We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Alexandra - Rome, Italy”
Review of Hotel Alexandra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Alexandra
Ranked #172 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hotel Alexandra - Rome, Italy”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Great location on the Via Veneto amongst the very expensive hotels, but this one a more affordable price. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was great too. Right next to an underground station. Would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direttore-Alexandra, Direttore at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Helen P,

Thank you for comment. As you mentioned one of our strongest points is our location, being close to all the main historic sites. Our staff works hard everyday to offer the best service for all of our guests. We are really happy to hear that you had a comfortable stay at Hotel Alexandra Roma.

We invite you contact us personally for any further bookings and requests.

Kind Regards,

A.Silvagni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    468
    474
    135
    38
    28
See reviews for
284
512
45
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax Station, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

You can't beat this hotel for price and location. We were able to walk to everyplace we wanted to see in ancient Rome and the metro is just outside the door for anywhere else you might like to go. Very friendly staff, large room Internet service could have been better. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babynurse57719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direttore-Alexandra, Direttore at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear guest,

It was a pleasure having you at Hotel Alexandra Roma during your recent visit to the Eternal city.

We are so glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay and that our staff, services and
location satisfy your expectations.

Looking forward to welcoming you back again. For any future queries do not hesitate to contact us directly from our website!

Kind Regards,

A.Silvagni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankston, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We recently stayed 3 nights in this hotel, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Lovely room, with tea and coffee, which isn't usual in Italy. Internet a bit patchy, till we found the right spot in the room, however there are two computers in the lounge for guests to use. Staff were helpful and friendly, good choice of breakfast, which was included. Centrally located, near the Metro, buses and Taxi Rank, a whole range of restaurant and food options easily accessible. The Hop on Hop off bus also stops nearby. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: If city noise bothers you, request a room at the back. Our room was on Via Veneto, and a bit noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goodfoodlover52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direttore-Alexandra, Direttore at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear goodfoodl,

Thank you for kind review. It is of great pleasure for us to hear that your stay was reached your expectations. As you mentioned breakfast is always included and we are located in an important and centric area of Rome where all our guest can reach all of the most important sites by foot.

Hotel Alexandra Roma works to offer the best service to our clients.

We hope to see you soon again!

Kind Regards,

A.Silvagni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lexlondon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed for 4 nights at the end of May. The hotel is in a great position and walking distance to most things. We even walked to the Vatican and took us about half an hour. The room we had was large for a family room and was beautifully ornate with lovely high ceilings. The bed was massive which was a bonus. The children shared a sofa bed which suited then fine as they were small but when putting them to bed and leaning down to kiss them good night a massive hole appeared in the bed where I leaned (and when I looked under the bed saw the sofa bed was propped up by a random piece of wood!). Not good if adults were sleeping on it as it would have collapsed.

Now I know it's a 3 star so that is what you should expect. But our room was definitely not clean and had many visible soiled greasy marks on the curtains. The bathroom was very dated and could have done with a stripped down clean. And the soap.... This was my biggest gripe. After using it to wash your hands it continued to feel slimey, so your hands never got that clean feeling. It felt like your hands were covered in gasoline afterwards (and no, it wasn't olive oil soap and contained no natural ingredients).
The breakfast was adequate, not fancy but fine. Slightly off putting was the black mould spots craftly hidden behind the yoghurt stand behind the clear plastic shield against the wall....

Over all it is affordable accommodation in Rome with a good location. The staff are friendly enough. And if like us you spend long days out exploring then this hotel is an ok option. Just wasn't blown away. And would try somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lexlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tbilisi, Dushet'is Raioni, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel is located in a very good area , near the Piazza Barberini .
But I was really disappointed from the fact , that I had to pay extra night charge for the late chack out ot two hours.
I tried to contact my agent, amd the hotel , but could do nothing about it

Helpful?
Thank Teona B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Direttore-Alexandra, Direttore at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Teona B,

Thank you for staying with us in your visit to Rome.

We apologize for the inconvenience regarding the late check-out. Unfortunately your late
check- out was more than two hours, consequently we were forced to apply an extra charge, which however was not one night. For us two hours is not a problem but when its more than that, it is a big economic loss as the room remains unsold like it happened in this case.

Even though we offered you an upgraded room from a Standard to a Superior that week you stayed with us, we are sorry that you were disappointed by our management policies.

Kind regards,

A. Silvagni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
San Antonio
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Hotel Alexandra is pretty nice. It is located next to the Barbarini metro stop and near the taxi stand at Piazza Barbarini. We were upgraded to a deluxe room upon check-in. The room was okay but the all-marble bathroom was very nice. The moulding was old and very nice as well. We were told that the room is to be updated soon.

Beware the discount they offer you to their restaurant upon check-in. We didn't like the restaurant and thought is was the worst meal we had in Rome.

My wife and I had a room and her parents did as well. We had paid for one before we arrived in Rome and owed for one. Upon check-out we were shown both bills. The bill we had paid reflected we paid almost $300 less. I wonder who pocketed that $300. After check-out we were told that the van they called to take us to the airport was 5 minutes away. It arrived 40 minutes later.

The breakfast is pretty good with bad coffee. The older doorman is great!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direttore-Alexandra, Direttore at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Aaron C,

We thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. As you say we are situated in a very favourable zone where all our guest can reach all main sites by foot. In reference to the discount that we offer at the Restaurant “Alex Café” it is an extra service that we offer we are sorry that your opinion is not the same as the other clients.

Since Rome is an important city that holds many events, the taxi was most likely late due to a big traffic jam.

We invite you to check our website for our special offers.

Kind Regards,

A.Silvagni.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel is centrally located with metro, shops and restaurants all within walking distance.
The rooms are not extravagant but clean and comfortable and the staff is friendly and always poised to help.
Breakfast could be better but hey, you're in Rome and eating well is not a problem.
I would personally stay here again and would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone planning on visiting Rome.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Regina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direttore-Alexandra, Direttore at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Regina D,

It is a pleasure for us to hear your satisfying review. Hotel Alexandra Roma and the staff would like to thank you for recommending us. As you say we are positioned in the city centre near all the tourist attractions just a few meters from the metro station Barberini (Line A - "Red"). Most of the tourist attractions (Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain), can be reached on foot in less than 5 minutes.

We will be here waiting for you with open arms if you decide to visit Rome again.

Kind Regards,

A. Silvagni.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Imperiale
Hotel Imperiale
#242 of 1,263 in Rome
979 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Fellini
Hotel Fellini
#164 of 1,263 in Rome
775 reviews
Colonna
Hotel Modigliani
Hotel Modigliani
#112 of 1,263 in Rome
1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Colonna
Hotel Madrid
Hotel Madrid
#114 of 1,263 in Rome
852 reviews
Trevi
Accademia Hotel
Accademia Hotel
#206 of 1,263 in Rome
1,194 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Casa I Cappuccini
Casa I Cappuccini
#397 of 1,263 in Rome
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alexandra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alexandra

Property: Hotel Alexandra
Address: Via Vittorio Veneto 18, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#45 Business Hotel in Rome
#201 Family Hotel in Rome
#235 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alexandra 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Alexandra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Hotel Rome
Hotel Alexandra Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing