We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Cortina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Cortina
Ranked #63 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2008

Stayed at this little hotel for four nights with some of my friends. The location is great. You can easily walk to it from Termini, but it is more than a few blocks away. It is easy to find, located on the Via Nazionale street. The first two nights we stayed at the apartment the hotel has around the corner. A great apartment. The last two nights we stayed at the hotel. Room was good size, and also nice size on bathroom. The room had a very nice wooden floor. Very clean. One of our rooms had a view out to the Via Nazionale, the other one to a backyard that was not very exiting. The most extraordinary of this hotel was the staff. Very professional, and they went out of their way to help us out on any request we might have. They fixed tickets for the Rome derby when the company we had used did not deliver. On the final day they left the breakfast out for us since we had been out all night, and needed some food before the trip home. We did not ask for this, it was just something they did to be nice. I must say that I was very surpriced that a hotel would let someone eat one hour after the breakfast normally closed without charging anything extra. They where also very good at describing how to get around to places we wanted to visit. I would definately stay there again!

  • Liked — Friendly staff, location, good price
  • Disliked — Nothing that comes to mind
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Amunds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    431
    201
    44
    11
    2
See reviews for
180
288
34
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2008

We stayed at the Hotel Cortina for our last 2 nights in Rome, chosen because we wanted to stay close to Termini. Instead of paying 50 Euros to be driven to the airport from the hotel, which the hotel would have willingly arranged for us, we walked from the hotel to Termini, with our cases on wheels, and bought a ticket to the airport for 9 Euros , fifty. Much cheaper, and a way to squeeze the very last drop out of our Italian experience. The hotel is very small, only about 15 rooms, and decorated in an old fashioned "old world" way....lovely. We had a room looking out towards the front with roadworks going on, but the noise didn't seem to be an issue. Rooms were small, but no smaller than lots of other hotels I would imagine. There is a breakfast room with only about 5 tables so that on our day of departure, we had to go back 3 times before there was a vacant table. People are fairly quick over breakfast so not a major problem. Breakfast was lovely, wide variety to choose from....cereals, fruit, yoghurt, meats and cheeses, pastries, breads and jams, juices and tea/coffee made to order. As long as you don't want to spend lots of time in the room, and when on holiday in Italy who does??, this was a very convenient place to stay. The major sights we found were a 10- 15 minute walk away. We would stay here again for the convenience, although would choose somewhere else for more space if staying for a length of time.

  • Liked — convenience to Termini
  • Disliked — not much space in the room we stayed in
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sharonwMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2008

My deaughter and myself had a wonderful stay at the Cortina.The manager, Angelo and his staff made us feel very welcome and went out of thier way to help us in every way possible.The hotel is within easy walking distance of most of the sights and transport in Rome.This is a first class hotel.

  • Liked — friendly staff
  • Disliked — small elevator (LIFT)
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bluebellbris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Ridge, B.C.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2008

A short walk from the Termini train station made the location of this hotel very good. The friendly staff, nice rooms, and great breakfast buffet made it a very enjoyable stay. Each morning they posted weather reports, traveller's advisories, and tips for doing things in Rome. We were very impressed with the friendliness and helpfulness of the entire staff.

  • Liked — location and friendliness of staff
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank macraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oradea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2008

I stay there with my family and i found this place nice and convenient.They offer me an apartment situated in via Modena wich is few meters away from the Hotel.The apartment was clean,large and very comfortable. I think is a best choice for a family of four or five pearson.From that area it is easyear to walk to many other sites.I reccomend this place and i hope to return next year.
dor

  • Liked — large and clean
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dorelOradea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
472 reviews
348 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 563 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2008

This hotel has a good location for sightseeing. Trevi Fountain, the Pantheon, Piazza Novona, and the Spanish Steps are within walking distance, and it is conveniently located for metro and bus service to other destinations.

We were in room #7, which faces busy Via Nationale. However, good windows kept street noise out of the room, and we slept well.

Our room was a little larger than some other rooms I saw. The staff was friendly, helpful, and professional.

Housekeeping was at a higher standard than we observed in some other hotels, and sheets were changed frequently during our six-night stay.

Breakfast was good and it was served in a pleasant room.

One act that endeared us to this hotel is that when, suffering from jet lag, we awakened after 11:00 a.m., breakfast was waiting for us though breakfast hours are 8:00 a.m. until 10:00 a.m.

Our rate was 172 Euros ($268) a night.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank wonderfulworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tokyo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2008

I had a great stay. Good location, near many historical features, vino and food, shopping. My hotel room was pretty comfortable and i enjoyed my breakfast. Very helpfull and great staff.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sankawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Esquilino
Hotel Columbia
Hotel Columbia
#97 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Esquilino
Selene Style Hotel
Selene Style Hotel
#124 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Smooth Hotel Rome Termini
Smooth Hotel Rome Termini
#68 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Esquilino
The Britannia Hotel
The Britannia Hotel
#131 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
Esquilino
Residenza Cellini
Residenza Cellini
#27 of 1,290 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cortina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cortina

Property: Hotel Cortina
Address: Via Nazionale 18, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#49 Family Hotel in Rome
#99 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cortina 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An excellent departure point to visit the city, the Hotel Cortina is situated in Via Nazionale right in the centre and a short walk from Trevi Fountain, the Coliseum, Piazza Venezia, Roman Forum and the Spanish Steps. You can easly reach the Vatican City and the most important monuments and the shopping district. The main bus and underground station are nearbay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Cortina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cortina Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing