We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Cortina rocks”
Review of Hotel Cortina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Cortina
Ranked #60 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Hotel Cortina rocks”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We stayed here for four nights and had a wonderful time. The staff was polite, helpful and professional. Breakfast was fresh and delicious each morning, with a wide variety of food. During a thunderstorm, hearing the rain pitter-patter on the covering of the breakfast area really added to the ambiance. Our rooms were clean as were the bathrooms. The hotel is at a great location. It's only a couple of blocks from the Termini Station, a 20 minute walk to the Colosseum or Trevi fountain, a bit longer to the Vatican and has a great Irish pub next door and a great gelato place on the other side. Thank you Angelo and the rest of the staff for making our visit to Rome memorable. We definitely will stay with you the next time we visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Warren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    444
    206
    45
    11
    2
See reviews for
185
298
35
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Centrally located within easy walking distance to all the best of Rome's historical sights.
The entire staff is in a word, superb.
The coffee (Espresso, Cappuccino, or whatever the guest prefers) is freshly brewed ... The breakfast buffet is ample and fresh.
This was my 5th stay - think that speaks volumes!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chareen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

After a long flight from Australia, our family of four (two adults and two kids aged 5 & 7) arrived at hotel cortina for a four night stay in mid June. We found it easily and were greeted warmly at reception by Mr Angelo. Our room was very clean and although smallish- it was what we would expect for a three star hotel in Rome and was comfortable. It overlooked the side street and was very quiet- although we did hear some occasional cheering from people at the pub watching the soccer! This however was no bother. Our kids loved the breakfast and the service we got from Giaane was great, he made sure the girls had everything they needed and he was always happy to have a chat and make you feel most welcome. My husband and I found the breakfast an adequate start to the day.
We found the location to be really good and in walking distance to most of the major tourist sites such as Trevi, Spanish Steps and colosseum. We even walked back from the Vatican City through the course of a day! Rome is such a wonderful city to walk around that we were happy to set out on foot and not use the metro. The location is very close to the train station- in walking distance- making traveling onwards easy for us. I found the staff always very accommodating with directions and advice and would map everything out for you and managed to help out with any questions we had.
As we ate mainly away from the hotel, I can't recommend nearby restaurants but speaking to other guests, the staff will be able to direct to some great places.
Laundry is just around the corner for washing needs
We were very pleased with our stay here, great service and location with clean comfortable rooms.
Would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Moocher1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We initially had trouble locating it since it was a large wooden door with a small sign (see photo). The Hotel is very well located and with buses out front. A manageable walk to a fair few sights and most of them if you are fit enough or otherwise go up to the station to catch the hop on, hop off buses.
The staff were very helpful and we felt that they really cared about their customers. We were asked especially on how we managed with the duty free arrangements/refunds so that they could then advise others.
Breakfast was quaint & there is a small separate area for it. Again, the staff was very nice and if you wanted anything extra, I am sure they would get it. It was only a small hotel yet had 24 hour service if required.
Only detraction was the lift is very old & small so I took the option of taking a few suitcases up the stairs whilst my wife took one up the lift. I beat her, ha, ha. I actually thought it made the experience better.
Be careful with the entrance to some rooms too because they have a wooden step which blends in as you take the first step and you may trip up.
Apart from that, I would stay here again due to the location and friendly staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ace1t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

From our arrival we were greeted by gianni( forgive my spelling if not correct) . They made us feel so welcome and nothing was a problem for them. Gianni gave us some good restaurants to visit and they were excellent. We spent 5 days in total and were extremely happy the entire time we spent in Rome. Room was comfortable and clean and breakfast was a good start to the day . Thank you for a great and memorable time in Rome and thank you Gianni for everything you did for us.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smp058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

we were booked into Cortina as part of a package ...pay up front ...and suck it up.!! My dear wife needed medical attention and I needed to contact our airlines to bring our flights forward ...hence a serviceable telephone was vital to our needs .Alas the phone was "unserviceable due to a technical error". The night porter let it drop that they were recipients of a very good deal with the Telco in Rome BUT ...they had to pay up front every Thursday...and yes ...somehow the cheque was in the mail and needed to arrive on Thursday or...no phone line out ...and of course we arrived on Friday to find some very twitchy management people who gave excuses until at 5.30pm the night porter dropped his bomb.
Once I knew the truth I managed to find an Internet Café with a gent who struggled (don't believe the Tourism people that "everyone can speak English in Italy...utter bollocks") but without his assistance we would not have been able to (a) get in touch with Medical attention (b) and the following morning (Sat) get in touch with our Travel Insurance people and(c) our airlines to request our flights be brought forward 5 days...due to the indolence of Cortina management we lost a day before the penny dropped. Once back in Oz my wife was quickly diagnosed and her knee was operated on to repair a ruptured knee cartilage.No thanks to Cortina m'ment who became quite angry when I dared to vent my disdain.
Sold to us as 4* it just did not cut it.
Our room overlooked the side street and was very noisy.
The continental breakfast was in a word " underwhelming" ....a few tired and slimy slices of cheap sausage ( ham was nowhere to be seen) .some bread (no toaster) a cursory amount of spreads a limited amount of fruit and 2 or 3 cereals. ...most meagre.
a lesson learnt ...never again would we do a package tour and/or pay upfront ...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saxafun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angelomilana, Proprietario at Hotel Cortina, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Sir,

Concerning your act of amulation, we strongly believe that you are CONFUSING US WITH ANOTHER HOTEL.

You write you stayed with us in Aughust 2013, now is July 2014 and we just want to advise you and the readers that after triple check our records we did not find any trace of a couple from Brisbane stayed with us in that period. We do not even remember any of our guest talking that way...........of course we could at least remember that.....it's so anusual from our guests.

Nobody here remember anything of what you have mentioned and mainly we are not a four stars ( as you did write ) but three stars.....so please double check your records. double check who " suck it up " ( as you said ) your money and make your comment to the right hotel not to us.

Hotel Cortina Roma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We stayed at the Cortina for three nights and were more than satisfied. Our room was big enough and clean. The staff was very friendly and went out of his way to make our stay great.
This is a good choice if you do not want spend a fortune and is very convenient for us for visit the city. We could walk almost everywhere. We will return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Columbia
Hotel Columbia
#98 of 1,256 in Rome
801 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Esquilino
Selene Style Hotel
Selene Style Hotel
#118 of 1,256 in Rome
1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Residenza Cellini
Residenza Cellini
#39 of 1,256 in Rome
1,048 reviews
Monti
Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel
#93 of 1,256 in Rome
900 reviews
Esquilino
Smooth Hotel Rome Termini
Smooth Hotel Rome Termini
#74 of 1,256 in Rome
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cortina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cortina

Property: Hotel Cortina
Address: Via Nazionale 18, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#49 Family Hotel in Rome
#99 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cortina 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An excellent departure point to visit the city, the Hotel Cortina is situated in Via Nazionale right in the centre and a short walk from Trevi Fountain, the Coliseum, Piazza Venezia, Roman Forum and the Spanish Steps. You can easly reach the Vatican City and the most important monuments and the shopping district. The main bus and underground station are nearbay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Cortina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cortina Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing