We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$291
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$215
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 37% below average rates

The price you found is 37% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$341/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$132
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Diocleziano(Rome)
US$166
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$143
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$163/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Colosseum(Rome)
US$137
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$124
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$138/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$105
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Nord Nuova Roma(Rome)(Great Value!)
US$189
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$130/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$317
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$218
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Augusta Lucilla Palace(Rome)(Great Value!)
US$611
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$156
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$217
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$167
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Artemide(Rome)
US$366
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$312
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,395)
Filter reviews
1,395 results
Traveller rating
591
570
160
42
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
591
570
160
42
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvia venetotrevi fountainspanish stepsgreat locationalex restaurantrefurbished roommetro stationwithin walking distancepiazza barberinipastriesvilla borghesehop on hoplovely hotelon footjunior suitehotel is locateddefinitely stay here again
Filter
Updating list...
608 - 613 of 1,395 reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2013

we was very happy to come in rome 4 of us family..I asked for the quiet room per mail before we arrived and they gave me very noisy room ..lot of construction's ...rooms are very old and you can hear the rooms next door...breakfast very poor...personal stuff very friendly and location is the only good thing about this hotel.. I would not come back..after moving to the next room it was even worst ...window broken was freezing all night ask for repair they did it some how....should be 1 star hotel but never 3 star...hotel needs to be renovated very old and tired hotel...

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Caminga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direttore-Alexandra, Direttore generale at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

Dear Caminga,
we thank You that you choose our Hotel for the first time to write a feedback, but we are sad you did not like the stay in our Hotel because of the noise.You asked for a quite junior suite room through email, but all our junior suite room are located on the quiet area of the building, which is not facing of the street Via Vittorio Veneto. The first day you let us know that you did not like the noise in the fourth floor where your suite room was located, so we make you see another junior suite on the first floor and you decided to move.You changed it and you were were satisfied with the Receptionists who helped you.
So we feel surprised about this feedback but we accept it to improve our service and making it better for the future.
We thank you of your suggestion concerning the works in the hotel, you probably did not see that we are renovating the rooms, the hall and the living room.We hope to receive your news in the future and to host you in a no more "tired" hotel.
Best regards
Andrea Silvagni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Hotel Alexandra is in need of a total refurbishment. Rooms are relatively clean but quite dated, hallways are dark and the one elevator is extremely slow. Wifi was nonexistent much of the time, sometimes being down for eight or more hours. One morning during breakfast there was a power.failure encompassing much of the hotel. Breakfast offerings were disappointing with the hot offerings being cold or nonexistent.

The hotel's location on Via Veneto is excellent. It's a five to six minute walk to the Trevi fountain and ten minutes to Villa Borghese. But based on that location and the cost of the rooms, I expected much more. The front door and staircase look quite inviting from the street but after that it is just...tired.

Please note that this review in no way represents Cafe Alex, the glass restaurant located in front of Hotel Alexandra. That is a separate review.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direttore-Alexandra, Direttore generale at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

Dear Janice,
we thank you for the time you spent to write this feedback! As you probably saw during your stay we were renovating the Hotel and we opened our completely renovated living room after a long time!
After this, one day we had a power failure but as we explained to the most of our Guests that was depending from the company that gives the power in the city. Our Hotel is famous also for its style, with our special rooms, and many of these have been/ are renovating to make better our Service
In the breakfast room all the waiters helps the Guests with any requests, so in case you could have asked them or maybe inform the guys at the Reception.
If You would like return in Rome call me directly so you will see the changes in our Hotel.
Best wishes

Andrea Silvagni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

This is a very central located Hotel.We very much enjoyed our stay there!The stuff was very polite the room was very clean, recently renovated,and decorated with the typical Italian style.Breakfast was normal and enough!The price was reasonable for all this, since the location of the hotel is also very important! Very good buy for money!

Room Tip: Renovated rooms.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KONSTANTINOS L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

This is a good hotel with a great location. But your experience really depends on the room you get. If you want to spend the wonderfull time in this hotel you must book the room on the higher floor with terrace and your staying in hotel Alexandra will be excellent. We spent 5 days in the room 555 and got great pleasure.

Room Tip: Choose the room with terrace on the higher floors and you recieve the wonderfull view on Roma.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natalia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direttore-Alexandra, Direttore generale at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Natalia,

we appreciate You spent your time to write this lovely feedback and we
are happy your stay was nice as you hoped!!! At your check in the
Receptionist on duty Carlo tried to give you the room with a balcony
as you booked, one double deluxe as per your reservation, but it
was not possible, so he preferred to give You one with a terrace on
the 5th floor, one double deluxe room with a nice terrace in a free upgrade!

But let me tell You that we do not have just that room, we have many
others different one from the each other, and anyone is special!

As you noticed we are renovating a few rooms so if You will return
here You will see the new ones and we hope You will appreciate these
rooms as the one you had.

Best regards

Andrea Silvagni
>>

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

1-Hotel is very old and some rooms are dirty.
2-The rooms are not isolated and you can hear the noise from other rooms, you should be lucky to get a quite neighbor.
3-In the nights we had smell of smoke coming to our room, we do not like the smell of the smoke so it was hard to sleep.
4-Internet is incredibly slow, you have to spend quite a time to send an email.
5-the quality of breakfast was very low.

Room Tip: 5th floor is better but overally the rooms are not good
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank farhad s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direttore-Alexandra, Direttore generale at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Guest,
at first we thank You for the time you spent to write this feedback!
But please give us the opportunity to explain what we usually do in
situations like this, so maybe you could be satisfied just for the
words that we write you now, instead of helping you as we would!
Our Hotel as a long history of 150 years, one of the first building on
via Vittorio Veneto-
If you wished a quieter room, not facing on the street, you could ask to the Receptionist or let us know in order to satisfy your request;
concerning the smell of smoke, we are very sorry but probably another
Guest was smoking in another room and as you remember in our Hotel it
is absolutely forbidden to smoke; only we noticed this we would have called call this Guest and asked him/her to stop smoking.
We changed the router in those dates so we had problems with
connection and for this we do apologize.
But please, please we do not believe that the rooms are dirty as we do
not think that our breakfast quality is very low: our importance is
for the cleaning of each room, every Guest has to feel like at Home,
either in the breakfast room where the most of our products are made
from our chef, as the cakes, the biscuits, the bread, the yogurt,
etc.
In case you would like return in Rome in our Hotel or in another one
please contact the Receptionist or the Manager anytime you desire in
order to be satisfied with all your requests.
Do not hesitate to contact me directly if You wish have other suggestions.
Best regards

Andrea Silvagni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews