We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of steps within the one floor premises”
Review of Hotel Cortina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Cortina
Ranked #69 of 1,270 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Stayed 5 nights in May 2013. Hotel located up on 1st floor. Unusual layout of one floor hotel, up 2 steps then down two steps throughout - not suitable for those not on the lookout, not for anyone with a disability. Steps dangerous in my very small single room. Good location, small but cute breakfast room, no lounge or area to meet other travellers. Bed extremely hard although I like hard mattresses. Front desk helpful. Suitable for a few nights only, not for elderly or children

Room Tip: Ask for room at the back of the hotel front room along a busy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CheltenhamBabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (741)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

220 - 226 of 741 reviews

Reviewed 24 December 2013

Much smaller than other European hotel rooms, loud noise, low water pressure, broken fans - front desk clerk was kind - but don't try the restaurants that he recommended while handing out a coupons - the food and ambience was poor

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Visum I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

The room is clean, in a very convenient location.
I would definitely like to stay again next time when I'm in Rome.
Staff provides all kinds useful information about Rome, good restaurants, things to buy and places to see and so on.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erimcpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We stayed here the last 3 days, and Angelo Milana has been most helpful throughout our stay. He gives good advice, helps to print out online tickets and boarding passes too.

I strongly recommend anyone visiting Rome to stay in this family friendly hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valerie58Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my trip to Italy, including my stay at the Hotel Cortina. The staff was friendly and helpful. I am especially grateful for the concierge who gave us insightful information about the best times to visit some of the attractions. Because of their advice, I was able to save a bit of money, avoid lines and crowds, and maximize my enjoyment in Rome. I honestly spent very little time in the hotel, but the time I was there perfectly fine. My room was small, but clean. No complaints. The hotel is within walking distance to Trevi fountain, the tomb of the unknown soldier, and even the Colosseum. I'm not saying that these were short walks, but if you don't mind roaming around Rome for a few hours and making a day of it (which I highly recommend!), the location is great.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cecelia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Only less than 10 min walk from Termini, it is located at 1/F on Via Nazionale. (It is a bit hard to find the first time, I actually missed the door) It is right beside the Exchange with a red signage.
The antique elevator is for 4th floor only, so you need to carry your luggage up a bit, but the staff are really helpful and willing to help.
The location is quite convenience and most of the sight seeing location are within walking distance.
It is small but cozy, and the staff really make you feel like home. The breakfast is excellent with great coffee, and they even post their suggestions/things to avoid on a notice board in case you are too shy to ask. The staff provides great suggestions for food, transportation and everything you need.
They also have door to door transportation to the airport, and it is a Mercedes too :)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christopher L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I must say staying at Hotel Cortina in Rome was one of the best experiences I have ever had staying in a Hotel.
Angelo and his staff know the meaning of service, old school attention to detail, nothing too much trouble and they do their very best to make your stay comfortable.
If you are travelling to Rome this hotel is situated in a very convenient area it is close to everything.
Very clean safe and secure
Thank you all for looking after us

George, Margaret, Francene

Room Tip: We had rooms 2 8 and 15 all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beentheredonethat45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel
#92 of 1,270 in Rome
965 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Golden
Hotel Golden
#18 of 1,270 in Rome
2,832 reviews
Monti
Hotel Raffaello
Hotel Raffaello
#83 of 1,270 in Rome
2,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Selene Style Hotel
Selene Style Hotel
#123 of 1,270 in Rome
1,345 reviews
Esquilino
Smooth Hotel Rome Termini
Smooth Hotel Rome Termini
#51 of 1,270 in Rome
462 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cortina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cortina

Address: Via Nazionale 18, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Rome
#99 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £65 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cortina 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An excellent departure point to visit the city, the Hotel Cortina is situated in Via Nazionale right in the centre and a short walk from Trevi Fountain, the Coliseum, Piazza Venezia, Roman Forum and the Spanish Steps. You can easly reach the Vatican City and the most important monuments and the shopping district. The main bus and underground station are nearbay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Cortina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cortina Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing