We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Turner NOT 4*”
Review of Hotel Turner

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Turner
Ranked #686 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Hove, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Hotel Turner NOT 4*”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Whilst our stay was pleasant enough (we had room 530) the spa shower did not work and was in fact disconnected electrically, the mini bar had exactly four items, one beer, one water two different biscuits and with no tea or coffee facilities in the room or room service to call on any hot drink had to be purchased outside the hotel.

The location is 20 to 30 minutes from the center and truthfully there is not much worth seeing around it anyway, the regular bus service from outside the hotel takes you anywhere you need to be, remember when in Rome no need to buy a bus ticket.............

During or four day stay the "cocktail bar" which is really a cupboard with a few bottles in was open once and the breakfast was the most basic Continental I have ever been presented with.

Whilst never a four star and putting aside the fact I would never go back it was adequate for our needs on our first visit to Rome, if they called it a Two Star you would leave impressed, maybe.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alanrogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    307
    206
    114
    91
See reviews for
137
471
37
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

This hotel is a real mix of the good and the not so good. The decor is high on mirrors, marble, gilding and beautifully painted ceilings, the breakfast is good and most of the staff are pleasant and helpful. We had a large room with two double beds and a bathroom with a jacuzzi tub, although the plumbing on this was a bit temperamental. The room was comfortable, elaborately decorated, and quiet so we slept well. Some areas of the hotel are ready for a bit of TLC but generally nothing too awful.
There isn't a restaurant, but there are plenty in walking distance so this isn't really an issue, and the hotel is well sited for getting around the city.
Its odd things that irritated us - we had some wine and beer out of the (reasonably priced) mini bar but then they wouldn't replace the items. We were there 3 nights and would have liked more but were told 'not until Monday, its a holiday' Well it was Sunday and it was my holiday and another prosecco would have been nice! We also couldn't get any coffee and milk at all, and there were only 3 teabags. We asked but none materialised. There was a good kettle and tea cups so maybe you need to take your own!
Of the 3 nights we were there the bar was only open on the last one. Apparently the barman was ill and there was no-one else available. Again not a disaster but it would have been nice, especially with the mini bar business, and it seems odd to have no-one to staff it.
The internet access on the hotels computer is not good, and a real problem if you need to check in on line for flights and print boarding passes. Don't know about wifi as we didn't bother taking any devices with us. Had a lot of trouble getting the TV in the room to work.
The hotel has a 4 star rating, but this is not necessarily the same as a 4* in the UK. If you've got a good deal on the room then go and enjoy it, this is Rome and you'll be out sight seeing not sitting in a hotel room.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anibYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bacup, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Don't understand all the negativity about this hotel,we stayed here in oct last year and found it very pleasant. We returned at beginning of march for another 3 nights.Staff on reception were very pleasant and helpful and took our bags to our room,it was on third floor and room was excellent. Bathroom was all new with corner bath,hot shower,bidet, towels changed everyday.Breakfast was continental but plenty of fruit,cereals ,scrambled eggs and toast,plenty to fill up on.Bus stops outside and five minutes to Termini where the metro takes you anywhere you want to go,buy a roma pass,well worth it, would definitely return.Ps it pays to be polite

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

stayed here for 3 nights for my partners 25th birthday celebration.

key things to state, standard hotel, ok for price, not particularly central, ok for a few nights, you get what you pay for.

HOWEVER - make note - city tax of six euros per night to pay on top of rate AND we had a late check out booked in however our rooms were cleared whilst we were out in the morning and our bags left in reception, with half of our stuff on show, this was not satisfactory and we complained that we had paid for the late checkout til 2 and expected to have our stuff in our rooms safely until 2, not hanging around unmonitored in reception. they paid no notice or interest.

WIFI only accessible in lobby, bar or restaurant. do not expect in the rooms.

Hotel - 20 mins from the centre of rome at the top of a slowly inclining hill. nice walk on warm day.
Rooms - Basic but nicely decorated, smallish bathroom with mediocre shower for anyone over average height (im 6ft 1), beds are low and comfy enough for half decent nights sleep. Quiet and peaceful but nothing to view as on an out of wall busy road.
Breakfast - standard continental with cereal, bread, meats, cheese, yoghurts, juice and coffee/tea
booked as part of a package deal with flights and transfers.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

4 star????????? I would not give it 2 stars!I thought I'd stayed in one or two bad hotels in my time but by comparison with the Hotel Turner they were palaces. This is by a country mile the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. The interior is shabby and unclean looking and the reception staff seem uninterested. Our room smelled strongly of damp and at times the drains. The room was very basic and in need of some care to say the least. The toilet seat was cracked, the net curtain hanging off it's rail, the fridge not working, the air-conditioning not working, loss of hot water and there was absolutely no information provided about either the hotel or Rome itself.
Breakfast was nothing short of a joke. The choice can best be described as 'Hobson's choice'. For those not familiar with the phrase I mean choices that are equally bad. The so called cocktail bar was closed on two of the three nights that we stayed but not consecutive nights which seems strange as we were told that the 'barman' was ill, perhaps he took a night off from being ill on the second of the three nights.
Having read another review of this hotel I wish I had refused to pay the city tax but did not realise at the time that I had a right to do so, 15 Euros down the drain then. On the day we left to return home my parting memory of the Hotel Turner is of a heated argument between the reception staff and some guests who were less than happy about the lack of hot water. The receptionist was not prepared to entertain the complaint and told the guests to contact their tour operator. There really isn't anything good to say about this hotel, even the location is a bit grotty. I will not be returning. Spend a little extra and stay somewhere half decent.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pupe-Magraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

Bath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We spent 3 nights at the hotel 2nd-5th March. We were a little apprehensive having read very varied reviews and contacted the hotel by email before, especially as this was to be a romantic city break. We received an email confirming we would be put in the renovated part of the hotel, we emailed again asking about transfers to the hotel and received no reply. Please be warned this is a 2* hotel.

ON ARRIVAL- We were supposed to have a welcome drink but this was not offered and never materialised throughout our stay, nor were we directed to anywhere in the hotel other than the breakfast room.
THE ROOM- The room was 506, it was a quiet part of the hotel, not sure if it was renovated or not, there was a double bed with a gold ornate headboard(this was very dusty) There was a kettle with some teabags, no milk sachets or coffee though and no bottled water provided, i would expect mre form a '4* hotel*. The mini bar was nearly empty with just a couple of items left, the hotel clearly couldn't be bothered to refill it(and it was not stocked up at all during our stay so we didn't use it)
THE BATHROOM-The bathroom was all marble walls with a good size bath and towels were changed daily. However the toilet seat was damaged nearly falling off and the first night we flushed the toilet to then discover it continued to flush by itself all night! so a terrible nights sleep! We reported it to reception and the young girl we spoke to said this happens a lot, I told her we would be out all day sightseeing but if she could get someone to have a look and leave a message for the next receptionist to update us. When we came back there was no update and we were apprehensive to flush the toilet! We then had no hot water for the remaining 2 days of our stay, at first the hotel insisted the water would be back up within a few hours then came back later and told us 30 minutes more, the no further updates, the water remained cold and we reported this several times. Very unpleasant.
THE BED-The bed was extremely hard and the gold covering had a few small stains, the sheets were not changed and we found cigarette ash on the first sheets on the first day.
There was no do not disturb sign so you can be woken at any time of morning by the cleaner.
THE FLOORS- The floors are wooden and hollow sounding and you can hear anyone above or to the side of you walking around and also using the bathroom, leading to a disturbed nights sleep and a lot of background noise.
BREAKFAST-Okay the breakfast is alright, but the thing is those used to 4 star hotels will be unimpressed, there is only instant coffee available, no warm milk, no table service for drinks, the fruit was old looking, there is a small glass covered bowl of greasy ham and cheese-cheap packet slices for tourists clearly! There are croissants and brioche(the brioche was nice) but no tongs and proper knife to cut a slice of anything, a real lack of serving utensils throughout. The room is quite dark and looks quite dusty. Not a 4 * experience.
We refused to pay the city tax which you are more than entitled to do, you just have to sign a form explaining why, we would have been more than happy to pay it, had the hotel offered any sort of compensation for 2 full days of cold water and no working toilet. But apparently the 'director' didn't want to do anything.
This hotel, even if you are out all day, is very dark and cheap and depressing with no nice communal areas, no nice bar and really awful plumbing.Poor cleaning and restocking and old stained sheets. It is not 4*.
The staff were pleasant enough throughout the stay until we refused to pay the tax.
LOCAL SERVICES- Buy the ROMA PASS when you get to rome, 3 days free travel plus no queue entry to 2 attractions(make the colosseum one go them!) the bus 62 is right outside and goes right across to the vatican city and pass the prison and the angel bridge too. The buses you can just jump on without even a ticket actually as we noticed nobody pays they just go right on the buses! The Trevi fountain is worth visiting first as you find loads of cute restaurants off all the side streets near it, visit san crispinio gelatari by the fountain for famous ice cream at around 3 euros. NEar the hotel if you turn right and walk past the pharmacy and turn right again past the cinema there is a small gelatari with a flashing sign, great ice cream for a couple of euros, also slightly further from them is I caruso, where you can buy beautiful macaroons for 50 cents and home made ice creams(you can see the ice cream machines working) for a couple of euros. Watch out for Cucina restaurant one stop down from I Caruso, they do amazing fresh pizzas which you much try but stay away from the meat, we were given raw chicken there and when we pointed it out the waitress asked if we wanted our chicken well done! NO thanks just cooked! The service is hit and miss in rome but if you expect that you won't have too many problems. We advise to do a sightseeing bus to get your bearings and then you can walk everywhere in rome really easily, a bus all the way across takes only 25 minutes so don't bother with taxis.Oh and stay away from restaurants near the vatican city-one called marco ristorante was the worst we have been to,come further away from the vat city and you will get great local food.
Hope this review helps!

Room Tip: Ask for the renovated part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bathgirl8616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

Hotel is walkable to all points of interest in Rome, 20 minute walk to colosseum. There is also a bus stop right outside the hotel, and subway close by. There are some nice restaurants just round the corner too.

The staff in the hotel, we found, were very helpful and pleasant. Rooms made up every day. The hotel and rooms were very clean. The rooms are on the small side but fine if stopping for a long weekend when you are out all day. The decor is olde Roman and the frescos on the ceiling in the reception look really nice and in context.

The hotel is rated 4 star, but to be honest it is in the 3 star bracket. I would suggest it is down as 4 star as local room tax is higher per person per room per night than it is for lower star ratings. Be aware of this as I was surprised with bill when checking out.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Allan316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Archimede
Hotel Archimede
#870 of 1,261 in Rome
481 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel delle Province
Hotel delle Province
#275 of 1,261 in Rome
1,637 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Luce
Hotel Luce
#1,015 of 1,261 in Rome
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ostiense
Saint Paul Hotel
Saint Paul Hotel
#497 of 1,261 in Rome
743 reviews
Hotel Apogia Lloyd Roma
#306 of 1,261 in Rome
519 reviews
Hotel Pineta Palace
#457 of 1,261 in Rome
1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Turner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Turner

Property: Hotel Turner
Address: Via Nomentana 29, 00161 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#305 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Turner 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Turner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turner Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing