We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable stay in a good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Cortina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Cortina
Ranked #63 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay in a good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

We were booked to stay at Hotel Cortina for three nights. Due to flight cancellations, we were only able to arrive at 3 am on the first night. The staff was always courteous and responsive, helping with pick up from the airport, calling for a cab or making reservations. Space was a bit tight in the room for a family of four but hey, it's Rome and that is to be expected in any big city. The location was convenient to all the major sights and the Termini station.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VirginiaTravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    431
    201
    44
    11
    2
See reviews for
180
288
34
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
172 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

I cannot say enough good things about this hotel and apartment. Angelo,you and the team are wonderful. We have been treated like family from day one. Cab, tour and restaurant bookings all done without fuss. This place is fabo..and I am fussy, Please stay here and enjoy Rome as we have. We still have another week to go..Al and D

Room Tip: Apartments A and B have balconys
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca NY
Level Contributor
108 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

A very convenient location on Via Nationale. The hotel arranged airport pick up and return by car, and accepted us early in the morning (which was nice) though our room was not vacated by the previous occupant until after 12 noon. The staff were very helpful. The room was very cramped and the bathroom also small, with a very cramped shower (2 feet by two feet) and as you exited the shower, if not careful, you tripped over the bidet. The average breakfast was on a deck surrounded by a tent like covering. Our main complaint we that the half-meter deep window ledge was very hot to the touch. Initially we thought was the sun, but no, it was still hot at night, so it evidently contained some equipment such as the hot side of AC equipment. As as result, even with the room AC on, the room never got really cool. We therefore opened the window (on a hot August night) with the gauze curtains on the room side of the ledge closed, in an attempt to dissipate the heat and cool the room, only to be kept awake part of the night by street noise, especially street sweepers and garbage trucks. Not an ideal situation. Thus a mixed review.

Room Tip: In summer make sure that you don't get the room (on East side) with heated equipment built into...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gibberellin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angelomilana, Front Office Manager at Hotel Cortina, responded to this review, 24 August 2013
Dear Gibberellin,
The usual phrases require us to thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedbacks we receive from our valuable guests. We were sorry to learn and bla, bla, bla,bla.

Anyhow, after your comment we have called the air con technician that solved the problem in 10 minute. If you did tell us about that in time maybe you could have a little better stay......Now the problem has been fixed.

About the bathroom actually we have just measured it and is cm 165 x 265 with a bathtub, bidet, water and marble sink. I believe enough for a person that on holiday sometime like to “stay in hostels and camp” as you have mentioned on your profile. Just to remind readers that in hostels and camp have to share the bathroom with other guests. And not mention where you’ll get your breakfast in the hostel (YMCA) or in the camp……

After all we still want to thank you for your kind visit and send all our best sincere regards.

Hotel Cortina Roma
Attilio Baiocchi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed at the cortina appartments , 2 bedroom 2 couples, we couldnt recomend them highley enough.very roomy and all the mod cons.our host Angelo and his staff were extreemly helpfull .I would recomend for couples or family great place to stay plus most tourist sites are in walking distance. Thank you Angelo

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ang S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

The decision to stay at Hotel Cortina, was adopted after reading the excellent reviews mostly.
So we tend to do all our trips around the world, in fact, all bookings of hotels and many restaurants are chosen according to the opinions in T.A - 100% success up to date!
This time, we were disappointed:
Positive: nice staff, very friendly, does everything it can to help, definitely remarkable!
Excellent location: on Via Nazionale 18, a central place, close to all the important sites in Rome.
The disappointment begins at the entrance to the hotel, after an old wooden door, as you enter the lobby, I would say neglected even a little scary.
The elevator is tiny, old-fashioned and outdated, you have to close external screen door and two internal doors and ... pray, it should be noted that we didn't use it a lot, when we used it, we had no problems.
The hotel itself is outdated; there are steps in the corridors and in the rooms,
There was a noise from the cars on the road below. Bathroom fan was very noisy.
Unfortunately, even the cleanliness is not "amazing"; there is room for improvement...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goglemogle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angelomilana, Front Office Manager at Hotel Cortina, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Mr. Abdullah
Thanks for taking the time to post your review. ( ?! ).
We regret that your expectations about the hotel were not met.
We understand that on middle east the hotel standard is higher than the European one.
Thanks again for your kind visit and best regards.
Hotel Cortina Roma
Storti Amerigo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsgate, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

We stayed as a group of two adults and three teenagers in Apartment A. We agree with everything positive previously posted, including the ease and practicality of everything from aitport transfer to check-out. The manager and staff seem genuinely concerned that you have the best possible experience and the apartment gives you the autonomy, space and flexibility to pace yourself and optimise your visit.

Room Tip: For a family with diverse dietary preferences, the apartment kitchen and the shop across the road ta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NMcL_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

Service was great very friendly staff. They even dropped off our laundry for us to the local laundromat as we weren't open first thing. Rooms are small, but clean. Breakfast was great, fruit, cereal, pastries, buns and cold meats/cheese! Great location walking to metro and other attractions. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheree G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Esquilino
Hotel Columbia
Hotel Columbia
#97 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Esquilino
Selene Style Hotel
Selene Style Hotel
#124 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Smooth Hotel Rome Termini
Smooth Hotel Rome Termini
#69 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Esquilino
The Britannia Hotel
The Britannia Hotel
#129 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,143 reviews
Esquilino
Residenza Cellini
Residenza Cellini
#27 of 1,291 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cortina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cortina

Property: Hotel Cortina
Address: Via Nazionale 18, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#49 Family Hotel in Rome
#99 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cortina 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An excellent departure point to visit the city, the Hotel Cortina is situated in Via Nazionale right in the centre and a short walk from Trevi Fountain, the Coliseum, Piazza Venezia, Roman Forum and the Spanish Steps. You can easly reach the Vatican City and the most important monuments and the shopping district. The main bus and underground station are nearbay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Cortina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cortina Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing