We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel and Location”
Review of Hotel Mascagni

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Mascagni
Ranked #139 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Spent about four nights here back in February with my wife. The staff are very nice and accommodating, especially at breakfast (which is not bad, and much needed for a full day of walking in Rome!). Feel free to ask them to book you tickets for the Vatican, Galleria Borghese, etc, etc.

The bedroom is sealed tight from noise and can get pitch black when the windows are drawn, the air conditioning is great and also the bed is crazy comfortable. For someone like me that seeks a deep sleep this bedroom was the absolute BEST. Now, I would say that when you need some fresh air you should open the window, but the street outside can be a little noisy and smelly but to be honest this is most of Rome.

The hotel is in a great location, only a short walk to the Metro (3 minutes max). For people (like me) that like to walk you can get to the Spanish steps in about 25 minutes. There is a Basilica across the road, towards the airport. I can't stress this enough: visit this Basilica! It's absolutely beautiful, and a stones throw away from the hotel. You will find tramps scattered around the hotel, but again this is most of Rome. There are some nice restaurants around, the best one I also have a Trip Adviser review for :)

The minibar has some nice snacks and wine, but if I'm honest across the road after about 7 minute walk there are some great shops that sell cheeses, wines, chocolates, etc, etc. The place is in such a great location just be sure to go for a wander!

I would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (954)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

267 - 273 of 954 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2014

The staff at this hotel were exceptional. Very friendly and helpful, always willing to help with any enquiry. The rooms were well appointed and very clean. We had drinks at the bar at night before heading off for dinner which was nice. The location is good, within walking distance of most of the sights. Would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Rome.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

My daughters and I have just come back from here and would recommend, on arrival the staff was smiling, helpful, the room was clean. It is next to a main road but noise was to a minimum.free Wi Fi room tax was €3 pppn but you pay this in any hotel in Rome. Well worth a visit

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 41royc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

My wife and I stayed in the Mascagni Hotel for 5 nights in early August 2014. We loved the hotel - the staff were extremely friendly and were able to help us with any questions we had. The hotel premises itself was lovely - very clean and comfortable. Our room was great and spacious enough considering a lot of Roman rooms can be on the small side. The bed was comfy and it was nice to have A/C as it was 30/35 degrees outside. It's location is great with most famous attractions about a 20 - 25 minute walk away (Pantheon, Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain). The breakfast was included in the price and was pleasant (continental breakfast - cold meats, cereal and pastries).

If we are back in Rome we would definitely considering staying in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Great customer service is hard to find at times, but you will find some of the best at this hotel. We traveled to Rome with a large group, and the staff at Hotel Mascagni went out of their way to make our stay incredibly special! I can't say enough about Marco who made a 50th anniversary memorable with a breakfast created just for our group....in our own private room! And when another member of our party had a broken wheelchair, the staff stepped up and got us a new one on a moment's notice. And they even tried to fix the broken one for us. We felt incredibly welcomed and special throughout our whole visit. Thank you Hotel Mascagni!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Hillary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

My family of five traveled Italy for 10 days. The hotel were very welcoming and accommodating for us especially our 3 children. And breakfast was delicious! My husband and I had drinks at the bar every night and as the kids showered and met some wonderful families over some drinks.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wisewife30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I really liked the accommodations at this hotel. They were modern and comfortable. Giuseppe, at the front desk was very nice and helpful. He suggested a great restaurant nearby. The air conditioning was great. The breakfast was well done with a variety of selections of food. The breakfast staff was nice. The bathroom was clean and large, but the bathtub/shower was very small.
I wouldn't say that the location was very good except that it's close to the train station. I would have rather stayed closer to the river and tourist attractions further southwest in the city. While the rooms are well-appointed, they are small. We booked a quadruple room which actually turns out to be a larger double room with a SOFA-CHAIR and a cot shoved into place next to the bed. The rooms aren't really meant for four people. The bellman had no personality.
Overall, it is a comfortable and modern hotel that shouldn't really advertise quadruple rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penn-Virginian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Mascagni Luxury Dependance Rooms & Suites
Esquilino
The Britannia Hotel
The Britannia Hotel
#121 of 1,269 in Rome
1,220 reviews
Colonna
Hotel Stendhal
Hotel Stendhal
#114 of 1,269 in Rome
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Starhotels Metropole
Starhotels Metropole
#167 of 1,269 in Rome
2,240 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#49 of 1,269 in Rome
2,272 reviews
Monti
Rome Times Hotel
Rome Times Hotel
#92 of 1,269 in Rome
1,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mascagni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mascagni

Address: Via Vittorio Emanuele Orlando 90, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#84 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#116 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#132 Family Hotel in Rome
#159 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £98 - £250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mascagni 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mascagni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mascagni Hotel Rome
Hotel Mascagni Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing