We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very much enjoyed our stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Dei Mellini

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Dei Mellini
Ranked #69 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very much enjoyed our stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

My husband and I loved staying at the Dei Mellini Hotel. Though it is located across the river from all of the "action" in Rome, we were able to walk to all major tourist locations in 30 minutes or less (including the Colosseum and Trastavere). Our room was so lovely, and we were treated to a wonderful bottle of champagne shortly after we arrived (we were on our honeymoon). Most days, we would eat breakfast and go touring, return in the afternoon for a quick nap, and then head out for dinner somewhere - the staff would clean our room after we left in the morning, and come back and neaten up when we left for dinner! The front desk was also extremely helpful in recommending restaurants, activities, and navigating the city. I hope to return to Rome and to this hotel someday!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KJones202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borgognoni, Responsabile reception at Hotel Dei Mellini, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Thanks for spending the most important days of your life with us.
We love to give little gifts for those we know are coming for a special occasion.
Costumers for us are not a room number, we like to act with them on the basis of what we know about them and based on their personal story of life, nothing is done at random.
Hope you will come back for your Anniversary to discover a new surprise!


Luisa D'Alessandri
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    775
    523
    102
    21
    12
See reviews for
274
738
28
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

Have just returned from a 5 night stay at Hotel Dei Mellini with my husband and would highly recommend it. It is located on a quiet street one block from the river. A ten minute walk one way took us to the Vatican while in the other direction we were at the Spanish Steps. The room was lovely, very quiet and had everything we needed. Nice touches like fruit in the room, slippers and a turndown service. All of the staff we talked to were extremely friendly and helpful. Gave us good recommendations for restaurants. Lovely roof terrace. We brought pizza and wine up one evening. Free wifi in public places. Was €15 for 4 days room wifi which we thought was reasonable. Continental breakfast was good. The hotel organised pick up to and from the airport for us (€55 each way). We look forward to returning to the hotel.

Room Tip: We had room 115. Roomy with a lovely big bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mac69Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borgognoni, Responsabile reception at Hotel Dei Mellini, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Reading your review I felt proud to be part of the Hotel dei Mellini family, thank you very much.
You basically said everything but I especially like when you say "staff was extremely friendly", yes we love to think about our guests as best friends, would you ever treat badly your best friends?
Thank yuo again.


Luisa D'Alessandri
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

This was a lovely hotel. My daughter and I stayed for 2 nights and hopefully stay again when we come back to Rome. The Restaurant was lovely for breakfast. Such a pity we couldn't eat there I the evening.
Pat Rose

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borgognoni, Responsabile reception at Hotel Dei Mellini, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
You and your daughter are always welcome at the Hotel dei Mellini!
It is full of very nice local restaurants in the area but, don't forget, at the Mellini Bar it is possible to eat at any time (from 06:30am till midnight) choosing from our menu rich of many different dishes.
Thank you for your kind review.


Luisa D'Alessandri
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stayed three nights in early October 2013. Very comfortable, firm beds. Slept well. Rooms very well soundproofed with soundproof windows which actually could be opened! No clock in room. Convenient lobby and room location. Good free and full breakfast. Very helpful front desk and staff. No restaurant. Some food available at bar, but sub-par. Lots of restaurants nearby, though. Close to Vatican - easy walk for most folks. A/C weak and not particularly powerful. Free WiFi in lobby but at a reasonable cost in the room (good connections). We definitely would stay here again.

Room Tip: We had 312; a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borgognoni, Responsabile reception at Hotel Dei Mellini, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Thanks for spending your Roman Holidays with us!
The Hotel is perfectly located, away from the crowd but at the same time close to all the main attractions.
As you said Vatican city is in walking distance as well as Spanish steps, Trevi fontain, Navona square, Pantheon, Castel St. Angelo, Ara Pacis and many others points of interest.
Our Concierge is always at disposal to help on moving around, arranging tours, restaurant reservation, transfers etcetera.
It is good that you slept well in our brand new mattresses, we really hope that you will come to visit us again very soon.


Luisa D'Alessandri
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

An excellent hotel, in a great location for exploring Rome. The staff, in all areas of the hotel, we're very attentive and helpful. The room was very well appointed and provided a quiet haven after the very busy days spent visiting the sights. Would definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KarenF61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borgognoni, Responsabile reception at Hotel Dei Mellini, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Thank you for your kind review.
We love to be the "quiet haven" of all our guests!
Can't wait to have you here again, greetings.



Luisa D'Alessandri
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking Surrey UK
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

My husband and I stayed for 4 nights at the start of October. We stayed in a suite which was perfect, bedroom, lounge with dining table, 2 flat screen tvs, Wi-Fi, two toliets, bathroom. There was no view from the suite which we didn't mind as the room was beautiful and so quiet. On arrival there was complimentary champagne and fresh fruit. Breakfast was self service, limited but good selection and all fresh. Location was good about 15 minutes walk to the Vatican and then 15 - 20 minutes walk to Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain etc. Definitely recommend and would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gibson1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borgognoni, Responsabile reception at Hotel Dei Mellini, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
It's a pleasure reading your comment.
Next time book a Junior Suite which is pretty similar to a Suite but is facing the front. Make sure you do it in advance because we only have a few of them.
Following the continuous suggestions of our customers, in recent years we have increased a lot our buffet breakfast offering much choice satisfying people coming from everywhere.
Hope to welcome you again soon.


Luisa D'Alessandri
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
113 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed here are part of a tour group. We have a real nice room with a very comfortable bed (best bed in our Italy tour). The room was large and it was clean. The cable only had a few english channels and wasn't worth watching. The internet was an additional fee but it was fairly fast. The bartender was good but the drinks expensive. The breakfest was buffet style and was just ok. Overall I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jubutld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borgognoni, Responsabile reception at Hotel Dei Mellini, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you for your review!
All our mattress are brand new and specially chosen to make the customer sleeping as confortable as possible. Every year we put aside some of the profits to invest it in furniture.
The additional fee for the internet is just to use it in the room.
WI-FI is totally FREE in all the common areas.
Waiting for you to came to visit us in the next future.


Luisa D'Alessandri
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#52 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,210 reviews
Prati
Hotel Isa
Hotel Isa
#80 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
Monti
Capo d'Africa Hotel
Capo d'Africa Hotel
#66 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#45 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,167 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#26 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel
Dharma Hotel
#61 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dei Mellini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dei Mellini

Property: Hotel Dei Mellini
Address: Via Muzio Clementi 81, 00193 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#60 Family Hotel in Rome
#82 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#211 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dei Mellini 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel dei Mellini, with his great location in the centre of Rome, only 10 minutes by foot to via Condotti (considered the best shopping area in tow),13 minutes to the Spanish Steps and the Vatican, is really the right address to be in Rome. In the quiet neighbourhood you will find many nice and cosy restaurants and bars.The hotel has a total of 80 rooms (superior, de luxe, junior suite and suite), 2 meeting rooms up to 70 people per room, a nice open terrace available also for private party, a cafeteria overlooking the inside patio and on the last floor of the hotel, overlooking the terrace you will can enjoy the "mellini gym". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TravelUp and Southall Travel so you can book your Hotel Dei Mellini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dei Mellini Rome
Dei Mellini Hotel Rome
Dei Hotel Mellini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing