We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel to stay, we want to came back!”
Review of Hotel Cortina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Cortina
Ranked #68 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Detroit, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice hotel to stay, we want to came back!”
Reviewed 9 September 2011

I really enjoyed my stay at the Cortina Hotel. I loved the walking distance from most major tourist attractions in Rome! The staff was friendly, willing to help at anytime. They even helped me book a tour to Pompeii, which made things a lot more easier for me. The room was comfortable and clean. The “Colazzione” was good. Nice hotel to stay in overall.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gore68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    449
    210
    47
    11
    2
See reviews for
188
301
37
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Waltham, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 8 September 2011

I stayed here a couple days before the cruise I went on. I couldn't be more happy with this place. The location was perfect for the rate they charged. You were 5 minutes from the Repubblica metro stop. Via Nazionale was a nice area with all the shops. The staff was amazing, they were all English speaking, and told you the best places to go for dinner, money exchange, and sites. If I ever go back to Rome I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

We stayed here for two nights while traveling through Rome further up north.

Location: Via Nazionale is a great street with many shops and a couple of bars. Hotel Is one stop away from Roma Termini on the metro. Vatican Is further down the same train line (about 10minutes) or within a leisurely walking distance if you have the time. The colesseum and ancient center is also very close.

Staff: fantastic, being such a small hotel (16 rooms?) we delt only eith two gentleman, both were friendly and helpful.

Room: We had room 15, overlooking the street. Room was surprisingly quiet and we couldnt hear the noise from the irish pub downstairs. Room was small. And not really any room except to get in and out of the bed, this wasn't a problem for a short stay, but I could imagine would be frustrating on long trips. linen and towels were good however the pillows were like sleeping on a rock. In room minibar was well priced.

Pros:
Great location
Friendly staff
Good simple breakfast.
Very clean
Fast Free wifi in the common areas.

Cons:
Room a little small.
Safe was tiny with a rather unsecure key.

Overall: good hotel in via nazionalle with excellent public transport access. Would consider staying here again on future trips to Rome.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaunz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Good location on Via Nazionale in Rome. Walking distance to some restaurants, ask for a recommendation at the front desk. Staff was friendly.

Breakfast was a continental spread, good glazed croissants, coffee, etc. Breakfast room was very cute!

Some sites are withing walking distance (Roman Forum, Colosseum), but taxis are recommended if you're not up for a hike. We walked everywhere, including to the Spanish Steps, but we were getting exercise in to make up for all the food and wine we had. My favorite restaurant in Rome, Ristorante 34, is near the Spanish Steps.

My friend and I shared the room. Small room, #15. Very small. Good thing we like each other. Beds were a little hard. Bathroom was small as well, had to step up onto a platform to use the toilet or get in the shower. All of these, however, were quirks I could live with because the price was reasonable and we were in Rome. Nothing was a deal breaker, I would stay here again.

Internet...my friend had to sit on the couch in the hallway to get wi-fi reception.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RogueCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

This is a wonderful little hotel in a great central location, not fancy but perfect for our needs. We stayed in apartment B in the back of the hotel, you had to enter through a separate side entrance. It was very quiet, and we loved having a little kitchen and living area. The bathroom was very small, but everything was spotless clean. Breakfast was simple, but very good. Angelo, the manager, was so helpful, gave us restaurant referrals, directions, even his umbrella!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LACalgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

This is a small hotel located on the first floor above the Via Nazionale. There is a small lift (elevator).

In Rome, hotels are generally not cheap. The Cortina is reasonably priced for its location. It's within 5 minutes walk of Termini (the central bus and train station) and is basically right in the heart of Rome. It's 15 minutes walk from the Colosseum and Trevi Fountain and many other historical sites. There are plenty of good local restaurants within easy walking distance.

We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. Nothing is a problem to them.

Breakfast is a pleasant cold buffet.

Transport to/from the airport can be arranged at a reasonable rate. They arranged a driver with a mini bus at a very reasonable rate to take the five of us on a day trip outside of Rome, as there were several sites we wanted to visit.

This is comfortable small hotel with a big heart in a great location.

If you plan to visit the Vatican and/or the Colosseum and Forum, book your tickets online in advance at www.rome-museam.com. Not only are they the official museum site, they are cheaper, under 18s go free, and they are very professional.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank landinglight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

We stayed here with friends for one night in July at the end of our Europe trip.

Having been to Rome before and our friends not having been to Rome, we wanted to book somewhere reasonably priced as we were only going to be in the room for about 12 hours and we really wanted somewhere that was in a good location so we could give our friends a quick taste of Rome before we headed home. Great Shops and restaurants in the vicinity.

This place ticked all the boxes.

The location is the best feature of this hotel. It is walking distance to the Colleseum, Trevi, Piazza Navona and and anywhere in between.

The hotel is on the first floor of an apartment building but has huge doors with cameras and a buzzer to get you in, so it is both secure and convenient as there is a lift (only one person and cases can fit in it) so it was nice not to have to drag the cases up the stairs.

The room was comfortable, small but we didnt need a big room and most hotel rooms in Europe are small so we knew what to expect. Room was well appointed and the bathroom was clean and had everything you would expect.

There is 24 hour a day reception and there is usually breakfast included, which is served in a small room adjacent to the small lobby, when I say a small dining room I mean TINY...so you may have to wait for a seat at breakfast.

Would recommend this place if you are looking for a a good base and want a great location.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zedmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Columbia
Hotel Columbia
#109 of 1,261 in Rome
817 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Esquilino
Selene Style Hotel
Selene Style Hotel
#122 of 1,261 in Rome
1,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Raffaello
Hotel Raffaello
#82 of 1,261 in Rome
2,465 reviews
Monti
Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel
#103 of 1,261 in Rome
921 reviews
Esquilino
Residenza Cellini
Residenza Cellini
#66 of 1,261 in Rome
1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cortina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cortina

Property: Hotel Cortina
Address: Via Nazionale 18, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#49 Family Hotel in Rome
#99 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cortina 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An excellent departure point to visit the city, the Hotel Cortina is situated in Via Nazionale right in the centre and a short walk from Trevi Fountain, the Coliseum, Piazza Venezia, Roman Forum and the Spanish Steps. You can easly reach the Vatican City and the most important monuments and the shopping district. The main bus and underground station are nearbay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Cortina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cortina Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing