We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quaint hotel in a big city”
Review of Hotel Cortina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Cortina
Ranked #59 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A quaint hotel in a big city”
Reviewed 22 May 2013

My daughters and I stayed at this hotel for 6 nights. We found the experience excellent, it had the perfect location to the Termini station and to all buses. The rooms were of a classic interior with very comfortable beds. The breakfast was served in a quaint room with quite a good selection. What can we say about the staff, they were so helpful with suggestions and their english excellent.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank connolly2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    444
    206
    45
    11
    2
See reviews for
185
298
35
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Picked this hotel based on previous reviews and wasn't disappointed. Great location and helpful staff. Very attentive and eager to help. Our group of 10 only stayed 1 night, however would stay at this location again.

Room Tip: While I did not stay in a room that faces a street, some of my friends did and were surprised at how...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GatorMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delft, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Nice little hotel with classic interior and rooms, good value for money. The staff of the hotel speaks excellent English, and the breakfast in the morning is excellent. The hotel is located at walking distance from the Termini train station (10 min), and 5 min from metro Republica. There are also some bus stops in the street. In the neighborhood you can find several good restaurants.

Only negative thing we experienced was the noise from the Irish Pub underneath the hotel. One night the music was very loud, but after a call from the hotel staff it was turned down. The night after this there was apparently an important football match, causing a lot of noise around the pub and also in our room (situated at the back of the hotel). Luckily we could spend the night in another vacant room, so at least we could get a few hours of sleep.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank svollebregt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverhill, Massachusetts, Usa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Cortina apartment, Via Nazionale 18, Roma. A fabulous place and location. Although we did not see any of the hotel rooms, if they are half as nice as the apartment you will love them. A good sized table and chairs in a lovely kitchen setting well-stocked with dinnerware, glasses, teas, cappuccino maker and supplies, dishes, towels, shampoos, hair dryer, iron and board, sewing kit.... it goes on and on.
The bedroom was spacious- pillows and bedding luxurious with a number of extra pillows and blankets.. Wifi as well as a computer for your use. Plenty of space for clothing. Wonderful lighting.
Breakfast? A wide assortment of meats and cheeses, cereals, juices, rolls, cookies, yogurts, coffee, cappuccino, tea. Wonderful linen covered tables. Great service. NOT your average B&B breakfast.
First time in four hotels/B&B: an ELEVATOR! Unheard of. The staff was most accommodating and multilingual. As Americans, this was a treat. They arranged tours at our request. They called taxis and came out to convey directions to the drivers which was so very helpful especially when meeting up for tour groups. Provided umbrellas on loan which was a great benefit. Even arranged for hot soup at a local restaurant for a sick traveler. I have never been so spoiled.
http://www.hotelcortinarome.com

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Firstly a big thank you to Angelo and the staff at Hotel Cortina. Angelo is a charming and knowledgeable host with excellent recommendations which he tailored to our style. The reputation here is well deserved with nothing being a problem. We stayed in Apartment A for 16 nights, a lovely modern apartment in a classical Roman building with a typically Italian street aspect. The apartment is spacious and nicely appointed and located close to the metro, supermarket and all amenities. I honestly can't fault anything here, our stay in Rome was fantastic and the trip of a lifetime. Thank you.

Room Tip: Book well in advance for the apartments
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulV019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013 via mobile

This hotel is perfectly placed and great for any visitor to Rome. The staff are friendly and helpful from assisting with check in and local restaurant recommendations to serving drinks with the lovely breakfast! The rooms are suitably sized with an adequate bathroom etc. For the price this is an amazing hotel. I can confirm the trip advisor rating is fully deserved.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Great little hotel, a little distance from sights but if you don't mind walking it's fine. Easy to locate, within walking distance to Rome Termini. Didn't really hear any noise from outside, our room was at the front of the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shar73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Columbia
Hotel Columbia
#97 of 1,256 in Rome
802 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Esquilino
Selene Style Hotel
Selene Style Hotel
#117 of 1,256 in Rome
1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Residenza Cellini
Residenza Cellini
#29 of 1,256 in Rome
1,048 reviews
Monti
Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel
#91 of 1,256 in Rome
900 reviews
Esquilino
Smooth Hotel Rome Termini
Smooth Hotel Rome Termini
#73 of 1,256 in Rome
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cortina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cortina

Property: Hotel Cortina
Address: Via Nazionale 18, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#49 Family Hotel in Rome
#99 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cortina 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An excellent departure point to visit the city, the Hotel Cortina is situated in Via Nazionale right in the centre and a short walk from Trevi Fountain, the Coliseum, Piazza Venezia, Roman Forum and the Spanish Steps. You can easly reach the Vatican City and the most important monuments and the shopping district. The main bus and underground station are nearbay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Cortina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cortina Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing