We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing Special”
Review of Hotel Cortina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Cortina
Ranked #69 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

Service - Good
Rooms - Small but its Rome, beds are good and clean
Location - Reasonable, 10mins walk from most things.
Breakfast - Poor

I cant say it was bad... it wasn't, however, its worth spending a little bit more on a slightly better hotel.

Helpful?
Thank Been_Most_Places_87
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    449
    210
    47
    11
    2
See reviews for
188
301
37
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Hotel Cortina is good value for money in Rome. It is situated a walking distance away from most major attractions. Staff are friendly and professional. Complimentary chocolates were given (honeymooners)
No pool or fitness centre. Breakfast included was average compared to what we got everywhere else in Europe.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janelle82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located perfectly to sight see around Rome. With a main bus route stopping practically outside (that runs until late) and a metro station round the corner it is easy to see the sights from here.
Alongside this the hotel staff were very friendly, allowing us to keep 1 room until we departed for the airport and sending up a bottle of champagne as our trip was for a30th birthday.
The breakfast is traditionally European and the breakfast room had a high temperature however it was more than satisfactory. The terrace bar was a lovely additional to the hotel, a free glass of Prescott, free wifi and porting facilities for boarding passes etc.
I wouldn't hesitate to stay again and would through recommend, single travellers would also enjoy the location and facilities.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Nicki12117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, CA
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We stayed in one of the two apartments in early July 2013. We have 2 teenage sons, and this was centrally located with plenty of room. 2 suites with bathrooms, full kitchen, livingroom, and located 10-15 min walk from Trevi Fountain / Spanish Steps and many other sites. Very spacious, comfortable, and free breakfast in the hotel each morning. Angelo the owner was very accommodating, helpful and did anything he could to assist us and make our stay comfortable! We will stay here again the next time in Rome. There is an elevator (tiny like all italian ones!) that takes you upstairs to the apartment. There was AC in the room too which was important because Rome in July can be sweltering. Beds were king in the master and 2 side by side (push together to make another king). Comfy and clean bedding. Very restful. Its overlooking a side street so not the same traffic noise you might get on Via Nazionale around the corner. Felt very safe in this area.

Room Tip: Apartment A! Chose this one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharmChari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We just loved this Hotel as we could walk to just about every major site or catch the metro from the station nearby. The breakfasts were enough for a days walking and the pub below was wonderful for watching my sporting events. The laundry around the corner in the internet café on Napoli street was a bonus not mentioned before by travellers. Florian was very helpful on the desk and all in all this hotel was a quiet oasis in a busy city.

Room Tip: The Il Barocco restaurant was good in Napoli st.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We traveled to Rome in July and stayed at Hotel Cortina. What a lovely, quaint hotel! We want to thank all the staff for an absolutely wonderful stay there. Very clean and well taken care and oh the air-conditioning was bliss after a long day of Rome sightseeing!! Special thank you to Angelo for the two lovely glasses. We loved the breakfast nook with all the lovely china. What a surprise when you presented them to us on our last day. We will look at them and always be reminded of our amazing and unforgettable visit to Rome. We would definitely stay there again, maybe in one of their spacious apartments.
Thank you again!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

The polite staff helped us plan our stay ahead of time, communicating via email. The adorable breakfast eating area had delicious continental breakfast – pastries, cheeses, meats, fruit, bread, cereals. Best cappuccinos crafted with love each morning. Our room was a comfortable size, but the shower was European-size (small).
Located 10 minute walk from Termini train station, convenient bus access.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meliss1110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Columbia
Hotel Columbia
#110 of 1,261 in Rome
817 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Esquilino
Selene Style Hotel
Selene Style Hotel
#121 of 1,261 in Rome
1,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel
#103 of 1,261 in Rome
923 reviews
Esquilino
Residenza Cellini
Residenza Cellini
#64 of 1,261 in Rome
1,050 reviews
Monti
Hotel Raffaello
Hotel Raffaello
#80 of 1,261 in Rome
2,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cortina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cortina

Property: Hotel Cortina
Address: Via Nazionale 18, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#49 Family Hotel in Rome
#99 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cortina 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An excellent departure point to visit the city, the Hotel Cortina is situated in Via Nazionale right in the centre and a short walk from Trevi Fountain, the Coliseum, Piazza Venezia, Roman Forum and the Spanish Steps. You can easly reach the Vatican City and the most important monuments and the shopping district. The main bus and underground station are nearbay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Cortina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cortina Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing