a 30 minute easy walk. There was a grocery store within four blocks of the hotel and even an American steakhouse right in the neighborhood.

I paid roughly 1000 Euros for three nights, 4/30- 5/3 2014, and for me, it was well worth the money.

Room Tip: the 7th floor suites are special
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,292)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

765 - 771 of 2,292 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights - first time in Rome - first time in Europe! Reception was a little cool, no warm welcome but not sure if that is "the Italian way". Our room was on the 6th floor and was very comfortable and clean BUT the size/design of the shower is not good. It is on the small size - I am only 53kg and 5'7'' but I still managed to hit my elbow on the door handle that protrudes into the shower. Also they provide tea/coffee in the room but no milk. I was told if we wanted milk we would have to go and buy it?? First hotel we have stayed in that doesn't supply milk. We used the roof top bar twice, first time, we had to go and find someone to serve us and then he never came back to see if we wanted a refill, 2nd night was with a different waiter who kept the drinks flowing. We also used the bar near the lobby. The staff were quite reserved to start with but they relaxed and joked a bit more as we got to know them. Because we enjoy walking we found the location very central and would consider staying here again if we went back to Rome. The actual area where the hotel is located isn't that nice visually but we never felt unsafe while walking around.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GTILover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Room was of good size for this area. Location was great, most attractions within walking distance though hotel is not in the middle of high traffic area. There are a couple of good places to eat around hotel because they cater to locals instead of tourists, thus cheaper and much better quality than most of the relatively poor restaurants you will encounter around major attractions. Breakfast was wonderful and a great way to get started each day. Staff are accomodating, though not overly friendly or intrusive....they are helpful enough when asked though.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kc8155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Room was slightly smaller than had come to experience in Vienna and Warsaw, but it was clean and comfortable. Fairly central close to the Vatican and Tiber. Easy walk to the trevi fountain and colosseum. Would go back. Lovely breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnMac15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We have just spent four nights at the Visconti and booked a premier suite directly with the hotel. We were in a corner room on the six floor. The price was reasonable for a very comfortable suite, including a bedroom, sitting room and two bathrooms. Lots of storage and hanging space, spotlessly clean, quiet and perfect for our mini break. Situated in a great location and we walked everywhere, saw all the main sights, and only used the bus once to the Collesseum. We used the Sitbus to and from the airport and the bus stop is only 5 minutes walk from the hotel.

Room Tip: Premier suite if you can get a good price is worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ace10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

A clean and modern hotel, full set of toiletries are provided, the superior rooms is still bit too small, a bit over priced. Staff are helpful, locate in a quiet area but walkable distance to Vatican and Spanish steps shopping area. Quite a lot of restaurants nearby so you won't be hungry!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Dorothy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Modern-day lobby, staff at the bar was very knowledgeable about food and wine and drinks. The reception desk was sometimes very quick to say NO and even slower to help with requests for booking tours and such. English is not as good as one would expect since they have so many American travelers staying there. Your standard room is horrendous so ask for a premium room on the 6th and 7th floor but don't pay for a full upgrade (I got it for 20 euros/night and I would hear him charging other people different prices, often higher).

Room Tip: BRING AN IRON. They have none on site and if you need to dryclean, don't use them (9 euros just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pratik L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Hotel Isa
Hotel Isa
#64 of 1,273 in Rome
1,250 reviews
Prati
NH Collection Roma Giustiniano
Prati
Hotel Dei Mellini
Hotel Dei Mellini
#57 of 1,273 in Rome
1,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
The Westin Excelsior, Rome
Prati
Twentyone Hotel
Twentyone Hotel
#196 of 1,273 in Rome
1,648 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,273 in Rome
7,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Visconti Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Visconti Rome

Address: Via Federico Cesi 37, 00193 Rome, Italy (Formerly Visconti Palace)
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#49 Business Hotel in Rome
#67 Family Hotel in Rome
#117 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#138 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £100 - £265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Visconti Rome 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Visconti Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Visconti Palace Rome
Hotel Visconti Palace
Rome Hotel Visconti Palace
Visconti Palace Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing